FitBloggin 2010!!

I was so ecstatic today when I read Caitlin’s post about the FitBloggin 2010 conference in Baltimore!  I think I am pretty much sold and want to sign up, esp since I live in VA it would be so close 🙂  Here are some more details… 

Fit Bloggin’ is a conference for those that blog about fitness, wellness, good food, and a healthy lifestyle. It’s an opportunity to connect, learn, grow, and network.

image

Fit Bloggin’ will take place on March 20, 2010 in Baltimore (Caitlin will be speaking too!)

There are two “tracks” for the attendees, so you don’t have to listen to a panel that doesn’t apply to your goals or interests.    Panel options include: 

  • “Don’t write about junk science: How to critically evaluate research” OR “Blogs, Accessibility and SEO: Dispelling the Myths”
  • “Getting Noticed: How to Pitch to Traditional Media” OR “Wordpress from .com to Self Hosted: An in Depth look into one of the Most popular Blogging Softwares out there”
  • “Beyond the Blog: Publishing Books and Other Forms of Media” OR “Body Image and Blogging: What are we teaching our kids?”
  • “Using Social Media to Reach Goals: The Power of an Online Community” OR “Making Money From Your Blog: Should You? Could You? How?”

Everyone gets to attend sessions on yoga and strength training, as well as the keynote speaker (to be announced).    Plus – there’s a cocktail party and a fun run!  The complete detailed schedule for the conference is available here.   This conference is definitely aimed at bloggers, but readers would get a lot of out it too. 

I wanted to let you friends know about this since I think it would be a great opportunity to learn & meet up with bloggin’ buddies!! Would anyone else be interested in attending this?! 

Tickets are $75 on the early bird special, but that only lasts until SATURDAY.  You can register here.

Anywho, it would be really fab to meet some of you friends so I hope you consider it 🙂

Okay, now onto dinner!

I got home from work and got the soup started (it says to only cook for 20-30 minutes, I say the longer the better!).  Just mixed this guy

soupmix

with some water and brought to a boil.  Turned down the heat and let simmer while I yoga-fied…  Once that was ovah (phew Elise, you really mean business!) I finished off the soup by adding 1 cup half and half — recipe calls for 2 3/4 cups heavy cream, my thighs think otherwise 😉

soupstep2

If you want to check out the details, see this post peeps 🙂 

Steamin’ hot bowl of DELICIOUS – is served!

bowl

Guess it’s time to head back to World Market and stock up on this shizz since it may be gone once the fall season is over, and that would leave this lady <3-broken – for realz.

I also made some quick pumpkin bread melts to go alongside (who knew that pumpkin bread + swiss could be SO GOOD?!)  I got the loaf from the farmer’s market a while back, and just stored it in the freezer (lasts fo-evah!)

bread

On the topic of stocking up, guess I should add this to list for next time I’m at the market before the season is over, thank you freezer!

A salad also found it’s way into the meal – look familiar 😉

salad

We ate at the bar tonight, love a casual meal 🙂

meal

While in the midst of pouring a bit o’ this (which is really good btw)….

wine

….look what the UPS man delivered tonight which I am so excited about!!!!

box

… what is it?!  I’m keepin’ it a secret til tomorrow friends 😉 but don’t worry – you’ll find out soon enough!

Alright, time for some ice cream and google reader before watching some really thought-stimulating smart folk trashy TV aka The Hills 😛

See you friends tomorrow for humpday (and a peak at the UPS delivery!)

17 responses to “FitBloggin 2010!!

  1. foodieinthecity

    Why can I not live out East? All the fun happens out there!

    Your dinner looks great. I am having pumpkin in the form of ice cream tonight 🙂

  2. I had such a similar dinner tonight! Soup and Salad are the perfect rainy night meal.

    That pumpkin soup sounds awesome though. 🙂

    Enjoy the rest of your night.

  3. Hey girl! I think you would love the coconut vinegar!! Anyways we say people talking about FitBloggin on twitter and are thinking of attending. We would love to meet you and other bloggers : ) We will let you know!!

    • I am on the website checking out the coconut vinegar now… it may be ordered soon bc it just sounds so intriguing! That would be so great if ya’ll decide to come to the conference too, I would also love to meet up! Keep me posted 🙂 I think I may be booking the arrangements by end of this week – gahhh excited!

  4. You are going to have such a blast at fitbloggin! Very cool that you’re going to go. Talk about a Fall meal! I never would have thought to put swiss with pumpkin bread but…now I really want to give it a try!

  5. Gah, I so want to go to FitBloggin, but its the week before spring break 😦

  6. I realllly wish I could go to FitBloggin!! Alas, I will just live through you then. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what’s in the package!!

  7. that soup and pumpkin bread melt sounds so good!

    I’m thinking about going to FitBloggin, too. It wouldn’t be a horrible drive (about 6 hours), but I don’t know for sure yet.

    • That would be so great if you were able to go!!! I am going to take the train I think instead of dealing with I-95 stretch from Richmond through DC which stinks on a Friday afternoon (plus it’s dirt cheap, like $67 round trip), …. don’t know if that’s an option for you? 🙂

  8. I just came across your blog and really enjoy! I also wanna go to FitBloggin.. sounds like a lot of fun.. wish I lived closer!

    Look forward to stopping back and checking out whats in that big ol box!! 🙂

    • Hey hey! Glad you like the bloggie, I am so excited about FitBloggin’ – I’ve never been to a blogger conference before 🙂 I need to go check your site out too, thanks for stopping by and leaving a note!

  9. When I saw Caitlin post about this conference I thought it looked like a ton of fun! It’s so hard to tell what my financial situation will look like then, and I don’t have the discretionary $ now. Bummer…

  10. curried veggie soup?!?!?! sign me up!!! we should make that when i come back home 🙂

  11. when I read “pumpkin bread melts” I got really excited. Then I saw the picture and I got really hungry! Awesome looking pumpkin meal!

  12. Elise Gulan is amazing, love ExerciseTV!

Leave a Reply

