Tostada Cups it is!!!

So what did I decide for tonight’s dinner….?? Yep, you bloggies were on the right track again!

Tostada cups! 🙂

But first, quick gym recap.  I ended up doing 30 minutes on the elliptical (w/ arms) and chatting it up with my new homegirl  Tiffany.  It was a great workout – level 13 kicked my butt!

Nowwwwww onto the dinner 😉

The Man and I got home about the same time so we decided to do the cooking together, I love when he helps me! 

Here were the tostada cup ingredients

ingred 

  • wheat tortillas
  • refried beans
  • salsa
  • shredded cheese
  • sour cream
  • cooking spray

Just place the tortillas in a muffin pan (coat with cooking spray) and bake for about 8 minutes at 400F until mostly crispy to make the tostada shells… The Man made these beauties! 

shells

Then add the beans (I heated these up in a pot with some salsa stirred in before spooning in the shells, however this does not make for a picturesque snapshot haha)

step1

Salsa

step2

 Shredded cheese

step3

 Bake for another 7 minutes or so until cheese is melted and tortilla shells are crisp.….. and voila!!

shelldone

Insta-healthy-tostada cups!! 🙂  I could be in

I also made round #2 of the banana peppers w/ mexican cheese from last night…. told you I liked these guys!  Check out the vibrant colors on this beautimous pepper

 orangepepper

 Serve it up….

plate1

Add some sour cream

plate2

Get in my belly!!!  It was a pretty darn good dinner.  And from initial prep time to eating to clean up this only took about an hour – score!

Well kiddos, just as I wrote about in last night’s blog, I am really focusing on spending less time with technology this week (including the computer *gasp*!) so I am outta here…. sorry to keep it short but I have a hot date sitting next to me that I must devote my attention to 🙂   Thanks again to the lovely PBJenny for this fantastic Monday initiative!

I  know that you fabulous peeps understand!

I’ll leave you with this superfab dessert we just whipped up using these guys

topping

Melted in microwave for about 45 seconds to make topping….

desert

… yes please.

See ya’ll tomorrow for humpday!! And phew, this week is already a doozy so I am ready for it. No doubt 🙂

You guys rock, have a superfab night! 

14 responses to “Tostada Cups it is!!!

  1. foodieinthecity

    Tostada cups= genius idea!!! Those look fan-fricken-tastic! Mike would die and go to heaven.

    Your dessert looks nummy too! I can’t decide what I want for dessert, ohhh the choices.

    I should get off of the computer too. Must go read.. now!

    • They were pretty darn good, got the idea outta one of my mom’s cookbooks!! I also had a small hershey’s dark chocolate too haha 😉 bc I couldn’t decide either!

  2. I love the idea of tostada cups – they look terrific!

  3. These little guys are so cute! What a healthy twist on the tortilla shell!

  4. What an awesome idea! I still haven’t made those 🙂 Love the dessert.

  5. Ahhh – those tostado cups look amaze!! Did you come up with those or are those a real thing? (I don’t get out much). 🙂

    And dark chocolate spread, whaaaat?!

    • I actually found the idea in one of my mom’s magazines —- woman’s day or something of that sort?! Then just modified the filling how I wanted it! 🙂

  6. what a great dinner! I need to try making some tostada cups.

  7. Those look amazing! I love all the ingredients and am always looking for a new way to serve them. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

  8. What a fabulous idea! You just decided what’s on the dinner menu tonight! I’m so excited 🙂

  9. I made these, and they were fantastic! The boyfriend loved them as well 🙂

    I see that you plan out fabulous meals for the week (which what I should be doing right now!), but I was just curious where do you get all these yummy recipes?

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed them!!

      As far as meal planning, I have been reading cookbooks and watching foodtv for as long as I remember (outta control!) – so my inventory of recipes is probably insanely outta control (I keep a binder + in my memory) so that’s kind of my starting point. Then each week I try to keep track of things I see that I’d like to try (on blogs, magazines, books I may peruse through). I also try to pick recipes that will allow me to re-use similar ingredients (i.e. buy a bunch of chicken and use all week various ways) along with planning each recipe around how much time I think I’ll have after work each day (i.e. gym days are “fast cook” meal days.) Plus lately I have been seeing what is fresh at the farmers market to select veggies, add a protein I can use all week and then just planning from there. Hope that helps some – there’ no real science to it for me and I prob spend WAY too mcuh time thinking about it too :/ If you have any other questions I’d love to answer them too, so just let me know! 🙂

  10. Fun tostada cups! What a terrific idea!

Leave a Reply

