“Care if I eat the rest of those beets?” (!!!)

So today was an exciting day for this newbie food bloggin’ fanatic peeps…. bc I got an email from a company that I have heard so much about to try one of their new products on the blog!!! I can’t tell you yet who it is, but I am soooo lookin’ forward to this one 🙂 

Was anyone else really excited the first time they were sent some free swag and asked to do a review?! Or am I just an uber-nerd-geek over here…. :/

K, party for myself now over.

Onto DINNER!!

Me & the beet??

Me & the beet??

Me and the beet.  We’re in lurveeee haha.  And my chest has gone up 4 sizes, rightttttt…….

So when I got home I decided to switch things up a bit and try out a new yoga practice on-demand, and boy was I ever glad I did! This yoga sesh was intensely wonderful, 45 minutes of toning and stretching bliss…. wow!!

Yoga.Fitness.Plus. with Elise Gulan.  Amazing.   Has anyone else tried this practice before? If not, I highly recommend it!  Looks like they have it on the ExerciseTV website to try out too — note to self when I am traveling!  It left my legs and arms literally shaking and really worked my core 🙂 but yet I was so relaxed at the end, awesome.

While I was doing yoga, I simultaneously tackled the beet roastin’ — beet is a fun word eh?

Ready for trimmin!

Ready for trimmin!

Right after work I prepped the beets for roasting by washing and trimming so only 1″ stem remained.  Then wrapped each beet in foil and then popped in a 400F oven for about an hour. 

Roastin' ready!
Roastin’ ready!
After my yoga sesh was up, so were the perfectly roasted beet goodies!

Now I have all these leftover beet greens, which I think you can eat?  Anyone have any good recipes for beet greens?? I’d love to know! 🙂

Once the beets were done I let them cool for a bit while I prepared the vinagrette, loosely based on this recipe.

  • 1.5 tblsp EVOO
  • 1 tblsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tblsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tblsp chopped onion
  • salt/pepper

Just whisk this bad boy together and let hang out til you are ready to slice the beets.

To get the beets ready for serving, just remove from foil and peel (beet peel will basically fall right off), slice into whatever size you like then top with the vinagrette & some crumbled feta 🙂

Time for the pork chops!  Luckily I had also been on top of things and remembered late last night that I had to get those fresh, chemical-free pork chops in some sort of marinade to soak it up overnight and be ready for dinner tonight!  Here was the random concoction (my new favorite fyi, read on bloggies)

  • soy sauce (about 3/4 cup, maybe a bit less)
  • brown sugar (about 1/4 cup)
  • sliced ginger (about 1 tblsp)
  • chopped garlic (2 cloves)
  • olive oil (1 tsp)
  • fresh black pepper

Then I whipped out the trusty cast iron best friend forever skillet and got to ‘grillin’

Sizzler

Sizzler

7 minutes on my trusty friend and we were in business.

I also made some white cheddar mac n’ cheesy to go with (had to make sure the man was well-fed in case the beets didn’t go over well 🙂 I got his back like that!)

Ummmm then the best moment ever happened when The Man pronounced to me “these are the best beets I have EVER had!” — not sure how often he has had them but let’s just roll with it?

Then he went back for seconds.

Then he looked at me and said “do you care if I finish the rest of these?”

What a shockingly delicious surprise!

What a shockingly delicious surprise!

Yes ladies and gents —- these beets were FANTASTIC!!!!!  I have already been instructed to make them again.  Soon.  And I will, bc I lurveeeed them 🙂

Gahhhh and it got even better bc the pork turned out better than ANY pork I have ever cooked omg!! The marinade permeated the meat so beautifully over night and they were cooked perfectly…. I love that skillet! Plus the fact that this pork was the real deal from the farmer’s market made so much difference – I don’t know if I can go back to grocery store pork, ever :/

 This is probably going to be a marinade recipe that I use over and over…. so easy, fresh and delicious!

Oh, you want to see the plate you ask?  Duh… silly me!
Best Monday dinner evah!

Best Monday dinner evah!

