Italian Spin on a Comfort Classic!

Pizza Pot Pie.

Inspired by the lovely Jessica @ How Sweet Eats

Her recipes make my mouth water.  Like every day.

I made my version in one large baking dish, using ground beef in lieu of chicken.

Here goes!

Pizza Pot Pie

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/2 lb. ground beef (great way to stretch it!)
  • 1 package sliced mushrooms
  • 1 tblsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 jar tomato basil pasta sauce
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • black pepper to taste
  • refrigerated pizza dough (I used Trader Joe’s)

This easily makes 4-5 generous servings.

You’ll need two pans to start, one for the veggie mixture and one for the meat.

Pan 1:  Saute the onions and green peppers in 1/2 tblsp olive oil for about 5 minutes.  

Then add in your mushrooms, cooking for another 15 minutes.  Give the mixture some black pepper as well.

Pan 2:  While the veggies are cooking, cook the ground beef until browned over medium heat in the other 1/2 tblsp of olive oil.  Add in your garlic once the beef is almost cooked through.

Now combine the beef & veggie mixures in the larger pan. 

Stir in the pasta sauce.

Then the ricotta.

 And into a baking dish this goes!

With a layer of shredded cheese on top.

Followed by the uncooked pizza dough, shaped to fit the top of the casserole dish.

Perhaps a kitchen helper will come to your assistance for this part? ;)

The Man is my designated pizza dough roller.  I don’t know why or when this started, but it’s just the way it is in this house :)

Place the pot pie into a 350F oven for 30-35 minutes, or until crust is firm to the touch. 

You may have some overflow issues if you try to stuff too much into a smaller baking dish, but whatever :P

The cheese layer on this was outta control ooey gooey!

This meal began like this:  “Oh my, this is SO good”

Followed by silence.

Followed by more rave reviews.

Followed by more silence and some grunts signifying the acceptable limit of fullness had been surpassed haha.

I’ll take that as a win ;)

I served it with a simple side salad and we were good to go.

This recipe gets 5 stars.  Seriously so comforting and so good!

Much like last night’s one dish dinner… hey, I see a theme here?!?!

And speaking of last night’s Green Chile Chicken Casserole featuring our favorite Chobani, thanks SO much for all the positive feedback!!

If you end up trying the recipe please let me know how you like it :)

I’m off to enjoy some rest & relaxation tonight, I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather so hoping to bounce back soon.  Enjoy your Tuesday night everyone!

7 responses to “Italian Spin on a Comfort Classic!

  1. So fun! I made a similar recipe based on a giada recipe- SO good! You’ve done a lot of fun cooking this week :)

  2. Holy cow, that is amazing! Jess really is a genius.

  3. Love that you made it into one big dish. That is delicious.

  4. Um, YUM. pizza ANYTHING wins in my book. Also, LOVE youre new layout! This is the first time I’ve been to your page on a computer (vs iphone) in a LONG time, so sorry if it has been changed for a while! BUT I do love it!

  5. Love it, love it, love it! I may have to make this next week when the hubby is out of town and I need something warm and comforting. Thanks!

  6. Pingback: Pizza Pot Pie

  7. Pingback: My Day Off |

Leave a Reply

