Recipe Experiment Extravaganza!

Well folks, it’s Thursday, which means it’s 2 days away from the big grocery shop and things are a’slim pickin at the ol’ household.  But, why think of this from the “glass half empty” standpoint when one could turn it around into…..RECIPE EXPERIMENT EXTRAVAGANZA night!  Now, don’t get me wrong, I like having my menus planned out and ingredients lined up ahead of time for most of the week… but there is the rebel in me (ha) that thoroughly enjoys when the end of the week rolls around and I get to “play” with the ingredients we have left and come up with some real ‘creative’ dishes of my own!  

Soooooo tonight I enlisted none other than Lucy Dog to help me rummage through the cabinets and come up some potential meal ideas based on the ingredients we had stashed, however had to nix her idea of adding dogfood to the list since I really didn’t think that The Man would appreciate such an addition to the dinner menu :/  Sorry LuLu!! 

Rufffff, can I get a bone or somethin' over here please..?

Rufffff, can I get a bone or somethin' over here please..?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So here’s what we are working with:

A lil' bit of this, a lil' bit of that

A lil' bit of this, a lil' bit of that

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • chicken tenderloins
  • mango coconut sauce
  • potatoes (not shown)
  • cheddar cheese
  • Canadian bacon
  • zucchini/squash

Butttttt before the cookin began, I had to sneak in a quick after work snack before The Man got home…!!!  Here was the spread:

Tom Leonard's fresh salsa (yum!), TJ's Chard/Viognier blend & wait, hey, where'd the chips go?!

Tom Leonard's fresh salsa (yum!), TJ's Chard/Viognier blend & wait, hey, where'd the chips go?!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So after my secret snack 😉 I was feelin’ ohhhh so ready for some cookin’ -extravaganza style, can’t you tell?!?!

Let's do this!

Let's do this!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And the final product you ask??…. Well, here’s how it turned out after the Cookinfanatic tazmanian devil style torpedoed through the kitchen (really, I’m kidding here guys…) and made a spread that included mango/coconut breaded baked chicken tenders, cheddar/Canadian bacon stuffed potatoes & zucchini/squash with pesto (can’t get enough!) 

Buffet style!!

Buffet style!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the ingredients & some quick instructions:

Chicken: Dip chicken tenderloins in mango/coconut sauce to coat, roll in breadcrumbs to coat, place in baking dish that has been sprayed with cooking spray.  Bake for approx. 12 minutes at 350 til done.

Stuffed Potatoes:  Bake potatoes in oven at 375 for about 1.5 hours (do this right when you get home from work and they will be ready for dinner prep before you know it!).  Meanwhile saute some chopped onion and Canadian bacon.  Cut potatoes in half, scoop out insides.  Mix potato insides with onion/bacon mix, cheddar (I used cut up sharp block cheddar), a few tablespoons RF sour cream, salt/pepper.  Stuff back into potatoes and top with more cheddar.  Bake in oven for another 10 mintues or so till heated/melted.

Pesto Zucchini:  Saute 1 clove minced garlic in 1 tblsp EVOO, add about 1/2 chopped onion cookin’ til translucent.  Add sliced zucchini/squash (I used 3 small) and cook over medium heat, adding water as necessary if they start to stick.  Add about 1/4 cup pesto, salt/pepper/oregano and continue to cook until they are the texture you like.

VOILA!

Okay, so I just gotta show The Man’s plate as well – he was responsible for this snapshot!!! 😉  

This lasted... ohhh.. 3.2 minutes flat haha!

This lasted... ohhh.. 3.2 minutes flat haha!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

BTW this mango/coconut sauce from Spice Exchange was phenomenal, such a different yet exciting flavor blend and the ingredient list was muy bueno like woah!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂  I can’t wait to use it again.  So all in all, the recipe experiment extravaganza meal was a hit with both me and The Man and will definitely be replicated again, can I get a WHOOP WHOOP! 🙂 🙂  Wait, who forgot to give the dog some scraps…???

Hook it up people owners!!!

Hook it up people owners!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t worry, Lucy Dog was not left out of the dinner eating equation… ’cause that’s how we roll!  Night all!

5 responses to “Recipe Experiment Extravaganza!

  1. I LOVE THIS BLOG!!!!!! I am so excited you are doing this. You have to keep it updated. I already have my pen and paper out, jotting down notes for shopping this weekend. Also, if I can’t be in Richmond cooking with you, this is the next best thing. Miss you Best Friend….can’t wait to see you soon!! Love you (& Lucy Dog).

    • I’m so glad you like it so far 🙂 I am def going to keep it updated and even post adventures from our upcoming trip to the Bahamas whoop whoop! Can’t wait for our NJ excursion either, talked briefly with Kerri tonight and we are pumped!!! Love you and talk to you soon bestest!!

  2. that dinner looks so good. can you come cook for me?! hah.

    i just made my own blog, check it!
    jenna

  3. mmm dinner looks delicious–I’ve been obsessed lately with zucchini and squah so that’s right up my alley!

    • I know, I totally love love love zucchini (and summer squash!) and really try to use it in a variety of ways… we also really like zucchini “fries” with marinara (fake out on The Man, these suckers are lightly breaded and BAKED!) and quesadilla pie which utilizes squashies as one of the feature veggies (see recipe at simplyrecipes.com). Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

