Pumpkin butta winna & other Sunday adventures!

Hey bloggies! How was everyone’s Sunday?  We have been doin’ some major relaxin’ around this casa that’s for sure…. 🙂

Since I got my meal plannin’ on during our 3 hour trek home, I was ready to hit up the grocery store right when we got back!  Easy peasy.

Afterwards I decided to do a lil’ cooking experiment while The Man was pretending to watch football but really sleeping watchin the new Red Zone $50 channel that just HAD to be purchased (seriously?!) However, who I am to judge, I did order $20 worth of peanut butta from PBLoco haha 😉 

This experiment was to be in honor of the pumpkin butter giveaway winner announcement tonight!

PUMPKIN BUTTA FILLED ‘COOKIES’

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 cup sweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup vanilla soymilk
  • sprinkle of chia seeds, nutmeg, pumpkin pie spice
  • pumpkin butter

Just mix all the ingredients except pumpkin butter together and put onto cookie sheet in spoonfuls.  Make an indentation in the center of each cookie. 

Ready for cookin'

Ready for cookin'

Bake at 400F for 8 minutes, take out and spoon pumpkin butter on each cookie.  Put back in oven another 2 minutes.

Voila!

Voila!

 Outcome?  Pretty tasty – however not quite sweet enough for my liking!  Next time I think a tblsp of agave + some addt’l pumpkin pie spice would do the trick and these guys would be perfecto 🙂  They were pretty dense, almost more of a bar consistency, which I really liked!  Overall, with a lil’ modification, think they could make an excellent addition to the fall repetoire.

Onto tonight’s dinner adventure, which I decided to do a spin IowaGirl’s delicious sweet soy glazed turkey breast!  I had been eyein’ this particular flava combo ever since she posted and knew that I had to try it asap (she’s got some fab ideas peeps) 🙂 

Sweet Soy Chicken Burgers

  • 1/2 package ground chicken
  • 3 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • black pepper
  • 1/8 cup bread crumbs
Lil' did I know how fab this would turn out!

Lil' did I know how fab this would turn out!

Just form into patties and cook in a saute pan over medium until done.  I always start out with the pan uncovered and sear each side, then cover to let finish cooking without drying out.  Here’s a pic of The Man’s slathered with cheese

Monsta burger!

Monsta burger!

I also wanted to make a salad to go with using these guys, which I found today and they look amazing!

Check out that garlic chunk yeaaaa

Check out that garlic chunk yeaaaa

 Some romaine, chopped roma tomatoes, sliced peppers plus sprinkle of oregano, pepper and grated Parm made for a nice combo’ — these peppers are awesome fyi 🙂

Gettin' my veg on

Gettin' my veg on

Also made some quick Parm noodles to go alongside…. check out my plate! (sans cheese and bun for this lady)

So ready for this!

So ready for this!

THESE BURGERS WERE AWESOMELY DELICIOUSLY FABULOUS WOW!!!! 

Seriously peeps.  Kristin’s flavor combo was something I would have never thought to put together and when made into a burger resulted in pure eating bliss *sigh* 

Sweetness of brown suga + saltiness of soy + punch o’ cinnamon = SO GOOD!!

The Man told me at least 5 times while he was eating his burger how good it was haha, I love those kinda meals 🙂  Chicken burgers are a great alternative to the normal burger and this recipe is definitely on the healthier side using the lean meat.  I give it a 9.5 outta 10 – you got that right 😉

Okay okay I know that I have talked your ear off already haha and what you really wanna know is who is gettin’ the PUMPKIN BUTTA?!?!?!  After generating a random number based on the # of entries I tracked in my super cool CPA spreadsheet (made sure to give you peeps extra entries if you linked back, don’t you worry!)…. here’s what www.random.org selected:

#26 Lynne from http://randomlynne.blogspot.com/!!

Lynne was kind enough to not only leave a comment but also link back to the giveaway on her own blog – you should go check her out!

Lynne – email me your shipping info & I will get this stuff mailed out to you this week 🙂

THANK YOU ALL for participating in the giveaway – I just loved the superfab ideas you had for using the pumpkin goodness & will def be trying some of them out soon 🙂

Aight, g’Night bloggies – it’s time for another work week!!

12 responses to “Pumpkin butta winna & other Sunday adventures!

  1. Yum! Those burgers look great- and healthy. I want to give this one a try- soon! I love your tip about getting them seared but not dried out- will remember that!

  2. Love the cookie experiment! You will def have to try them again with a little more sweetness and share the final recipe! They sound delicious. Meal planning really makes my life SO much easier

    • I will def post the final product once I get the sweetness right! I had one this morning actually and I actually really enjoyed it — had put them in the fridge overnight which seemed to make it better? Hey – since it wasn’t that sweet I am allowed to eat it in the morning right 😉

  3. I’m glad you got + enjoyed the package! and it looks like you guys had a fun weekend up here 🙂

    • Love love loved the package – had the Barney Butter this a.m. actually! The Man keeps trying to get me to open the coconut m&ms but I am holding out… haha ahhh I can’t wait to try them!

  4. I can’t believe how productive you were after a long road trip. Mad props lady!

    Have an awesome week 🙂

  5. Hey I tried to find an email to reply to your comment, but no luck!

    That actually was Sweet Baby Rays lol. There is no better BBQ sauce. Their sweet n spicy version is amazing!

    • Sweet Baby Rays is soooo the best – shoulda known you would already know that! 🙂 I like to marinate chicken in a combo of SBR bbq sauce / minced garlic and then bake up in the oven — so random but so good!

  6. If those cookies aren’t sweet enough – I’ll happily take them off your hands 😉

  7. LOVE this idea!!! I will definitely have to replicate the next time I’m in the sweet & salty mood…which will likely be soon 😉

  8. Pingback: Pumpkin + Cream Cheese Oats! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

