Off to Blacksburg we go!!

Hey bloggies! Early Saturday morning eh?  I woke up with the roosters (jk) to do some YogaSculpt and of course, blog, before we get on our way to VA TECH!!  Super parents are coming to stay at our house and take care of Lucy Dog – we are soooo lucky to have them right 🙂 !

This morning’s session was wonderful, I hardly ever exercise in the a.m. but waking up to these stretches and strength moves really was a nice change!  After I yoga’d my heart out I made this guy — using my new chia seeds from Brandi!!!

  • 1/3 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup vanilla soy milk (+1/2 cup water)
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1 tblsp cookie dough PBLoco (I’m bad)
  • crumbled ????
  • chia seeds
What's crumbled on top you ask?

What's crumbled on top you ask?

Well since I am 99% positive that there is no way in he!! my lil’ sis will be awake this early on a Saturday nor reading this before we get there….. (these are surprise eats I made to bring her shhhhh!) – here’s what I crumbled on top!

Mixin' and stirrin'

Mixin' and stirrin'

And ta-da!!

Yummmm

Yummmm

I present to you OAT BRAN MUFFINS!!!!  Modified from the one and only Better Homes & Gardens (love this book 🙂 )

  • 1.5 cups oat bran
  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3/4 cup applesauce
  • 1/2 milk (I used 2%)
  • 2 tsp agave
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 2 tsp pumpkin butter
  • 3 tsp cooking oil
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

Mix together dry ingredients, making a well in center.  Mix together wet ingredients then add to flour mixture.  Stir until moistened.  Fold in cranberries.  Spoon batter into muffin cups (spray with cooking spray first).  Bake 15 minutes in a 400F oven.  Voila!!! 🙂

K – in a huge rush now (running late :/)  Time to shower up and get on the road!

Promise to have lots of super-fun probably not all food related VA Tech footballin’ pix for ya soon!!! Enjoy your saturdays friends and see you down the road 🙂

10 responses to “Off to Blacksburg we go!!

  1. foodieinthecity

    Nothing bad about having cookie dough peanut butter for breakfast! I’ve done it too if it makes you feel any better 🙂

    What a nice sis you are for baking her fresh muffins too!

    I hope you have a great time!

  2. my sister has yet to perfect toast so unfortunately I can’t expect any muffins from her in the new future, can your ‘rents adopt me?! 😉

    Have a great weekend doll!

  3. yum your sister is very lucky to get to taste those awesome looking oat bran muffins!! have a great time…go VA Tech!

  4. LETS GO HOKIES!!!!!!!!!!! you’ll be here in 30 min and im super pumped!!!! love youuu see you soon 🙂 ps: definitely not awake at this crazy hour of 930 on a SATURDAY!

  5. I wish I had the energy to workout more in the morning. It always starts my day off on the right foot.

    Those muffins loook sooooo good! I wonder if I could use oats instead of oatbran? Might be worth the experiment 🙂

    Have fun this weekend…but gotta say GO GATORS! We have the big FL/TN game.

    • It really was a nice way to start the day – but I def have a hard time doing it early in the a.m. most of the time!! Let me know how the oats turn out if you make the muffins, I’m sure they’d be deelish 🙂 Hope you had a great time watching your ftball game!

Leave a Reply

