Crying over canned beans?

Yes.  That happened.  Tonight to be exact.

Don’t know what got into me but after spending 45 minutes in the kitchen preparing my favorite white chicken chili for a dinner with my parents (including the extra effort of precooking chicken thighs and legs and shredding them off the bone…) I went to pour in the can of northern beans and noticed that there were orange sprout-thingies growing out of them?

  

  

Gross.  I’d rather not take my chances with that one.  Too bad I had already started to pour them into the entire pot of soup.  Ruined.  Thanks for nothing Kroger :(

So guess what I did.  Called my mom and cried.  So “28 years old” of me… no?

Yep.  Not sure what got into me but after cleaning & decorating the house all day then spending an hour in the kitchen, the thought of having to throw away an entire dinner that I had prepared for Fanatic parents tonight just sent me over the edge…

So there’s my story – I cried over canned beans…

Pretty ridiculous right?

Good thing my mom always knows how to get me back on track and we came up with a last minute plan of action!

And thankfully I had some of my favorite spicy pumpkin soup stashed away in the cabinet :)

So after sending The Man on a quick emergency-run to the store, things actually started to look up…

Instead of the planned on chips n’ salsa to accompany our chicken chili feast, I improvised with some jalapeno pepper cheese & pepperoni for snackage.

The soup came together in 1-2-3, which was perfect for leaving me the time to catch up with the Fam!

Mom brought over a salad to go with our meal, mom’s always save the day don’t they? ;)

Plus some super fresh bread with butter, my newest obsession.

 

Although it was no white chicken chili (grrrr) it was definitely a great meal.  Plus seeing Fanatic Mom and Dad was the most important part anyways, since they had been gone over the turkey day holiday!

Failure turned success I guess?

Plus want to know what else I had up my sleeve?  Perhaps my own lil’ redemption for tonight’s mishap ;)

Apple Crisp

Served warm with vanilla ice cream, of course.

Holy yum.  This would wipe my tears away any day ;)

So there you have it.  A major kitchen disaster for Cookinfanatic tonight followed by a momentary emotional breakdown all caused by a can of freakin’ beans.

You’ve now seen me at my worst.  Promise we can we still be friends…?

 

Apple Crisp  (based off this recipe)

  • 3 granny smith apples, cored & sliced
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup wheat flour
  • 1/3 cup oats + 2 tblsp for top
  • cinnamon (about 2 tsp, or whatever you like)
  • freshly ground nutmeg (about 1/4 tsp)
  • 1/4 stick butter, chilled & chopped

Core and slice apples.  Squeeze lemon juice on top and stir.

Mix brown sugar, nutmeg and cinnamon together.  Stir mixture into apples.

Combine flour, oats and sugar.  Stir in chilled chopped butter until crumbs start to form.

Add apple mixture to a baking dish, which has been rubbed with a small amount of butter to prevent sticking.

Top with flour/oat mixture and a sprinkle of extra oats.

Bake at 375F for 45 minutes (or until it starts to brown).

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.  Yum :)

4 responses to “Crying over canned beans?

  1. oh my goodness :( What a pain in the behind. Glad you were able to remedy dinner. And that is awesome that Mom helped out too. Mmmm Apple crisp. Crisps/crumbles are one of my favorite desserts- a classic, you can’t go wrong. Yours looks gorgeous.

  2. Moms are pretty awesome like that ;)

    Tasty apple crisp recipe, thanks for sharing.

  3. Crying over beans sounds like something I would do! So sorry you had that little downer, but dinner and the crisp looks like it turned out wonderful! :)

  4. Oh, girl, I am so sorry! I think crying/break-downs around the holidays with ANYthing involving food is a-okay. :-) On a good note, everything looks delicious!! I LOVE apple crisp…..esp. with ice cream on top (is there any other way??)

Leave a Reply

