First time Frittata!

 In response to my bad rainy day attitude :/ earlier today I found this:  “A happy person is not a person in a certain set of circumstances, but rather a person with a certain set of attitudes.”  🙂

Love it.

So after work today I came home to this: 

Let's just say there were a few dishes to be put away as of 7am this morning :/
Let’s just say there were a few dishes to be put away as of 7am this morning :/

 The Man had not only taken out the trash & made the bed but also put away all the dishes & loaded up the dishwasher before heading off to work. Best. Guy. Ever.

So w/ no chores to do I quickly tackled some Shred3 and it felt great! Lucy tried to get me to let her join, but I told her it just wasn’t safe for dogs 😉

Pleaseeee let me do it tooooo?!?!

Pleaseeee let me do it tooooo?!?!

 
I’ll say it again peeps, I love this workout — 25 minutes of some of the most effective cardio & strength exercises I have ever done.  I’ve had people ask me what I do to stay in shape, and seriously, the key for me is variety.  My usual week consists of nothing too rigorous or crazy, just effective, and includes a Shred session, a yoga practice and one or two cardio/kickboxing classes at the gym 🙂
 
In other news, Jenna over at EatLiveRun had an awesome post today.  Homegirl has inspired me to partake in a renewal of the freshness, focusing on increasing my healthful eats and decreasing, well, we all know what types of things need this! 😉  Here will be my goals for the next few weeks:
  • increase & corporate fruits & veggies into each mealfor me making sure to stay on track can be a struggle with the summer months waving goodbye (along with their summer bounty) therefore I will try to utilize fall/winter seasonal fruits & veggies more (here I come apples & squash!)
  • decrease random chocolate consumption no, I do not NEED a hershey bar with lunch everyday :/
  • decrease wine consumption1 glass with dinner is enough, 2 or 3 on occassion only 😉 !

Let’s start with tonight, which incorporated the following VEGGIE-TA-BULLLS into the mix:  romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, olives, potatoes, roasted red peppers 🙂

SALAD TIME

I made our salad with the following:

  • romaine lettuce
  • tomato
  • onion
  • cucumber
  • roasted red peppers

Then dressed it with one of our favorite salad dressing inventions ever — blue cheese vinagrette! 

Great way to lighten up if you crave blue cheese flava but don’t want all the cals associated – by thinning it out w/ vinegar you get some “tang” and the sugar/agave adds sweetness to balance… plus it thins out the blue cheese so the dressing goes a long way (vs. reg bl cheese which is thick and hard to coat the salad!)

Mighty agave strikes again!

Mighty agave strikes again!

  • 2 tblsp. blue cheese dressing
  • 1 tblsp. white vinegar
  • 1 tblsp. agave (I usually use sugar – however the agave made the dressing EVEN BETTER OMG seriously!!)
Stocked full o' veggie goodness!

Stocked full o' veggie goodness!

Do any of ya’ll have a great homemade dressing recipe you would like to share?  I adore homemade dressings and would love to know your secrets!!  

 

FRITTATA

Then I set out to make the Potato-Olive Frittata from the Vegetarian Cookbook I featured earlier this week – never made one before so I was excited!

Simply saute 2 cloves garlic, 1/2 onion sliced thick, 3 red potatoes sliced thin, salt/pepper in 1 tblsp EVOO for about 15 minutes flipping occassionally (use an oven proof pan if you have one, if not you can always wrap foil around the handle of the pan before putting in oven – Rachel Ray taught me that 😉 )

Sizzlin'

Sizzlin'

Meanwhile combine 4 eggs, salt/pepper, 1 tblsp dried oregano.  Once taters are done pour the egg mixture over top and sprinkle with sliced black olives.
What's up with my new olive obsession?

What's up with my new olive obsession?

 
Let cook over medium for about 5 minutes til egg starts to set but still remains glossy on top.  Sprinkle with some Parm cheese and/or provolone and put in a 450F oven for about 4 minutes to finish cooking and melt cheesy.  It’s done!
 
Here was the meal spread
Lovin' veg night in this house!

Lovin' veg night in this house!

 
 I drank this beauty alongside (thanks Man’s Mom, I was trying to help you “clean out” the bar post-party! 😉 – which was a lovely shiraz, nice and light surprisingly and perfect with this bistro style meal!
Cute Koala :)

Cute Koala 🙂

 We plated up and devoured — both the salad and the frittata turned out SO AWESOME!!

You will be seeing this again, oh yes!

You will be seeing this again, oh yes!

If you like blue cheese ya’ll I really recommend trying this dressing sometime…. and if you like simple, healthy, cheap, delicious meals then try this frittata – fo’ real – I am sold, soooooo gooooood!!!
 
Alright, well off to relax and catch up on some google reader — big meeting planned at work tomorrow so gotta get some beauty rest too!  Hope you all have a wonderful evening 🙂
 
 
 
6 responses to “First time Frittata!

  1. Dinner looked delish!

  2. I love frittatas- such a healthy and easy meal. Yours looks great!
    Thanks for your comment today about swimming- Do you still swim? That’s awesome that you were on the swim team for 10 years- only swimmers can truly understand each other! 🙂 HA.
    I do love the feeling of putting my head in the water and tuning out the world completely. Nothing else quite like it! 😉

    • I haven’t swam in about a year I would say, however I really should get back into doing this form of exercise more. It is the best! I agree, only those who swam really know how truly awesome it is 🙂

  3. Wow – that frittata looks amazing!! I have never made one, either. I don’t know why, but I’m intimidated?! Everyone says they’re easy so I’m bound to screw it up. 😉

    GREAT guy, there!! What a sweetheart!!

    • Hey! I have been scared to make them too for fear of messing it up, but it really ended up being so much easier than I thought! 🙂 I was happily surprised by that for sure 🙂 Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

