When life gives you lemons, make pumpkin pancakes?

What is up with the constant rainy cold weather Richmond? Where is the sun, I haven’t seen it in days?! 

So once again I woke up to yet another cold morning, rain and clouds all around…. and more of the same for tomorrow 😦 This makes me sad.  However next week looks like sun and mid-60s… right in time for the work week grrr!!

But such is life, and it must go on.  So in lieu of heading to the farmer’s market and risking getting pneumonia (jk peeps) I decided to start my morning with some pumpkin pancakes 🙂

As the saying goes “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade pumpkin pancakes?” 😉

I scrounged up these guys from around the kitchen

ingred

Dry ingredients

  • 1 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 tblsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tblsp brown sugar

Wet ingredients

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/2 tblsp agave
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 tblsp veg oil

Mix wet and dry ingredients seperately, then combine and stir to blend.

Drop into a hot pan coated with cooking spray (I used 1/4 cup measurements) and cook til done, flipping half way through.

cooking

one

Serve with some maple syrup 🙂

plate

Ahhh now that’s what I call a good breakfast!  They were doughy and very thick/filling.  I loved the spices throughout and am really exited that I have 7 more leftover to eat today tomorrow 😉

Plans for today are to plan out some meals for next week, do some grocery shopping, errands with The Man (first Saturday he hasn’t had to work in for-ev-ah, so happy!) and do some things around the house.  Due to this yucky weather we will probably be staying around the homestead and keeping warm & dry! 

Alright bloggin’ peeps, I’m off to do some Elise Gulan Yoga.Fitness.Plus. on ExerciseTV — I think this yoga sesh will warm me from the inside out on this cold day! 🙂

Have a great Saturday and see you back soon!

10 responses to “When life gives you lemons, make pumpkin pancakes?

  1. Those pumpkin pancakes look good!!!

    • Katy Sullivan

      Hi Sharon

      Finally had a chance to check out your daughters blog. She is just wonderful. Beautiful too!
      Yes, those pumpkin pancakes look good.
      Hope to see you soon @ the Y:)

      Katy

  2. I say when life gives you anything, make pumpkin pancakes. My fave!

  3. It is cooold and rainy here, too. UGh! Makes you not want to do ANYTHING! I just bought beets at the market today too!

  4. The weather in Richmond is making me crazy- way too cold and wet for my taste.

    Great looking pumpkin pancakes lady. I think I might do some pumpkin baking this afternoon as well!

  5. that’s definitely how the saying should’ve gone. What would we do without pumpkin?! **shutters at the thought**

  6. Ahhh…I LOVE pumpkin pancakes!! Well, wait..is there anything pumpkin I DON’T like? LOL nope, there really isn’t!

  7. I love Elise Gulan!!!! Seriously I don’t know what I would do without ExerciseTV…and pumpkin pancakes!

Leave a Reply

