Soft Taco Dinner Winner

This week’s meals have been sort of ad-hoc if you will, considering I didn’t have much time for planning & grocery shopping with our busy weekend and beach day-trip extravaganza!

So I’m working with the fresh farmer’s market purchases as well as some items in our freezer & cupboards that have needed to be used up.  Feels good to “cleanse” the kitchen of this stuff and not let it go to waste.

Plus I like a good kitchen challenge, so weeks like this can be fun! Smiley

In an effort to use up the grass-fed ground beef in our freezer as well as some more of the farmer’s market veggies, last night I came up with a new recipe that turned out to be a star.

Beef, Black Bean and Veggie Soft Tacos

I just love when meals pull together perfectly like this and the flavors just “work”  … plus isn’t that the beauty of cooking anyways?!

Since we only had a little under 1/2lb of ground beef I decided to bulk it up using some canned black beans as well as diced veggies.  This also lightens the meal and sneaks in some yummy veggies at the same time —-> another win win?

I started by chopping the veggies – here we have onion, tomato, green bell pepper, red bell pepper and garlic.

Then I added the onion and peppers to a hot pan w/ olive oil and cooked over medium heat until they were tender, adding some salt & pepper along the way.

Next in went the ground beef and black beans, which I cooked until the beef was browned and done.  As the beef was cooking I added in the mixture of spices (cumin, chili powder, oregano) and hot sauce as well.

Oh the smells!

Last into the pan went the fresh tomato and garlic and the temp down to med-low, letting the taco filling do it’s thing for a few minutes while the rest of the meal was pulled together.

To serve, we have wheat tortilla, salsa and shredded raw cheddar (loving this stuff).

And a side dish of cooked zucchini and corn surrounded by fresh from the garden tomato (Fanatic Mom’s gift from their recent trip, which you’ll be hearing about soon!)

These soft tacos totally hit the spot!  I loved how they almost seemed like chili w/ the black beans and veggies, but still had the flavors of a delicious taco.

I got the seasonings perfect this time too, which I was excited about since last time around it took me a while to get there!

Take that taco seasoning packet mix <—– yuck Smiley

The recipe:

Beef, Black Bean & Veggie Soft Tacos

  • 1/2 pound grass-fed ground beef
  • 1/2 cup canned black beans – drained & rinsed
  • 2 bell peppers, 1 red and 1 green – diced
  • 1 onion – diced
  • 1 clove garlic – minced
  • 1 tomato – diced
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • approx. 1.5 tsp cumin
  • approx. 2 tsp chili powder
  • approx. 1.5 tsp dried oregano
  • Frank’s hot sauce, to taste
  • salt
  • pepper

To serve:

  • wheat tortillas
  • shredded raw cheddar
  • salsa

Alright well I better get to work, mid-week is here hooray!  Have a great day all.

Exercise I am loving this week:

- ExerciseTV Less is More Pilates (hello abs & thighs!)

- YogaDownload.com Yoga with Weights (whoa arm work!)

- YogaDownload.com Solar Flow (total body stretch & strengthen!)

7 responses to “Soft Taco Dinner Winner

  1. I love soft tacos! Your recipe sounds delicious and so healthy!! :)

  2. So I was thinking Mexican tonight…now I’m sure I NEED it ;) Beautiful dish. Your meals look fantastic for being ad-hoc. My ad hoc dishes are always boring ;)

  3. Yum! Your recipes always totally rock.

    And thanks for the yogadownload recs, I’m always looking for good ones.

  4. Tacos looks great!!! Love yogadownload :)

  5. Tacos!!! Olé! You know I’m ALWAYS down for a delish mexicana dinna! All hail the bloggy queen of mexi meals- that’s YOU!

  6. Really like the one-pot version to the filling.

  7. Sweet and Fit

    your soft tacos look delish! I suddenly have a craving to make some soon – I love that you make your own taco seasoning =)

Leave a Reply

