100 Degrees

Nope, not this kind of 100 degrees friends.

THIS kind of 100 degrees.

Boo hiss.  After a close to 50 hour crazy work week , I couldn’t wait until this weekend to relax and do some fun stuff.  Guess my body had other ideas (at least for today!)

My 7am wakeup call for a much needed yoga session turned into lying on the couch and watching every episode of 16 & Pregnant on demand all day.  I’ll admit defeat :P

But thankfully I’ve finally gotten some energy to break out the computer so I just had to share this gorgeous dinner that The Man and I enjoyed last night – nothing stops me from blogging apparently? ;)

Spicy Pepper Jack Potatoes

White potatoes plus spicy pepperjack cheese.  We are addicts, love this stuff.

Boiled for 10 minutes until partially cooked, then sliced.

1 tblsp butter whisked with 1 tbslp flour.  Then 1 cup milk.  Then 2/3 block of the cheese.

 

Creamy thick goodness :D

Between Thursday night’s baked pasta w/ cheddar and leeks and this dish  – I think I have fully mastered the roux!

Layered atop the sliced potatoes and baked at 375F for 20 minutes until bubbly.

Then devoured. 

Don’t know why I don’t cook with this type of potato more often?  So moist & tender!

Lemon-Panko Crusted Tilapia

Seasoned with sea salt & black pepper.

Where has panko been all my life?

Whole Foods tilapia, which although farm raised, is supposedly done to the highest of standards, re: no hormones used for sex reversal, no antibiotics and no preservatives.

A simple dip into some milk, a roll in the panko then topped with a squeeze of fresh lemon.

Doesn’t get any easier.

“Fried” up in a mixture of 1 tblsp butter + 1 tblsp olive oil until done.

Simply perfect.

The Man raved about this fish.  And proceeded to eat 3 filets.  Some slathered in cocktail sauce. It was a sight to behold.

Want to see what happens when you ask The Man to set the table…

Anything look a little out of place here?

Thought so.

Ah men… I should have known better when I bought this for him for Christmas ;)

Alright alright, I’ll stop giving The Man a hard time, especially since he’s had to put up with me being sick all day all while keeping my ice cream stash full :)

I’ll take it.

Well back to resting, hoping for a quick turnaround and a better health day tomorrow!  Now if only I had some more 16 & Pregnant to keep me busy… House Hunters it is?

9 responses to “100 Degrees

  1. i hope you’re feeling better! at least dinner looked comforting :)

  2. Steph,

    Hope you feel better soon. I must say though, I have never heard anything other than flour and oil called a roux. Those dishes looked amazing as always. Wish I could get your leftovers.

  3. Feel better! After such a crazy week- I am NOT surprised you’re sicky. pepperjack cheese rocks. What a great dish. Take it easy over there. House hunters and 16 and pregnant? Two of my favorite guilty pleasures!

  4. Oh no girl, I’m so sorry! Hope you feel better soon!

  5. Hope you feel better!
    There’s nothing better than spending the day watching 16& pregnant. That show is a train wreck that I can’t help but look at. I feel bad for those girls though. They have no idea what they are getting into.

  6. Oh, no….I hope you feel better girl! You deserve some rest – and lots of 16 and pregnant. ;-) Take care of yourself, k??

  7. Your tilapia looks amazing. I wish I would have stopped by WF on Friday to take part in the sale. :)

    Feel better soon so I can see you tomorrow!!

  8. Hope you start feeling better. Good food and trashy tv always does it for me on a sick day.

Leave a Reply

