Oh Cooking Light, I love thee so!

Before the absolutely deeeeee-lish (true dat) dinner post, I have a quick side note for my fine state of residency:

Dear VA,

What the heck, I leave you for 5 measley days and all of a sudden you decide that it’s mid-fall, long-sleeve, pant-wearing weather…?!  You’re really taking this September 1st thing seriously this year.  What is up with the 60 degree temps, totally not normal…  My body is in shock adjusting to the HUGE difference from the tropics, would appreciate just a couple of degrees boost before October.

Sincerely, Steph.

Haha but for real, I gotta say that it’s actually kind of nice to have some cool temps so I’m just gonna roll with it 🙂

Dinner tonight featured night 1 of theme week:

  • Chicken w/ Tomatoes & Olives (Cooking Light recipe w/ a touch o’ Cookinfanatic flair)
  • Parmesan CousCous
Tomatoes, feta, olives - I'm so in!

Tomatoes, feta, basil - I'm so in!

So when I got home from work I threw (not literally) the chicken breasts in some of this guy – the recipe didn’t call for this step however it happened anyway, bc that’s how I roll.

Doesn't it look yummy?!

Doesn't it look yummy?!

Then I had an appointment with J.M. – you see folks, all day I knew that my lady would not be pleased if we didn’t have a get-together… not after all those cruise mojitos 😉 !!  So in order to not disappoint the drill instructor, I shredded out some serious Level 3 whoop whoop!

Then I got started on din – guys, this recipe was SUPERFAB SIMPLE & turned out FREAKING DELICIOUS….omg I couldn’t believe my eyes how fast this came together & then how awesome it tasted, for real!  Here’s what you need (I tweaked the recipe a bit, go figure 😉 )

  •  4 chicken breasts
  • 2 big red tomatoes – chopped into large chunks
  • 1 can large olives – chopped in half
  • few tablespoons olive oil/vinegar salad dressing
  • crumbled feta
  • fresh basil
  • salt/pepper/oregano 
Let's get ready to rumbbbblllleeeee!!

Let's get ready to rumbbbblllleeeee!!

 
So I got to cookin’, but not before having some Columbia Crest Shiraz — pretty good I must say!  Put the chicken in a skillet at medium heat (1 tblsp. olive oil to coat pan will do) and cooked about 3 minutes each side, then I turned down the heat a bit and covered the lil’ guys and let them finish up cooking — getting nice and moist.  Once the chicken was done I removed it from the heat and set aside.   Then it was time for the veg mix – cooked the chopped tomato and olives in a few more tablespoons of Mr. Ken’s deelish dressing over medium heat in a medium pan, adding some salt/pepper/oregano/fresh basil for flavaaa flave
QUICK TIP O’MINE (courtesy of Mrs. Ray) – have a bowl for garbage/food scraps out while you chop & prep – saves so many trips to the garbage can guys, this is seriously such a wondeful idea!  Shout out Rachel Ray!
Endless trips to the gar-bahge... I think not!

Endless trips to the gar-bahge... I think not!

 
Once this mixture cooked for about ?10 minutes? I poured it over the cooked chicken breasts, sprinkled it with some feta then popped it in a 350 oven for 5 minutes to soften/melt the cheesy.  Oh yea, and don’t forget to just prepare the couscous in the meantime – I mean seriously guys, you boil water/EVOO and dump in a sauce pack and the cousy – then let sit for 5 and fluff.  Rocket science?  I think not!  Here’s how it turned out:
 
Try this. Now. Seriously, I didn't even like olives much before tonight, I'm totally not joking!!!!

Try this. Now. Seriously, I didn't even like olives much before tonight, I'm totally not joking!!!!

 
And here was the plate of delight — blog buds, I really can’t tell you enough how good this was esp for being so freakin’ easy.  This is going on the menu again soon, totally not kidding!!!!!!!  I really don’t love olives (or so I thought) however they tasted awesome in this dish, the blend of fresh flavors was just supurb (Cooking Light, you’ve done it again!) and it is even uber-healthy for the ol’ bod 🙂  Winner winner chicken dinner?  I think so!
 
Plate it up!
 
Serve chicken & veg over cous cous

Serve chicken & veg over cous cous

 
Alright blog friends, I gotta hot date w/ a certain Man to watch our favorite show EVER on demand (we missed it Sunday!) — can’t say that the Dark Chocolate PB won’t be dipped into during however (OMG Jenna this shizz is sooooo good, The Man is hooked too – I’m totally expecting to find that jar gone like in 3 days haha).
 
Night all! 🙂
 
4 responses to “Oh Cooking Light, I love thee so!

  1. foodieinthecity

    Yayyy! I am so glad you like it 🙂 I am actually having that on some toast for my dessert. I can’t deny myself that chocolaty PB goodness 🙂

    • Soooo goooood, I’m thinking of putting it on some ice cream tomorrow night for dessert — who thinks of the next night’s dessert this far in advance? what is wrong with me?! haha

  2. I agree! Its wayyyy to cold already for September 😦 I’m not feeling it. Fabulous dinner- loving the cous cous. Hope you had fun watching your show with the man!

    • I know, what is up with the wacky weather?! Oh well, as long as it warms back up a bit for the holiday weekend then I guess I’m okay with it! P.S. It was the man’s first time (gasp!!) having cous cous too – I think he liked it 😉

Leave a Reply

