Peaaanut, peaaanut butter. And chicken?

Monday’s word of the day was T-I-R-E-D!

After a post-Super Bowl bedtime of wayyyy too late o’clock followed up with the random early body-clock-alarm-wakeup I was seriously struggling for energy yesterday!

Good thing I had planned on throwing together a crockpot meal to be ready & waiting upon my arrival home :)

Gave me plenty of time to relax and get in a rejuvenating yoga session.

Has anyone else tried the Body by Bethanny yoga workout on ExTV?  I absolutely love her first of all, plus am really liking this workout on days where I want some physical activity but not too much, ya know?

Perfect for this particular Monday if you ask me :D

After yoga was over it was time to serve up some dinner.

Crockpot, sometimes I think we may be soulmates… you make my life so easy on days that just seem to be so hard!

Here’s the recipe, courtesy a A Year of Slow Cooking.

Slow Cooker Peanut Butter Chicken

I kind of doubled the recipe to fill the 6-quart slow cooker I have (did you know you are supposed to make sure your slow cooker is between 1/2 to 2/3 full?)

I also didn’t have any soy sauce on hand, so substituted this wonderful SoyCha sauce instead.

For the sauce:

  • 2/3 cup MaraNatha peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup SoyCha (or soy sauce)
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 container chicken broth

For the rest:

  • 2.5 lb boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 red bell peppers, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced

I mixed up the marinade (sans chicken broth) Sunday afternoon before we left for the Super Bowl festivities. 

I also chopped up the red bell peppers and onions so they’d be ready to roll in the morning.

After 9 hours on low, I came home to some pretty awesome kitchen smells!

Once I opened up the slow cooker I removed the chicken & veggies and drained most of the fat from the remaining sauce.

With the combo of peanut butter, chicken thighs and SoyCha sauce there was a bit of oil to remove, no big deal :P

To serve, I cooked up some spaghetti to serve as well as some simple spinach.

Dinner is served.

Very very rich dish.  A little goes a long way!

But also very flavorful and tasty.  The cumin and lime added a different spin to the “normal” peanut sauce that I’m used to – but in a good way!

The chicken was also fall apart tender and just sunk itself into the spaghetti with each bite.

Good thing we liked this because we’ll be eating it for a few days (close to 3 lbs of chicken, what was I thinking? ;) )

Does anyone else remember this song (in reference to the post title)?  Guess having a sister 7 years younger means I remember wayyyyy more Barney than any normal person should hahaha.

Here’s to a much more “awake” day today – thank you 8 hours of sleep!!!!

Happy Tuesday all :)

12 responses to “Peaaanut, peaaanut butter. And chicken?

  1. LOVE Bethenny!! I can’t wait until her show comes back. I haven’t tried the workout yet- but I’m sure I would enjoy it too. I am a huge fan of peanut butter or almond butter chili- so I bet I would love this chicken. Just book marked. I’ve missed reading your posts! Be back in a few days

  2. I didn’t even have to click the link to the song. I knew from reading the title what you were talking about, which is funny because I probably haven’t heard or thought about that song in YEARS. Too Funny! (btw, I have a sister who is 10 years younger so I too know too much Barney). I love my crockpot, but find most things I fix end up tasting the same. Looking foward to giving this a try!

  3. Thank you, now I’m going to have “Peanut, Peanut Butter – AND JELLY!” IN MY HEAD ALL DAY! :p

  4. I thought you were referencing Peanut Butter & Jelly Time! peanutbutterjelly, peanutbutterjelly, peanutbutterjelly with a baseball bat. HAHA!

    Love PB & chicken combos. YUM!

  5. hahaha yes! I knew right away from your title! I don’t know where I picked up that song???

    I LOVE PB in dishes….any kind of PB sauce or PB with chicken, and I’m in. :-)

  6. Ahh, this has my name written ALL over it! Incorporating one of my favorite ‘foods’ into a chicken dish? Yes please!

    Have a wonderful day!

  7. I’ve been wondering about that Bethenny workout! I’ll have to try it now!

  8. I tried that yoga with Bethany, but it was almost too laid back for me – give me some TaeBo any day to wake me up :D
    Don’t you just love coming home to a crock pot dinner?! Looks delicious! My brother gave me some jalapeno peanut butter for Christmas, I may have to make this for one of my lunches :D

  9. The minute I saw this post title, I immediately thought of that song! :)

    This marinade sounds really good. My husband and I don’t eat too much meat, but I bet marinade would work well with tofu. I love peanut butter in savory dishes!

  10. Thanks for sharing the Bethenny workout link! I haven’t seen her yoga workouts! I will definitely have to try it out =) Anything involving a good yoga workout, I’m in =) That chicken looks divine – I have yet to make anything savory with peanut butter, it kind of intimidates me, I won’t lie. I will have to try this one as well as Erica’s chili – they look and sound so good!

  11. Oh yeah, totoally rememeber that song! My sister still sings it to my nephews all the time! lol
    This instantly reminded me of a peanut chicken and broccoli stir fry my BF made once that was delish! Served over soba noodles. In fact, I plan on making it as soon as I can EAT food again! I’ll make sure to let you know when I post it. It’s super fast and easy and incredibly yummy!

  12. I love my slow cooker. I also adore peanut butter. PB and chicken sounds like an interesting (but delicious) combination.

Leave a Reply

