Day One of the blogging adventure

Day one of the blog — and of course no cooking in site tonight (well, if you count reheating in the oven – I think not!) as the sis and I hit up Cardio class and then the Kropper (aka Ukrops) salad bar afterwards for one of her last nights in town before heading back to school.  Therefore I’ll have to start this with one of my new favorite summer recipes, one that utilizes the freshness of the local farmer’s market, the healthiness of a lowfat meal along with the heartiness of a mother’s kitchen:  Veggie Pasta Bake!! 

But first, a quick intro about me (right?)…  So here’s the exciting news ya’ll – I am currently working as a CPA in the Richmond, VA area (riveting, I know).  However, my true passion is healthy & delicious fresh foods and recipes.  Blogging about such a passion just seemed like the next logical step in the process for this gal!  And to add to it, I just bought a house and live with my most handsome boyfriend and our “energetic” (ha!) dog and I couldn’t be happier!!!

Me and “The Man”
Steph & the Man

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lucy Dog… I mean, really, is that a face you can resist? I think not!!LucyDog

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

But enough about me, The Man and the “energetic” dog – I wrote enough about that in my About Me page! 

Back to the recipe of deeeeee-liciousness – I came up with this one a few weeks ago when attempting to utilize the remainder of the farmer’s market purchases during the week – and boyyyyy it was a hit (even actually made it into my Mom’s kitchen!)  Highly recommend hitting up the farmer’s market if you have one, the produce there is a-mayyyy-zing not to mention the other fun bakery items, etc. that they may offer!

Veggie Pasta Bake

Veggie Pasta Bake

Eat me, you know you want to!! Mmmmmmm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(This makes about 4 servings)

– 1/2 box farfalle pasta
– 1 tblsp. olive oil
– 2 cloves garlic
– onion
– squash & zucchini (I used 1 pattypan, 1 zucchini and 1 yellow squash)
– 1 small eggplant
– 1/2 jar Bertolli Marinara w/ Burgundy Wine
– shredded monteray jack cheese blend
– grated parm
– fresh basil
– dried oregano
– salt/pepper

Preheat oven 375.  Chop veggies.  Saute garlic & onions in olive oil. Add squash/zucchini/eggplant once the onions have turned translucent. Add salt/pepper/basil/oregano. Let cook until veggies are tender but not mushy (you can add wine/water during this stage if they begin to stick to pan). Add pasta sauce when veggies are ready and let flavors blend. Meanwhile cook pasta according to directions. Add to sauce mixture. Pile pasta, sauce, & veggies into a casserole dish. Top with shredded cheese and bake for about 5 minutes. Add grated parmesean and put under broiler for a minute, this will bubble up the cheese so nicely!

We have enjoyed this recipe now a few times this summer, and even my mom has made it (however she subbed whole wheat pasta for regular farfalle, good call!) – yummmmmy!

5 responses to “Day One of the blogging adventure

  1. Hola! Lovin’ the blog. You better keep it updated so I can stay on top of your life these next few months, deal!? Love you tons and Lucy Dog too 🙂 That pic of her is one of my favs…..and that pasta dish is awesome! I’m going to miss good cookin’ thats for sure

  2. My favorite food blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. oh my…it just keeps getting better:)

  4. Wow! Looks Great! Are you the next Julia!

Leave a Reply

