Shrimp on the barbie……?!

Hey fellow bloggertons!  How are you guys doin on this fine night?  Whew, I must say that I am ti-red… I think all the traveling and non-stop activity finally caught up with me!  But it was worth it, oh was it ever 🙂  And you know what else?  I really miss my lil’ sis who just went back to college for her junior year and I want to give her a shout out because I love her to pieces… 🙂

 
Love this lil' lady!  Cruisin it earlier this year :)

Love this lil' lady! Cruisin it earlier this year 🙂

 So after an exhilirating afternoon at work, I made it home to begin post-cruise clean up (daunting task eeek!)  But not before I had some of these guys first (priorities peeps!)
He strikes yet again!!

He strikes yet again!!

Then I got to the 897 pounds of laundry we managed to dirty on the cruise and also cleaning up loose odds & ends around the house.  Felt good to get that done!  After The Man came home from work we took miss thang (LuLu) for a walk around the hood to get her exercise on – she was a happy doggy camper 😉 

So anyways, before I get to the food, check it:  After innocently turning on the food network tonight (obvi), guess what Mrs. Ray was making… none other than BACON WRAPPED SHRIMP?!  And what is the fanatic making tonight…. ummm could it be bacon wrapped shrimp?  And who did the fanatic mention in today’s earlier post…?  This is just too random bloggertons, Rachel must have telepathic powers or some shiz…  Weird.  Period. 

First up on the menu was Bacon Chipotle Twice Grilled Potatoes ala Coconut & Lime w/ a fanatic twist (bacon overload tonight kids, good thing I bought the lower fat kind! but shhh don’t tell The Man that 😉 )

  • 2 russet potatoes
  • 1/4 cup light sour cream
  • 1/5 block cheddar, chopped small
  • 1 chipotle in adobo, chopped
  • 2 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
Tater ingredients...oh yeaaaa

Tater ingredients...oh yeaaaa

Bake potatoes in oven at 375F for about an hour (pop ’em in right after work, they’ll be done before you get your chores done!) or microwave ’em, doesn’t bother me either way 😉   Scoop out potato insides & combine with the rest of the ingredients, then fill ’em up.  Put stuffed taters back in a 400F degree oven for about 15 minutes til they melt up all nice and cheesy.

For the bacon wrapped shrimpies, I marinated them in a mix of these guys before wrapping in some partially cooked bacon (reason for this is that if you use the bacon uncooked, the shrimp will overcook & become tough before the bacon finishes up… not good!) 

Sweet +spicy up in hurrrr

Sweet +spicy up in hurrrr

Then The Man helped his lady love in the kitchen  (yea, he does that sometimes!) & wrapped the marinated shrimpies in half bacon slice each, securing with a toothpick.  Then we put these puppies on the cast iron skillet lightly rubbed with oil. 

love love love this cast iron skillet o'love - thanks Jess!!

love love love this cast iron skillet - thanks Jess!!

Guys, if you don’t have one of these guys, go get one NOW.  My bff (acronyms what what) from college bought me this and it is freaking amazing, shout out to my homegirl peep!!  I use it all the time in lieu of a grill and it always cooks food to perfection!  So here was the finished product…..

Can't touch this.

Can't touch this.

Yummmm-a-licious!!!!!!!  This dinner was awesomely awesome, the taters had a nice kick thanks to the chili in adobo & the shrimp were perfectly sweet & salty with the most wonderful charred flava – heck to the yea peeps 🙂  Note that I don’t recommend OD’ing on bacon every night, however sometimes you gotta just treat yourself (in moderation of course!) 😉

Alright kids, I’m off to make us some Dark Choc PB / Banana sammies for lunch tomorrow (sheesh, half gone now hahaha??) and then early to bed tonight!  And perhaps I’ll give ya  a peak at tonight’s dessert as well, let’s just say it seemed plain & simple, however was super-freaking-delicious…. but not til tomorrow folks!

Any fun plans for the holiday weekend? 

No outta town plans for this duo, however we’re going to The Man’s parents for a pool party Sunday whoop whoop – hope the weather stays nice!

10 responses to “Shrimp on the barbie……?!

  1. Yummmm! Those shrimp look delicious! I’m going to have to look into getting the cast iron skillet – I always see them on cooking shows. We don’t have a grill, so it would be perfect!

    No big plans here for the weekend, just enjoying it to the fullest! It’s my last weekend of freedom (I’m a teacher and go back to work next week). And it’s the last official weekend of summer – although here in Cali, summer really is all year long 🙂

  2. You and your sis are both adorable! Love the pic. ALWAYS feels so good to get house work out of the way! I have some I need to get done today (blahhhhhhh). Yummy dinner! Hope you have a great Thursday

  3. did you eat cheddar cheese+dark chocolate peanut butter together?? if so, this might be the first combo that i haven’t thought of to eat with PB…i’m very impressed! 🙂

    i’m going to newport for a wedding this weekend, i can’t wait!

    hope you have a wonderful labor day 🙂

    • Ok, so I SERIOUSLY thought about eating these guys together (ha!) but decided otherwise and just tasted each seperately 😉 I actually do love regular PB & cheddar together though (weirdo me) – especially if PB is spread on an apple and cheese stuck on top – one of my weird food combos fo real?!?! Hope you have an awesome holiday weekend and enjoy the wedding fiestas 🙂

  4. I got up this morning and started thinking about what to have for dinner…us Lane’s must think alike…but no ideas popped into my head and then I remembered STEPHANIE’S FOOD BLOG…plenty of ideas there!

  5. i might just be wearing that dress out tonight 🙂

    miss you best sister ever. went to pilates today for the first time since I’ve gotten here and wanted to die. hardest class ever omg. why are all the fitness instructors so insane up here?!

    anyways, i have some fun accounting to read tonight before fun begins! is it dorky that i actually enjoy reading my accounting book so far out of all my books? probs.

    oh! this girl in the house has a dog that looks EXACTLy like little Lu. the dog just randomly walked into our room and for a second i thought it was lucy 😦 she was adorable 🙂

    • Gots to love accounting — CPA fo’ life 😉 It’s worth it in the end sis, and you sound just like me, I woulda much rather read that book than many other college texts! Lu has multiple twins apparently, a girl I was talkin to on the blog has a pup that could be Lu’s sista!!

Leave a Reply

