Why didn’t I make this before?!

Hey there everyone!!  It’s Saturday night, it’s raining in Richmond, but that don’t matter bc I just got back from my friend’s beautiful wedding reception and am makin’ us a slammin’ pizza dinner and snugglin’ up to some football (aka blog reading) with The Man! 

Has everyone else had a great day so far 🙂 I sure hope so!

Take a quick peek at how lunch went after me and Jillian had a quick meetup (umm plus some ice cream and hershey kisses, I am bad ha!)

Leftover coconut rice, spicy beans + TJs fire roasted peppers!

Leftover coconut rice, spicy beans + TJs fire roasted peppers!

Happy camper 🙂

Once The Man got home from work we headed out to the Valentine Museum in downtown Richmond for my friend’s wedding reception.  She had a closed ceremony and then everyone gathered afterwards for a beautiful garden party… saw lots of homies from high school that I hadn’t seen in 4eva so that was fun 🙂

We took a quick walk through the museum before the reception began (lots of local historic memorabilia including cool Indian artifacts)

vmuseumsteph

Then it was time for some celebrating!

Bride & groom walked out here

Bride & groom walked out here

Heavy apps + carving station

Heavy apps + carving station

These were amazing!

These were amazing!

Sweet potato / ham biscuits also deelish!

Sweet potato / ham biscuits also deelish!

The Man and I made a small plate to split, since it was only 4:30pm and we weren’t too hungry yet.

plate

Everything was really really yummy!  And I was even happier that the rain held out for this lovely event, so no one (including the beautiful bride!) got soaked. 

Check out the uber-cute cupcake tower too!

cake

The Man and I gettin’ our wedding reception on 😉

stephjordan

On our way home we decided to stop off at Total Wine for some more beers and wine to continue the celebration tonight!  We also realized that we would probably be hungry for some dinner a bit later….

….with nothing planned for tonight (wasn’t sure how full we’d get at the wedding reception?) I decided that I would whip up a whole wheat pizza based on a meal I already had planned for the week — practice run right?! 😉

Now this was my first time making pizza crust myself, and I didn’t have any yeast, but I found a yeast-free recipe that turned out just beautifully and peeps — and this was the EASIEST thing ever! 

Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup veg oil (lil’ bit less)
  • 2/3 cup water (lil’ bit more)
  • dash of honey (I just added this)

Just stir this together in a big bowl, then knead a bit on the counter… form into a ball and spread out in a pizza pan (spray with cooking spray).  So easy & healthy (ummm and uber-cheap)!  I don’t think I’ll ever buy those pizza mixes again – I mean seriously?

Why haven't I done this before?!

Why haven't I done this before?!

I then decided to gather up some items for the pizza topping, they included the following:

  • pizza sauce
  • 3 chicken breast tenderloins (just poached these for 6 minutes in boiling water then shredded! I really despise that precooked chicken from the package :/)
  • TJ’s fire roasted peppers/onions (from the freezer peeps, just heat in a pan for a few first)
  • sliced olives
  • sharp cheddar  
  • mozzarella
  • dried oregano & basil
  • black pepper

Here was the building operation!

Step 1:  saucin' + chicken

Step 1: saucin' + chicken

Step 2:  Peppers + olives

Step 2: Peppers + olives

Step 3:  Add the cheeses and bake at 425F for about 13 minute til done!

cookedpizza

Can you tell who's side is whose?!

This turned out better than I could have ever expected you guys, seriously.  And I think it only took about an hour from start to table… fo’ realz.  Ummm, Papa John’s, take that! 😉

Thick & delicious!

Thick & delicious!

 

Moral of the story:  TRY MAKING YOUR OWN PIZZA CRUST!

I promise that you will not be sorry 🙂

Well, guess it’s time to catch up on the bloggie reader and see what you fabulous peeps have been busy doing all weekend and then some ice cream may be in order 😉 

The sound of the raindrops on the skylights is oh so relaxing right now, with my glass of wine and chillin’ on the couch with The Man I am as happy as one gets!

Til’ tomorrow!

14 responses to “Why didn’t I make this before?!

  1. That pizza looks amazing!!! You are quite the chef! And coconut rice also sounds very delish.Have a great weekend girly 🙂

  2. I’m always looking for a good pizza crust recipe, so maybe I’ll give this one a try.

  3. I lurrrrrve making my own pizza crust 🙂 I have a recipe up on my blog – it’s awesome. I use wheat bran in the crust too and I also like to sprinkle corn meal (or even better – cornbread mix) in the pan so the crust has all those nice flavors on it.

  4. Whoops, that was me above – don’t know why I was signed into wordpress. I never write in that blog.

    • I just checked out your recipe — looks great! I need to try it with the yeast sometime when I want a less dense crust. I think the honey is the key too, we think alike! 🙂

  5. mmm that pizza looks delish. I will have to try that out

  6. Nice job on the pizza crust, looks like it came out really well! I have to admit I have been scared to try that myself but I should probably just get over it and try it! Weddings are so much fun, I am glad you had a good time and got to sample some yummy food.

  7. You’re homemade pizza looks way better than anything you could ever get at a pizza joint. I’m also loving your spicy beans and coconut rice. I think that meal is calling my name.

    I’ve never heard of a closed wedding nor have I been to the Valentine Museum. The wedding reception looked very nice though.

    Have a lovely evening.

    • Thanks! 🙂 I hadn’t heard of a closed wedding either before, but I think it was a sort of compromise btw families and the reception afterwards was just lovely. My first visit to the Valentine Museum too and I’ve lived here all my life, so funny how those things happen 🙂

  8. foodieinthecity

    I made Jenna’s pizza crust about a month ago now. This may be a bold statement, but it is one of the BEST pizza crusts I have had. Hands down, and it is sooo easy!

    You and the man are adorable 🙂

    I need to catch up on my Google Reader. It is getting ooc!

    • I remember when you made that — it really is soooo easy, I totally agree!! Maybe I’ll have to try her recipe next, she never lets me down with delicious eats thats for sure 🙂

  9. Oooh, I want a cupcake tower at MY wedding!

Leave a Reply

