World Market soup strikes again!

Hey hey friends… well I have some bad news, as the work day progressed today I started to feel a lil’ under the weather 😦  By the time I got home my throat was sore and I felt like all the energy had been sucked outta me.  So needless to say, working out was not an option.  I am a bit stressed bc getting sick right now is just really not going to be workable, esp with my presentation mid-week and all.  Therefore I am laying low and hoping that some rest and vitamins will ward this thing off.

Minor rant, but it really makes me upset when I let myself take a few workout days off and I have a plan to get back on track and then something unexpected happens like not feeling well.  I have extreme exercise guilt 😦  I know it’s unhealthy and I should just be fortunate that I am healthy overall, and I am trying my best to cope with it, but wondered if anyone else experiences the same thing too?

Well, needless to say, guess it was fitting that I had planned on chicken soup tonight (self-fulfilling prophecy?).  I got home and got in my PJs and mustered up some energy to make this since I knew it wouldn’t be too much trouble and would feel so good on my sore throat.

I followed these directions for the Harvest Vegetable Soup, except cut down the EVOO to 1 tblsp.

directions

Gathered up the ingredients

ingred

And got to use my new cutting board from Home Goods too 🙂

chicken

Then it was time to get the soup a cookin’

Step 1 – saute chopped onion in 1 tblsp EVOO, season with salt & pepper

step1

Step 2 – add chopped chicken breast (1 large) and cook through

step2

Step 3 – add chicken broth, water and rice vegetable mix to pot (set aside pasta & soup base)

mix

and bring to a boil, then turn down and simmer, covered, for 30 minutes.

step4

After 30 minutes, add the pasta and let simmer another 10 minutes.  Then add the soup base as directed… and voila!
step5
Steaming hot bowl of delicious 🙂
steamy
My mini-bowl due to my sub-par appetite tonight :/
soup
I also made some cheddar, tomato & oregano spiced grilled cheese sammies in the Foreman to go alongside. 
 
sammie2

So did the Harvest Vegetable Chicken Soup live up to my expectations?!  YES SIR!!!  

Direct quote from The Man “At first look it looks like the package would just be for decoration but it tastes so good that you could totally give this as a gift”  Proud girlfriend…? 🙂

$3.99, easy, extremely deelish, and leftovers (like a ton) for later… looks like this may be the next item that I clear out from the World Market shelves haha 😉

Alright friends, I am sure you understand that I am outta here to get some rest and pray that I feel better tomorrow.  I hope all of you are having a wonderful start to the week, and not feeling under the weather like this lady!

See you tomorrow 🙂

8 responses to “World Market soup strikes again!

  1. Dinner looked great as usual! If you are feeling bad in the morning, go over to the CVS by you. They have a Minute Clinic (I think they call it that) and they can test for strep, flu, H1N1 among other things.

  2. I hope you feel better soon. Don’t stress over not working out… when you are sick sometimes the best thing to do is rest. Take it easy and drink lots of water. You will be better soon and I know you will get back into the swing of things in no time.

  3. foodieinthecity

    Feel better darling!!! Rest up and get some sleep.

    What a fabulous dinner though. You still managed to pull of a jaw dropping meal even when you are sick. You’re too good 🙂

  4. I love the look of these soup mixes you keep coming out with. Soup kind of intimidates me and this would take all the guess work out plus make it easy and quick to prepare. I know where your coming from on the exercise guilt. You just have to remember that you can ALWAYS get started again and if your feeling sick it really is better to just veg out and take it easy. Try and enjoy the break if you can. I also always find it’s kind of fun to start up again after maybe a week off because it’s re-energizing, if that makes sense.

    • Thanks for the sweet comment 🙂 These soup mixes are so impressive, I seriously have been so pleased with the way they keep turning out! If you have a World Market near you then you should def try them out.

      I love your take on the exercise thing too…. I need to enjoy this time off and have a “refreshed” start once I feel better again – “re-energizing”, love it! Thanks again girl 🙂

  5. Oh,no, girl!! Take care of yourself and I really hope you feel better. Sleep is the one thing that makes night/day difference when I’m sick or just starting to get sick. And LOTS of water! Feel better soon!

  6. oh no! I hope you feel better fast. I def get freaked out when I get sick but I try to remember its our bodies way of telling us we need to slowwww down.

  7. Glad you got some good soup, and I hope you’re feeling better today!

Leave a Reply

