Picture Book White Chicken Chili!

Remember those picture flipbooks from when you were younger, that told a story using just pics?  Well, here goes “the story” of tonight’s White Chicken Chili! 

Hey, how’d that get in here 😉

wine

P.S. This Pinot Noir I picked up during our JMU girls reunion trip to the Warwick Winery in NY is freaking amazing.  I gotta find a way to get my hands on it down here from VA!!! 

Layer ingredients into slow cooker

step1

step2

step3

step4

step5

Dump chicken broth over top, set to medium (setting 4 on mine) and let it slow cook away for 2 hours

Remove chicken and shred (2 fork method – my new obsession?)

step6

Add back to slow cooker for another hour or so – I also removed some of the beans and smashed them with a spoon at this point…. Why you ask? To thicken up the soup, this does a perfect job!

step7

Bowl it up

step8

Top with diced tomatoes, shredded cheddar, hot sauce, crushed tortilla chips & sour cream (don’t forget this part, it makes the dish!)

step9

This recipe was awesome!!!! You can check it out here – and below are a few modifications I made as well  – along with the fact that the time it took was nowhere near as long as this recipe calls for (I think less than 3 hours total?) 🙂

  • 2 cans (15 oz. each) white beans (Great Northern)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can (4 oz.) diced green chilis
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano leaves
  • 1/2 tsp ground cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 to 1.25 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • black pepper

I adored this recipe!  Not to mention that The Man told me at least 3 times how good it was while he was eating it…. 🙂  Winner in my book.

So time to get ready for another week, Monday rolls around faster each time it feels like!  I had an absolutely fabulous weekend though, so no complaints here.

Tomorrow’s plans are to hang out with my homegirl Cindy and do a heart pumping cardio routine – esp bc we just finished up our exercise room today and it looks awesome!!!  Hope she isn’t too mad at me for ditchin’ her today for the food festival 😛

See ya’ll tomorrow for some Monday love!!

12 responses to “Picture Book White Chicken Chili!

  1. Wow, your dinner looks fantastic- creative and healthy, per usual. Always a good sign when the bf is a fan. 🙂

    I am convinced I need a slow cooker… you can make so many great things!

    • I found this thing in my cupboard literally last week (my mom had given it to me when my grandma passed away) and I have used it 3 times already!! I learned that this thing is different than a ceramic crockpot, which I think may be next on my list however they are pretty similar so still debating? Thanks for the wonderful comment too 🙂

  2. YUMMM!!! Okay, crockpots are my new best friend. Good thing I’m borrowing my mom’s – I’d starve! LOL not really, but it makes everything SO easy, right? I have to try WCC!

  3. Your chicken chili looks like it turned out perfectly- so exciting!

    Have fun working out with Cindy tomorrow. Having your own exercise room must be awesome! What kind of equipment do you have in it?

    • We just got the jigsaw thin mats to make the floor soft for yoga, pull up bar, weights and mainly just a set aside space to do workout videos (since I’m obsessed haha) and what not 🙂 I was so excited about the chili turning out well too, it would probably be really awesome without chicken too!!!

  4. I am lovin my crockpot these days, too. Leaving home at 7 in the morning only to return at 7 in the evening, it is a real life saver. I am thinking of making some white chicken chili next week in mine but haven’t quite decided yet.

  5. yumm girl, after drooling over all these delicious crockpot recipes, i’m 2 seconds away from getting my own! looks delish–the Man is one lucky guy to get these meals every night!

    • Thanks Kristen! I know he appreciates it 🙂 and then takes leftovers to work to brag to his work friends 😉 I love the slow cooker, I think I am slightly obsessed haha!

  6. foodieinthecity

    Wow. This soup looks so good girl! I’ve never made White Chicken Chili myself. I need to try this!

    I got a recipe for Chicken Wild Rice soup from my co-worker last week that I want to try soon. Got to love Minnesota wild rice 🙂

  7. I have a crockpot we got for the wedding and I have yet to break it out of the box! With the weather finally cooling down here I really should make some chilli!

  8. This looks SO good – I HEART chicken chili!

Leave a Reply

