The ABC’s of the fall farmer’s market

 Happy Thursday bloggin’ bums 😉 !!  How is everyone?  I hope ya’ll are well – since it’s almost the weekend whoop whoop!

sun

Bermuda in my cubicle? :/

 The sun is shinin’ here and it is pretty darn hot outside too (well it was at 8am ha) – counteractin’ the crazy busy morning I have had at work to say the least phew!

I wanted to tell each of you that I absolutely LOVED all the comments I got on last night’s post regarding how you each deal with changes to your schedule.  It was so nice to hear your real answers and know that there are many peeps out there that are just like me!  Even better that they are just a click away 🙂  This is why I just love the blog community – it’s absolutely wonderful as are all of you!

Onto today – which is crazy busy hectic but I’m squeezin’ in a quick lunchie post to regain some sanity here!

Oh yum!

Oh yum!

Well, as the saying goes, “twas deelish!”

On another note, I’ve decided that I need to begin a lil’ knowledge journey over the next few days.  Here’s the deal, this lady is pretty in tune with the summer farmer’s market and think I know a good amount about those fruits & veggies — however my knowledge of fall fruits/veggies outside of apples and squashies sucks!  Flat out.

Here’s the goal – for the next few days I am going to pick a diff fall fruit or veggie and:

  1. get up to speed on the nutritional qualities & other info related to said item
  2. read and learn 1 recipe that can be made with said item
  3. hopefully visit the farmer’s market and purchase some of said items
  4. incorporate said items into my menu over the next few days

I’m excited – I love food knowledge!!!

Day 1: BEETS!!!!

 Beet vs. cookinfanatic:

  • recent interaction includes only the roasted beet dish I ate at Comfort (local restaurant) a few weeks back which was uber-deelish
  • prior to that, think daycare, age 5, from a can I am sure
Who are these guys?

Who are these guys?

Nutrition Profile (just to name a few, these guys are stacked!)

  • excellent source of calcium, folate, potassium, vitamin C
  • fibrous root aids in and eliminating constipation
  • loaded with vitamins A, B1, B2, B6 and C
  • higher content of iron compared to spinach (not high but of the finest quality making it an excellent food that is blood building rendering it highly effective in treating many ailments caused by our toxic environment)
  • anti-cancer properties (inhibits formation of cancer-causing compounds and is protective against colon or stomach cancer.)

How in the heck to pick one out?

  • Firm, smooth roots w/out splits
  • small to medium sized taste best
  • buy w/ greens still attached (usually freshest – can eat greens when young)

 How to store?

  • remove tops and refrigerate in plastic bags, for about a week or more

Yum-a-licious recipe

 

  Well, there you have it!  I have seen these guys at the farmer’s market over the past few visits and maybe I am ready to make the purchase leap 😉 ????

See ya’ll for a dinner recap, we’re havin

  • Coconut jasmine rice
  • Spicy black beans
  • Salad

 HAPPY THURSDAY 🙂

 

 

 
10 responses to “The ABC’s of the fall farmer’s market

  1. never had a beet before!you’ll have to make some sort of beet dish when i get home because Ive always wanted to try them. Mom and dad are on teh cruise and I’m so jealous right now. At least its officially the weekend for me 😉

    ps- i put pumpkin butter on the muffins and it was delicious! lets just say they have been gone for awhile…love my carbs 🙂

    • Beet adventure here we come haha! So lucky it’s the weekend for you, this week has been insane at work :/ Glad you liked the pumpkin butter and muffins so much — p.s. those cookies I made with it the other day were really good and I think I am going to have to perfect them this weekend! Love u When are you coming homeeeeeeeeee???????????

  2. I had beets for the first time this summer (courtesy of grandma!) and OH MY were they good! I’m still scared to prepare them myself. Nothing is ever as good as grandma’s!

  3. Glad you got in a good lunch on another crazy/busy day! I love fall foods- I have some recipes using pumpkin, different squash and apples on my bloggy girlfriend! Believe it or not, Paula Deen has a recipe for beet chips done in the oven and its a pretty healthy recipe and delicious!

    • Oh you rock sista – beet chips sound really intriguingly awesome! I def need to check out some of your fall recipes, meal planning for next week starts tomorrow so I’ll be on the lookout 🙂 Esp after making the corn cakes from your post — those were freakin’ awesome! Enjoy your night girl 🙂

  4. What a great idea! Fall fruits/veggies are so good, but it seems like summer ones are more well known. Let us know what you end up doing with beets!

  5. Do you have any recipes for Beets? I’ve never been into them but would love to give them a try!

Leave a Reply

