Surprise mail package!

Guess what I came home to after work today!!!

Whatever could this be?!

Whatever could this be?!

A package from the one and only Brandi over at Branappetit!  She’s also from VA and we decided to do a fun swap for products neither of us had tried/couldn’t find…. superfun idea peeps 🙂  Check out what I got!!! (I am uber-pumped if you can’t tell!)

 

Trick or treat? :P

Trick or treat? 😛

  • Chia seeds (can’t wait to try these!)
  • Coconut M&Ms (am I in heaven?)
  • Barney Butter (I have never had this before *gasp*, talk about excited!)
  • Cinnamon PB (another one of those “haven’t tried before”!)
  • Dark Choc Reese’s
  • AmazingGrass Wheat grass powder

All I can say is homegirl hooked a sista up and I can’t thank her enough 🙂 

THANKS BRANDI!!

So this afternoon started off on a good note needless to say.  Then I had to take LucyDog to the vet – our lil’ girl dog gained 4 lbs since last year… I know who won’t be getting anymore table scraps 😉

I had great intentions to workout this afternoon til my body said to me: “Stephanie, leave me alone, I am exhausted from an intense work week and need a freaking break.”  So I rightfully obliged, girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

Instead I decided to head over to Whole Foods and buy some din goods and some surprises for my lil’ sis (we are going to see her at VA Tech 2mrw!) 

I also decided to whip up a lil’ something to bring for her – but since I know she is reading this it isn’t gettin’ posted til later – boo yah sis gotcha! 

HINT: oat bran, agave, honey, dried cran, pumpkin butter…. that’s alot of hints haha

I decided that tonight’s din was to be a quick throw-together – but that didn’t mean I couldn’t “jazz up” the basics (best way to get easy foods to go that extra flava mile)!! 

As I wondered around Whole Foods I spotted these guys and thought they looked good.

Sausage CAN be healthy!

Sausage CAN be healthy!

I knew we had some of this at home too

Giant tall illusion box

Giant tall illusion box

which would go nicely.  

Also had to get my veggie on (obvi) bc the snap peas tomatoes looked awesome (!!), creative saute time!

Here’s how it went down:

1) Saute 1 sliced onion in some EVOO.  Add 2 chicken sausages, chopped. Saute over medium til cooked through and browned up. (ALWAYS add salt/fresh pepper)

Jazzed up sausage

Jazzed up sausage

2) Veggie time – here was the combo
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • snap peas
  • 2 tomatoes
  • soy sauce
  • honey

Just saute the garlic for a minute in some EVOO over medium heat.  Add the snap peas and chopped tomatoes and let the liquid cook out for a few.

Christmas?!
Christmas?!

Then add however much soy sauce and honey that you like – this is my first time with the garlic/soy sauce/honey flavor combo but I will DEFINITELY be having it again.  Really good! 🙂

3) Mac n’ cheesy — The Man helped out with this! (he claims to be the expert from his college days 😉 )

Stud of the mac n' cheesy haha

Stud of the mac n' cheesy haha

Easy fast yummy healthy din = happy girl 🙂
Balanced meal - I think so!

Balanced meal - I think so!

On the agenda tonight is packin’ up some things for our trip tmrw – we are headed out early in the a.m. to get to Tech for some tailgating by lunchtime – and I want to try to squeeze in a quick workout before we head out too!  

One quick other side note peeps, not sure how the blogging will go this weekend – may be sporadic FYI since we are gonna be busy bees and probably not near a computer much…. but I promise to have plenty of good pix for you at some point!!!  🙂 Just bear with me – the Firefly may take ovah 😉 haha

Have a most wonderful Friday bloggertons!

Oh, and a quick P.S., if you haven’t entered to win some pumpkin butta what are you waiting for?!?!  CLICK AWAY!!!

11 responses to “Surprise mail package!

  1. foodieinthecity

    BARNEY BUTTER!?!?!? You will be obsessed. Seriously, my favorite nut butter EVER, hands down 🙂

    What a fun idea to do swaps. I need to look into that.

    Have a wonderful weekend with your sis!

    http://www.foodieinthecity.wordpress.com

    • I can’t wait to try the barney butter – am I like the last blogger in the world who hasn’t haha?! Swaps are definitely fun – let me know if you ever wanna do one and perhaps send some PBLoco my way 😉 (it’s near you right?!) Have a wonderful night girl!!

      • foodieinthecity

        I would definitely be down for a swap! Let me know when you are thinkin’ and if you want to wait until you are running low on a certain item 😉

  2. What a fun exchange! I’m super jealous of the coconut M&M’s 🙂

    • I can’t wait to try these things – I saw them on Brandi’s blog and about had a heart attack haha – I LOVE all things coconut and then add some chocolate?? Oh. Em. Gee. 🙂 🙂

  3. You always do such a great job of making balanced but tasty looking meals… yum! I love Annie’s mac and cheese, such good comfort food.

    I think it’s great that you listened to your body and took the day off. Have a great trip tomorrow!

  4. What a great idea to swap fun stuff! Have fun at VT tomorrow – go Hokies! I went to Tech and miss being able to go to games. At least we get some of them on tv out here in Cali 🙂

  5. your boyfriend is super cute!!!

    coconut m&ms!?!?! i never knew they existed. sounds amazinggggggg

Leave a Reply