I also had some of this Spanish wine to go with dinner — it’s really yummy 🙂
Spanish lurveee

Spanish lurveee

If I were a teacher, I’d give this dinner a score of 98.5%.  Exactly.  Haha (such a CPA nerd)  The only thing bringin it down were those cheddar noodles which we barely ended up touching ….. 😉

Alright bloggertons, gotta finish up some things before Gossip Girl!!!

However, I’ll leave you with this:  best search that led to my blog today = my mom is dad   ????????

Uhhhh not sure about that one?

Night bloggies, see ya for Tuesday!!!  🙂

26 responses to ““Care if I eat the rest of those beets?” (!!!)

  1. foodieinthecity

    Can you believe I’ve never had beets?

    I have another winning recipe for you to try 🙂 I can’t wait to hear what you think about the Buffalo Chicken Pot Pie!

    • Oh I saw that tortilla soup you made tonight and it looked fantastic! Can’t wait to try the buffalo chicken pot pie next week… I think I’m sending the man for some groceries for next week since I’ll be outta town this weekend (gonna miss my usual saturday shoppin’ day) and now I have recipe #1 for the week planned thanks to your fabulous-ness!! 🙂

  2. I’ve never cooked beets myself but I absolutely love them! So you just wrapped them in the foil and roasted them and then topped them with the mixture after slicing? Sounds so easy!

    • It really was so easy, you got it girl 🙂 Just wash them really good and chop off any stems/leaves (leave about an inch). Then wrap each beet seperately in foil and bake at 400F for about an hour (place them on a baking pan)… then let the beets cool a bit and take off peel (I used a knife and fork to do this, it falls right off) and then slice up. Whip up the vinagrette and pour over sliced beets then sprinkle with feta! Yum 🙂

  3. That’s my kind of dinner, looks great. Love the cartoon.lol

  4. I am SO impressed – I am too scared to try roasting my own beets!! Yours look AMAZING though!!

    • You would do just fine with them… I’ve seen some of your recipes girl and you def have the skillz! My biggest shock was that I couldn’t believe the man wouldn’t stop eating these, I thought he was going to despise them and I would end up eating them all! Shocker of the century haha

  5. What a great day! Glad to hear the beets came out perfect and hooray for the new product to try. Can’t wait to hear all about it

  6. hungryhoneybee

    You know I just enjoyed a beet for the first time last weekend, these look yummy!!

  7. I love beets both raw and cooked. Thanks for sharing that yoga information. I am always trying to find really good yoga videos! I will be trying this out this afternoon for sure.

    • Oh I am excited to see what you think! I am no yoga guru, however I thought this routine was pretty good. Beets rock my world (who says that? ha) – nuff said 🙂

  8. I was super excited for my first review / sample, too 🙂

    I’ve never ever had beets!

  9. Still haven’t gotten a freebie product for review, but I promise I’ll be just as excited (if not more…) as you!

  10. Yay I was SO excited when I got my first product to review! I was like what free shiz? Yes Please.

    Those beets actually do look really yummy. I don’t think my hubbie would ever try them though even if they were yummy 😦

    • I really though my man was going to despise them, I literally almost fell over when they were the first thing gone on his plate and he was going back for more… so you just never know 🙂 Free shiz rocks, totally agreed!

  11. oh my gosh!! those beets look sooooo good. I am very impressed!

    p.s. I need to ask for one of those grill pans for Christmas. 🙂

    • Thanks girl 🙂 I actually was looking the pan up online after someone asked me what brand it was (Philippe Richard is the brand?) and they were pretty budget friendly — I was a bit surprised actually! I highly recommend one, I would have never known to buy this and I have my best friend to thank for knowing me so well and getting this for me 🙂

  12. ha ha! loved the title of your post! and i’ve never tried peanut butter and cheese, but maybe i’ll give it a go!! just found you, you are too cute. it will be fun to keep reading!

  13. Pingback: It Feels Like Fall « Savvy Eats

  14. If you enjoyed the yoga on ExerciseTV you should try the new Dallas Cowboys Workout series, it’s amazing!

  15. Pingback: Day two of cleanse – pure2raw

  16. Pingback: Recap of our Friday afternoon – pure2raw

  17. Pingback: ExerciseTV 3 DVD Giveaway!! « CookinFanatic

  18. Pingback: It Feels Like Fall — Savvy Eats

Leave a Reply

