Roasting everything in sight?!

Hey bloggin’ friends!!

Thursday = happy girl 🙂  Bc tomorrow’s Friday!! 

Too bad it’s cold and rainy, but oh well, ain’t gonna let that spoil my mood 😉

So after much internal debate over tonight’s dinner, here’s what I came up with

  • Pumpkin gnocchi w/ balsamic cream sauce
  • Roasted farmer’s market green beans
  • Stuffed baked tomatoes

Why I was so undecided today I will never know, however this idea came to me on my dreary commute home!

First up was the stuffed baked tomatoes based on this recipe 

tomatoingred

  • 2 tomatoes, chop in half and scoop out pulp, save for filling
  • fresh basil
  • 2 tblsp bread crumbs
  • 2 tblsp parm cheese
  • 1 slice provolone (not pictured)
  • salt & black pepper

Fill tomato halves with a mixture of the ingredients except provolone (layer this on top)

tomato1

Bake in oven at 375F for 20 minutes.

tomato2

Voila!

Then it was onto the green beans, check out how beautiful these suckers were!

beans

Just coat them in a mixture of EVOO, sea salt & black pepper

beaningred

and bake at 425F for 10 minutes, and here you have it!

cookedbean

Lastly was the pumpkin gnocchi w/ balsamic cream sauce, using these guys and based on this recipe

gnocchi

  • pumpkin gnocchi (World Market purchase)
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
  • pinch nutmeg
  • black pepper/salt

sauceingred

I ended up cooking the sauce over low heat for about 20 minutes so that it thickened up (since I didn’t use heavy cream) and combining it with the cooked gnocchi.

cookedgnocchi

 All together now 🙂

plate

Final verdict peeps?

  • roasted green beans rocked my socks off – they were soooooooo good!! 
  • stuffed baked tomatoes were fabulous, kind of like a winterized caprese salad right!!
  • pumpkin gnocchi I didn’t love (sorry World Market) however the balsamic cream sauce was phenomenal, I would like to try it on some pasta and add some fresh sage, yum!

I love having “experiment” nights to use up what I have at home…. and this one was a success in my book 🙂   

Oh yea, and have you entered the Exercise TV 3 DVD contest yet peeps?!  If not, you have til 5pm tomorrow to get your entries in!!! 🙂

EXTV_id_rgb_TM_S 300x64

Alright, time to get ready for Grey’s Anatomy and snuggle up with The Man…. brrrr it’s chilly outside 😉

Any fun plans for the weekend bloggies?!  We are playing it low key again and hope to get some projects done around the house…. plus there is a chance that this lady may come home from VA Tech to visit (!!!)

sisters

… and if so, she has requested some yummy healthy eats 🙂  (Sis, if you are reading, which I know you are – come home and visit I miss you!)

And yes, I’m ready for my long hair back if you can’t tell 😉 (this pic was our Christmas cruise January of this year – so fun!)

Alright bloggerific peeps, I’m outta here, you better have a great night and I’ll see you for Friday and the GIVEAWAY WINNER announcement!!!

19 responses to “Roasting everything in sight?!

  1. It was cold and raining here too…hard to get out of bed. Both your sister and you are so beautiful!! Love the long hair…your dinner looked yummy!

    • Thanks so much! I am so ready for my long hair to be back, as much as I loved the short ‘do for a while, I missed it and it’s time! 🙂 Hope you have a warm, cozy and wonderful night cozied up out of this rainy, cold weather!!!

  2. That balsamic cream sauce sounds awesome. Never had anything like it- so unique. I’m sure, like you said, it would go great with some plain noodles and sage. I want to try it!
    You and your sister look SO much alike. Scary! I hope she comes home and that you get your visit :).

    • Thanks! I hope she does too, I miss that lil’ lady 🙂 Hard to believe we are over 7 years apart, but I love it! Let me know if you try the cream sauce, I’d love to hear how it turns out 🙂

  3. wowww that dinner looks 123812038 times better than the applebees salad and bluemoon beers i had tonight loll. your hair looks gorgeuos in that pic 🙂

    • yummm blue moon w/ an orange is prob one of my all time faves 🙂 i can’t wait til my hair grows back that long, as much as i’ve liked trying it short, i think i am just a long-haired lady at heart! thanks for the comment girl 🙂

  4. I wish I had your creativity in the kitchen! This girl can’t do a thang without a recipe. 😦 Maybe one day I’ll be a Rachel Ray!

    Your hair looks SO pretty in the pic!! I am growing mine out, too, although mine is curly and is taking for-ever. Maybe extensions for Christmas? LOL

  5. I would love to make those tomatoes! They look absolutely wonderful! I hated growing my hair out too!

    • It is taking forever! I have had it long all my life and decided to switch it up this spring… we see how long that lasted 😉 Let me know if you make the tomatoes, would love to hear how they turn out!

  6. You never cease to amaze me with your talent in the kitchen. You should be on the food network!!

    I do have fun plans this weekend, I start yoga teacher training in VA Beach!! Can’t wait!!

    • That is probably the best compliment I have ever gotten considering I have been watching foodtv & food network since I can remember (yes, I was THAT girl in 4th grade who came home to watch Great Chefs on Discovery – remember that show? who does that? haha ) Being on food network is pretty much my dream job…. *sigh* Thanks for making my day!

      Have a fabulous weekend!!! 🙂

  7. those tomatoes look fabulous! I love stuffed tomatoes or peppers, makes for such an easy meal and you can eat the WHOLE thing!

    happy friday!

  8. Aww bummer the pumpkin gnocchi didn’t work out! You win some, ya lose some I guess. At least those veggies look awesome 🙂

    • I had such high hopes for those gnocchi guys! I think they just tasted too salty/processed for my liking — however the cream sauce was awesome so I’ll have to give that whirl again 🙂

  9. can i please start a countdown till mexico 2010? i think so 🙂

    • yes! so ready to book this thing 🙂 can’t wait for all of us to be together and have a great time — soooo fun! mom is looking into it next week whoop whoop!

  10. Pingback: Christmas in October! « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

