In lurve with roasted broccoli <3

So first things first, I am officially declaring that I should be banned from Target bc I have no self control every time I go in there….. bc I really need “Halloween themed” kitchen towels

towels

and a glittery light up pumpkin, right? 😉

punkin

Anywhoo, I did get some curtains for the dining room, a new rug, some gradual tan lotion (givin’ this a whirl since I am trying to stay outta the tanning bed!), new sweater, surprise for The Man and some halloween goodies.  Lucy Dog also got a new squirrel toy, she loves it already.  And by “loves it” I mean has tried to tear my hard earned $5.99 apart within 1 hour flat.  That dog 😉

So anways, today’s yoga pick was Yoga.Fitness.Plus. on Demand and it was as amazing as ever.  This homegirl really pushes me to the limit!! I adore this routine, and you can even check it out online if you want!

My homegirlz over at Pure2Raw did this yoga sesh today too, and I am so excited bc they really really liked it as well!!!!  You girls rock btw 🙂 You should go check ’em out… I am learning so much about raw food and health from these superfab ladies!

So after talking it over with The Man, we decided we would stay at the homestead tonight and therefore I needed to get some stuff for dinner — we are at the end of the food stash since shoppin’ is tomorrow!

Quick stop off at Tom Leonards changed that real quick.

Purchase:

  • fresh broccoli
  • acorn squash
  • chicken breasts (not an ounce of fat, these looked so fresh)

Plan:

  • roasted broccoli (been dying to try this after seeing it on Kristin’s site!)
  • roasted acorn squash with maple/br sugar/pumpkin pie spice/cinnamon
  • terryaki chicken (made up my own marinade)

First up – squash roastin!  Cut in half, scoop out seeds/pulp, pop in a 350F oven for 45 minutes.  I did this a few hours before dinner, they can sit covered on the counter til you need ’em 🙂

plainsquash

Then I added these guys and put them back in a 350F oven for 5-10 minutes to heat back up and meld all the flavors just before I was ready to serve

squashingred

  • brown sugar
  • maple syrup (sugar free was all I had)
  • pumpkin pie spice
  • cinnamon

And here’s what you get!

squashafter

 Is this dessert?  So good!

Onto the chicken, which I had marinated a few hours earlier in a mix of these guys

  • soy sauce
  • ginger
  • garlic
  • honey
  • apricot jam

Just cooked ’em stove top til done, then removed and let the sauce boil to thicken up almost to a glaze to serve on top.

chick

 

Last up, the broccoli.  Now I had heard that roasting broccoli almost completely alters the flavor, and that it was amazing.  So I thought, I’ll be the judge of this!

About an hour before cooking I put some chopped garlic in some EVOO so it could infuse the oil that I was planning to use for this dish (2 tblsp + 2 cloves)

oil

Then I just washed +dried the broc, chopped it up into large pieces, stirred it in a bowl with the garlic oil and some sea salt/black pepper.  Spread onto a baking pan and popped into a 425F oven for about 20 minutes – and check out the before and after!

brocbefore

Sweet nectar.

brocafter

Try this.  Try this NOW!!!

I am so serious guys.  I don’t know how to describe how awesome-tastic this makes the broccoli, but it is freaking amazing.  The Man got seconds.  Nuff said!  The roasting caramelizes the broc and gives it a flavor that I can’t even put in words how good it is!  Fo’ realz.

Okay, now that I’m done with that haha, All Together Now!

plate

Alright you fabulous bloggies, I’m outta here!  Gotta go cuddle up with my man in the living room with our new lit glittery pumpkin thing haha and perhaps a movie is on the agenda 🙂  See you tomorrow for a farmer’s market trip (pray for no rain!) and other Saturday shannanigans.

NIGHT! 🙂

8 responses to “In lurve with roasted broccoli <3

  1. It’s impossible for me to walk out of Target without at least $50 extras of stuff I didn’t intend to buy! Gah!

  2. ahhh Target- such a money hole! ….and I love it! What a great dinner you put together- yummy!

  3. I have a little Target problem myself!

    Yes, roasted broccoli is freakin’ awesome. I love it, especially with ketchup. I know that sounds weird but really, it is good.

    • my best friend (actually the one i visited last weekend) used to dip everything known to man in ketchup — including broccoli — and i had another roommate who poured ketchup on her salads… so let’s just say i am unphased by ketchup uses at this point in my life haha!!! 🙂

  4. I have a hard time with Target shopping too. I always seem to leave with more than what was on my list!!! I have yet to decorate my place for Halloween. I am a little slow on the whole decorating thing… :/ Yoga to the rescue for us both! 🙂 LOL. Before I went high raw – I used to LOVE Roasted Broccoli. I also loved with roasted with cauliflower and onions!

    • Target is the downfall of my budget – for real! I am holding out on mucho decorating til’ Christmas, I love those decorations way more! However The Man is really into pumpkins/Halloween/etc (I think we would have goblins/frankensteins/ghosts that scream at you throughout the house if he had his way hahaha) so I thought I’d try to get a bit festive! Roasted cauliflower… ahhhh yet another thing I need to try 🙂

  5. Good Heavens – what a MEAL!! This all looks sooooooo good!

    ps roasted cauli *might* be better than roasted broccoli. That’s saying a lot too, because I love brocc with all my heart and soul!

    • My boyfriend really likes cauliflower… I am going to have to try roasting this guy next! (the cauliflower, not the boyfriend obvi haha) — thanks for the tip !

Leave a Reply

