Sweet potato of lurveeeee

 Whole Foods post-work was a success my bloggin’ friends!  I got a great stash for my trip this weekend…..

tripstash

I plan on packing oats & bananas as well so I can make sure I have a breakfast of champions! There may or may not be some wine drinking takin place so gotta fuel up 😉

I also picked up these beauties

basil

My previous basil plant has been lookin’ a lil, shall we say, lackluster (bad plant mommy 😦 ) so I decided it was time for a replacement…. sayonara sucker!

I also decided to splurge on a honeycrisp apple (or 2) after seeing them on Kristin’s post and drooling on my keyboard 😉

 And since it was beautiful 70 degrees and partly sunny out, I chose to partake in some of this on our back patio

wineapple

while watchin’ this crazy fool bark at squirrels 50 feet away up in a tree — ’cause that’s ever gonna happen Lu!

lucy

 Once The Man got home we set out to run some errands and the weirdest thing ever happened to us, I don’t quite know how to describe this situation hahaha but let’s just say it included an 80 year old lady, us being blocked into a Pier 1 parking lot and then said lady backing up at like 20 mph onto a curb — I’m talking a half cars length jacked up there…. yea, no words.

 

Why so dark :(

Why so dark 😦

After that minor incident it was time to head back home for dinner!  

Tonight I made a recipe I saw over at homegirl Lauren’s website that I knew I just HAD to try 🙂  Check out her awesome site for the ingredients!

SENSATIONAL STUFFED SPUDS!!

I had baked the sweet potatoes (400F for about 45 minutes) right after work while I was sittin’ on the porch w/ my wine (multi-tasking?) – and just left them in a baking dish covered while we were out errand running/bein’ run over by grannies (??)  and when we got back they were ready to go!

Here’s what you need for the topping (plus salt/pepper to taste)

ingred

Check out how super-fantastic this avocado was — it was at just the stage of ripeness perfection

Juicy

Juicy

Here’s how THAT turned out —- can you say absolutely ah-may-zingly gorgeous?!?!?!?
 
topping

Then I just heated up the ol’ oven to 375F and put the taters, topped with feta, back in for a few to warm up and heat cheese

tater

 Then top the sweet taters with the bean/avocado/tomato topping and voila!!

oh. em. gee.

oh. em. gee.

No words once again.  All I can say is this dish was FANTASTIC to the max.  Holy cow!

Lauren, you rock girlie, thanks for this fantabulous recipe that I hope others will get to try too — sooooo healthy, soooo good, ah yes 🙂

Well I have mountains of laundry to tackle before this weekend’s adventures, but I want to leave you friends with these last things tonight!

Gushy mushy moment of the century haha (praying the Man is not reading today, or any of his friends, sorry honey!)

Me emailing the man at work:  “How’s work? I am really missin’ you today for some cuuuurrraaazzzzzy reason ;)”

The Man back to me: “Now u know how I always feel!!!!!!”

Okay, I literally may have almost started crying right then and there from the sweetness…. yes, I may be a bit lame 😛

ANDDDDDD………

Check out this awesome pumpkin butter giveaway (sound familiar peeps?!) 

Not only could you win a jar of TJ’s finest, but the lovely Danica is giving away some other pumpkin goodies to go with, does she rock or what?!?!

Alright my lovelies…. see everyone tomorrow for perhaps a few more hints on this weekend’s adventures 😉 NIGHT!!

16 responses to “Sweet potato of lurveeeee

  1. foodieinthecity

    Wow, those spuds look unreal. I think I need to give those a whirl. Some of my favorite things all mixed together? Yes please!

    I haven’t tried Justin’s before, but have always eyed it up. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts 🙂

    • These things were awesome, I would def recommend them and they are so easy too! (The Man loved them as well, score!)

      I’m curious about the Justin’s too, I’ll keep ya “posted” — omg I am now resorting to corny blog humor hahaha.

      Have a great night girlie 🙂

  2. Ok now THAT looks like a good combo – wine & Honeycrisps! NICE! 😀

  3. Awesome trip to WFs! I LOVE Justin’s- especially the maple flavor. I have been looking for the whole jars forever (I don’t want to have to order offline!) Love the little basil plants from WFs too.

    Josh and I both enjoy stuffed tatoes except I use black beans,corn, and turkey (in his)

    • Oh thanks for the Justin’s info, I wasn’t sure what to expect!!! 🙂 Oh good call, black beans, corn and turkey would all go wonderfully in stuffed sweet taters…. Maybe some salsa on top too?!!??! Yum!

  4. I LOVE the wine and apple combo 🙂 That sweet potato recipe looks so good – I need to remember to try that.

    Thanks for the super sweet Pumpkin contest shoutout – good luck!

  5. I can’t wait to see what you think about Justin’s! My family thinks my addiction to nut butters is unhealthy….nah. 😉

    Those spuds look insanely delicious!! I can’t believe I didn’t like sweet potatoes until a couple of years ago?!!

    • Oh I am really excited about (1) the fact that it’s almond butter (never really had much of this *gasp!* and (2) there is a maple flavored one!!! My dad has always been a huge almond/nut/peanut butter fanatic… thought it was just hereditary but I’m thinkin’ otherwise 😉 they are just SO GOOD!!! 🙂

  6. Awwww that little mushy moment is cute! We used to be that way allll the time when we had to live apart 😦

  7. aw, how sweet 🙂

    those potatoes look great!

  8. oh, and I like the flavores justin’s better than the plain. I think because the plain almond butter doesn’t have any salt? I like salty almond butter 🙂 Still good, though!

  9. Your sweet potatoes look awesome. What a great recipe for the stuffing!!

    I have yet to try Justin’s almond butter but I hope you enjoy. I can’t wait to find out where you and the girls are headed. My guess is a winery- since you said wine may or may not be consumed! Guess I’ll have to wait and see.

    Also, I went to whole foods on Monday evening and bought a honeycrisp. It was $1.20 for one apple!! But, they are delicious so I guess it’s worth it. 🙂

  10. i’ve got to make this – so many of my favorite things! thanks for linking me the recipe. 🙂 it looks incredible!

Leave a Reply

