Oooops forgot the EVOO!

Hello friends!  I am happy to report that I am feeling much better since seeing you last night 🙂  Phew… hoping it continues this way.

However, I still didn’t want to push it with the workout today considering I have to be in tip top shape for tomorrow’s presentation and didn’t want to chance anything!

So in lieu of a vigorous workout, I opted for taking Lucy Dog for a nice mile walk (and rehearsing my presentation while doing so – yes, I am sure I looked ridiculous talking to myself!) and then tried out the P90X “ab ripper X” afterwards.

Thoughts???  I loved the routine, it was intense 🙂  In fact, I loved it so much that I think I’m going to incorporate it into my workouts a few times per week!

Dinner tonight was simple & deelish.  45 minutes from start to finish – yes please 🙂

First on the menu was a london broil ($4.03 at TL’s & a lean cut of meat, deal.) that had been marinating overnight & all day in this mixture:

 marinade

marinadeingred

When I got started I realized that last night in my not-feeling-so-well haze that I totally forgot the olive oil oooops!  Well folks, guess what I learned?  You totally don’t need it!  All I did was drizzle 1tblsp veg oil on the steak while cooking, perfection.  I love unexpected lessons in the kitchen, especially when they totally healthify a dish 🙂

Grilled up on my fave cast iron grill 😉  bfffffffs!

meat

There were some side dishes using these guys as well:

sidedishingred

Simple roasted veggies

  • broccoli w/ 1 tblsp EVOO, 2 cloves minced garlic, salt & pepper
  • 2 roma tomatoes, quartered & salt/peppered
  • 1 onion, cut into large pieces

Coat pan with some cooking spray, then just let them happily roast away at 400F for about 20-25 minutes!

oven

And in no time you’ve got some sweet, caramelized veggies!

vegplate

I also made some basmati rice using the leftover chicken stock – this really kicks rice up to a whole ‘notha level peeps!

All together now 🙂

plate

Well friends, I have some presentation practicin’ to get to here… I am sure The Man can’t wait to listen to this 😉  I also have some intellectual television trashy teenage tv aka The Hills to watch and some google reader to get to… so gotta run!

Can’t wait to see everyone for hump day and have a lovely night!

13 responses to “Oooops forgot the EVOO!

  1. foodieinthecity

    Awesome dinner girl. But it always is with you 🙂

    I want to try wine when cooking rice. A la risotto. I wonder how that would taste? Or half wine, half chicken stock. Hmmm, I’m going to have to give it a whirl!

  2. Delicious looking dinner! I have tried the P90x ab ripper and was really impressed with the routine like you said. It’s intense!

  3. SO glad to hear you’re feeling better!! I hope it stays that way and good luck on the presentation tomorrow. Lovely din din! I am making Josh steak tomorrow- your marinade sounds yummy!

  4. Soooo glad you’re feelin’ better girl! Your veggies look amazing!

  5. Glad to hear you are feeling better!! Good luck with your presentation tomorrow.

  6. I’m glad you’re feeling better! and thanks for the note about the beans – I had never heard that before!

    • I know, how crazy right?! I had never heard of it either until I was searching for crockpot recipes in my spare time and stumbled across it — so unexpected!

  7. Your man is one lucky dude! I can’t believe you make a practically gourmet meal every single night!!

    I LOOOOOVE london broil. My mom makes a killer one.

    • Thanks girl!! 🙂 But seriously, nothing that I make is all that hard or time consuming – promises – I am the queen of “fake out” meals that look pretty & complicated but are truly no harder than an average recipe (I blame it on too much Rachel Ray and Sandra Lee watching over the years 😉 )

  8. Dinner looks delicious–glad you’re feeling better!

  9. I just bought some of that Mountain Fruit Spread – only I think mine is strawberry. Either way, its delicious!

Leave a Reply

