Creative cookin’ success!

I’mmmm backkkk!!  And dinner was a SUCCESS!  What a fantastic way to use up what was around the house (cleanin’ the pantry out before shoppin’ tomorrow whoop whoop!) and to also have a wonderful, economical meal on the table in a minimal amount of time!

And since I just can’t wait to share it with all you bloggies so much, I decided to do a step by step of how this recipe went down 🙂  Here goes….!

Ingredient list (I used what I had around, please feel free to add/omit any of the ingredients as you wish!)

  • whole wheat tortillas
  • half package ground turkey
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 green chili pepper, chopped
  • 1 small can sliced mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup sliced black olives
  • 1/3 cup frozen corn
  • 1 roma tomato, chopped
  • cheddar cheese (I used about 1/5 block, chopped)
  • 1.5 cups Trader Joe’s enchilada sauce
  • chili powder to taste
  • salt/pepper
  • EVOO

Phew — I know it looks like the longest list EV-AH but seriously, you wouldn’t have to use all these items and you could probably use other things as well… I promise!

1) Saute onion and green chili in about 1 tblsp EVOO over medium heat for about 5 minutes.

2) Add mushrooms, olives and corn, continue cooking for another 5 minutes or until corn is nice and warmed.  Season with salt/pepper/chili powder.

veggies

3) Add ground turkey and saute until cooked through.  Add the tomatoes at this point (don’t want them to get too mushy which is why it’s best to add them at the end)

vegwturkey

Now it’s a ready for the saucin’!!!

enchiladasauce

4) Add 1 cup of enchilada sauce to the mixture and allow to heat through (you can turn down heat at this point)

withsauce

I was pretty excited, to the point that I actually carried this hot pan into the living room to show The Man my turkey skillet pride and joy haha (NOTE:  NOT SAFE!)  :/

Now it’s time to build the casserole using these guys… Ole! Extreme Wellness Whole Wheat Tortillas  (these are awesome, just discovered them and they also come in 8 grain and high fiber too!)

tortilla

5) Spray baking dish with PAM and layer 1.5 tortillas on bottom, so they go up sides a bit to hold all the filling in

firsttortilla

6) Spoon half the turkey/veg mixture on top of the tortillas

firstlayer

7) Cover with another tortilla (I sliced in half to make for easier cutting post-bake).  Top with second half of turkey/veg mixture and then cheddar cheese.

withcheese

8) Finally, top with one more tortilla (sliced in half again if you choose) and then 1/2 cup of enchilada sauce.

beforebaking

Pop this sucker in a 375F oven for about 15-20 minutes so the cheesy can melt and the tortillas crisp up a bit and you are D-O-N-E!!!

Check out the cheesy shot (had to do it, sorry!)

done

Side angle?

side

And it of course made it’s way onto my plate 🙂

plate

 

The Man declared this meal one of his favorites ever (I’m starting to think he’s a biased judge 😉 ) — I thought it was very delicious as well (and healthy!)… esp when topped with some Frank’s hot sauce!  Next time I could see adding some more chili powder and/or serving with sour cream (didn’t have any) 🙂

Overall it was a lovely, comforting Friday night dinner and I enjoyed every bite of it!!

One last quick note before I complete this novel of a post (ha)….

My AmazingGrass wheat grass supply ran out so I headed over to Vitamin Shoppe today and ended up picking up these guys — which I am really excited to try!  The lady who worked there HIGHLY recommended them so I thought I’d give’em a whirl… I’ll keep ya posted on how they go! 

perfectfood

Based on my research online they appear to be awesome!!! 🙂 🙂

  • RAW Energy
  • Immune System Health
  • Healthy Detoxification
  • Healthy Digestion and Elimination
  • Healthy Blood Sugar Levels

Alright bloggies, I am tired on this Friday and a movie with some my man & some wine is callin’ my name! 

We have a wedding to go to tomorrow night in town but before that I hope to hit up the Farmer’s Market (rain go away!), do a Shred workout and probably a grocery trip if I have finished the menu planning….. which, P.S., is lookin’ really good so far!! 🙂

NIGHT EVERYONE!!

6 responses to “Creative cookin’ success!

  1. foodieinthecity

    Heck yes to the wine calling calling your name. It has been calling mine too 🙂

    We haven’t had any wedding this summer 😦

    • Wine always seems to be callin’ my name :/ haha. You think I could sustain life on pumpkin butter, peanut butter and wine? Hmmm… jk of course! We have had a few weddings, one all the way in upstate NY (talk about a freakin’ hike that was!)…. at least this one is in town and it’s a girl that I lived with post-college graduation so I am very excited for her 🙂

  2. Yum! Looks quite delicious! Thanks for posting the ingredients – may have to try to replicate it sometime soon. And I’m definitely going to try those TJ PB cups in your post below!

    • The PB cups are dangerously good, but I still highly recommend them of course 😉 I would love to see how the recipe turns out if you try it, esp if you make some modifications, I love seein’ and tryin’ variations!

  3. Oh delicious!! Glad I correctly guessed enchiladas 😉

  4. Those look awesome, I have been trying to come up with a gluten free version. One day soon, I hope!

    Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

