Set it. And forget it!

Well hello there bloggies!  How was everyone’s Sunday?  It was rainy and cold here but despite the weather I had a most fantastic day I must say 🙂

After my friends had to hit the road back to D.C., I got started on prepping the barbecue dinner! 

First up was a healthy modification on coleslaw, loosely based on this recipe.

coleslaw ingred

Here is an approximation of what went into the mix, I was eyeballin’ it

  • package of shredded cabbage (coleslaw mix)
  • 2 tblsp mayo
  • 1/2 container FF plain yogurt
  • 1 to 2 tblsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tblsp apple cidar vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • black pepper & salt

slaw

I made this earlier in the day so that by dinner time all the flavors had a chance to soak together and blend in le fridge… plus I hate really crunchy slaw and this softens it up some 🙂

Next it was time to start on the pork shoulder, which had already been coated in a rub by my peeps over at Whole Foods.   I just placed it in the crockpot with about 1/2 cup water, shut and locked the lid, stuck the probe into the meat and set for 160F.  Set it, and forget it! 🙂

Check out how super sweet this crockpot is, it gives you a reading of the internal meat temp as it cooks

crockpot1

And then automatically switches to “warm” mode once the internal temperature selected has been reached (which it checks via the probe)

crockpot2

Rocket science?  I think not 😉

While ol’ crockie was doing all my dirty work, I whipped up a quick lunch/brunch that hit the spot  🙂 

lunchingred

Veggie cheesy scrambled egg whites topped with salsa/plain yogurt + pumpkin butter toast, yum!

lunch

I also made a trip over to a new store, HomeGoods, that just opened in our area.  If you have never been to this place & you have one nearby – GO NOW!!  It is the cutest store ever (think Pier 1, World Market, TJ Maxx all rolled into one) and the prices are phenomenal! 

Here just a few of the goods (oooops!) excluding a Santa apron that will make its appearance later don’t u worry 😉

homegoods

I can’t wait to try these guys!

jellies

I was there for so long that The Man actually called me bc he was worried where I was haha…. another ooooops!

So back to the crockpot adventures 🙂

After about 3.5 hours ol’ crockie was dunzo

meat cooked in crockpot

Oh sweet Jesus.  I wish you friends could have smelled what I smelled (smell-o-vision Emeril style?) because it was just heavenly!

I removed the pork to get it ready for shreddin’

meatonplate

And got to it

meatslice

This was a workout in itself!

meatshred

The Man and I were grabbing bites as I did this, it was just tooooo good!

Then it was time to serve it up, using some of this recent World Market purchase (ummmm so did I mention I kinda like World Market 😉 haha )  $3.99 for this hugh jass jug, yes please!

sauce

Let’s just state for the record that this sauce is now by far one of my fave bbq sauces ev-ah, it beats my dear friend Sweet Baby Ray’s times 1000 (*gasp* I never thought I’d say that?!)

Plated up I made an open-faced sammie using some white toast…

First layer of meat and sauce

bbq

Then top with some coleslaw

bbq2

Overall verdict?! 

Holy crap.  I can’t believe I actually made this.  It was so good!

  • bbq meat was so tender and succulent, the crockpot is quickly going to become my new bff!
  • bbq sauce selection was incredible, love this stuff
  • coleslaw had an amazing flavor and not overloaded with dressing (hate that!)… it was lowfat in that it only contained about 2 tblsp mayo for the whole batch! 

The Man was very pleased too

jordan

Yep.  That would be Packers game day in this house…. sad for him that they lost though 😦 

But back to the food haha, he thought the meat was incredible (twss? haha) and he kept saying how good the coleslaw was!  This made me very happy bc (1) his bbq standards are uber-high thanks to their family friend who makes an amazing pork butt and (2) I wasn’t sure if I was gonna be able to sneak this low fat coleslaw version by him w/out any questions or complaints haha  😉 

Alright friends, time to get cozied up to watch dem Yankees lose and eat some leftover red velvet cupcakes! 

Gettin’ back on track tomorrow with a new work week (training week!) and some much needed exercise 🙂

Have a fantastic Sunday friends!

8 responses to “Set it. And forget it!

  1. NICE job with the dinner! I love cooking Josh’s meat up in the crockpot! Produces tons of leftovers and he says its super tasty. Hope training goes well 🙂

  2. Sorry I missed the call! I am still trying to finsh the dinner here…will tell you about the carmelized carrots with sage. Your dinner looked wonderful!

  3. as Guy Fieri would say — that pork is capital T tender! looks great miss chef!

  4. foodieinthecity

    Look at you go in that kitchen girl. Awesome job.

    The rhubarb berry jam looks pretty fabulous. I can’t wait to hear about that!

    I wish I had some leftover cupcakes. I went to the store today and was craving pumpkin pie. Can you believe they didn’t have it in the bakery OR frozen? Sad day.

  5. Everything looks good. You are such a chef! 🙂 I am a fan of homegoods and world market. Great places!

  6. Ok that looks soooo delicious and sounds super easy! Who needs a BBQ restaurant?!

  7. Woah. I am in the market for a new crock pot and will be definitely getting one with that handy internal temperature probe. What a genius idea! BBQ chicken or pork is so delicious especially when cooked in the crock pot and I love nothing more than to top it with coleslaw. You had me drooling reading this!

  8. Your crockpot sounds awesome. I really need one and everytime I read your blog I am reminded! Looks soooooo good!

Leave a Reply

