Why does it smell like Arby’s in our house?!

Hey friends!  Ahhh well I may as well just go ahead and say that this afternoon was just lovely 🙂 Getting out of training early was fantastic, and well deserved after this week-o-stress!

On my way home I hit up my one true love World Market (to my defense, I had a ‘spend $50 get $20 off’ coupon haha) to grab a few things, including more Spicy Pumpkin Soup & Harvest Vegetable Soup mixes.  Yes friends, these are just that good!

Check out this cute pasta I saw, so festive 🙂

pasta

Amongst other things, I picked up some sweet new bakeware (only $26 total!)

dishes

A few foodie items

w.marketfood

Spicy Apple Mustard w/ Ginger & Cinnamon?  Sold!

As well as a small wine rack & some mini-dessert spoons

w.marketstuff

Gahhh successful trip, per usual.  Sorry bank account 😦

When I got home I found that my fabulous, wonderful mother had secretly stopped by to leave me a surprise!!!!

package  packagegoods

What did I do to deserve this?!  Fall placemats, loaner slow cooker cookbooks (library o’Mom? ;)), more spicy pumpkin soup mix, TJs bruschetta and some fun lotions & soaps 🙂  Fabulous Friday indeed.  THANKS MOM, I ❤ U!!!!

Then I proceeded to make a quick snack using my new fave product, the Rhubarb & Berry jam, yummmm-O winner winner!

snack1  snack2

Look how thick and deelish this stuff is!

Well after all this shopping/food hoop-lah I called up The Man (kiss me through the phone?) to see if he was in a solid-food eating kinda mood yet.  Answer, yes!  However, stipulation being nothing too hard to chew….  So basically all things mushy haha 😛

So I decided what better time than now to try and make some BBQ baked beans, no? 

Since we have 9 quarts of bbq sauce (jk peeps, but that bottle o’ sauce is biggggg) and since beans qualify as “acceptable” in the mushy food category… hey, why not?!

I have never made them before, so I did some quick internet browsing before coming up with a modified recipe of my own — here were the starters

(note:  I used canned northern beans in lieu of dried beans)

beaningred

  • 2 cans Great Northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 green pepper, chopped small
  • 1 small onion, chopped small
  • 1/4 cup bbq sauce
  • 1/4 cup SF maple syrup
  • 1/3 of a 6oz. can of tomato paste
  • 1 tblsp Worcestershire
  • 1 tblsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • Salt
  • Black pepper

First I sauteed up the green pepper & onion in the EVOO over medium heat (+salt/pepper)

bean1

Then I added the beans

bean2

Then I mixed together the rest of the ingredients in a bowl to make the sauce.  Added it to the bean mixture along with 1/2 cup of water (+more pepper).  Turned this sucker down to medium-low and covered it.

bean3

I ended up letting it simmer for probably 2 hours, stirring occasionally.  You don’t have to let it go this long, but I am a firm believer (as ya’ll well know) that these types of things just get better with time!

About mid-way through I added these guys for an extra kick (just a bit of each) + a squirt of unpictured dijon mustard

extra

And here is how the final product turned out — IT WAS SOOOO GOOD!!!

bean4

I don’t know that canned baked beans will ever hit this lady’s mouth again…. who knew it was so cheap & easy to make your own?  Wow, so good (toot toot – the sound of moi tootin’ my own horn,, sorry had to do it 🙂  )

I also made up some zucchini & onions to go alongside

  • 2 small zucchini
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • salt
  • pepper
  • oregano
  • chicken broth

Saute up the onion and zucchini in EVOO over medium heat.  Add spices.  As they cook and the liquid dries up, add some chicken broth to pan to keep moist.  I ended up covering it towards the end so that they got “tender” enough for The Man to be able to chew (true love 😉 no?). 

zucchini

P.S. Why does it smell like Arby’s in our house?!  Must be that oregano/chicken broth combo… yum!

Of course sinced I am addicted to basmati rice these days, I made some more of this to go with using the chicken broth (such a difference!)

Here was dinner!  Meat free (except broth) which was much welcomed after what seemed like the week of red meat and indulgent boxed lunches….. 😉

plate

We have some movies to watch tonight and that’s about it on the agenda.  It’s going to get close to freezing here so perfect time to snuggle up and stay in if you ask me!  I also see some raspberry sherbert with my new “lil’ spoon” in my near future 😛

I hope all you friends have a superfab evening whatever you may be doing 🙂

7 responses to “Why does it smell like Arby’s in our house?!

  1. You’re welcome and I<3 u! and P.S. dinner looked delish!

  2. i love world market! it’s my meeting place for my friend skye and me …we just wander and try not to buy things.

  3. Aren’t moms just the best? What a nice surprise!
    I’ve never been to a World’s Market, but it looks like it’s best for my wallet that I don’t!

  4. Awwww that was sooo sweet of your mom!! Seems like she knows you pretty darn well lol.

    The beans look amazing! Something about homemade baked beans that just is comfort food in my book 🙂

  5. I just started my own health blog too!

    http:/wholeyfit.blogspot.com

    We should keep in touch!

  6. Those beans look SO so good!!! MMMmmm this girl loves her beans.

    Ummmm of course you have to spend that much at World Market if there is a coupon involved!!! I need to make a trip back. It’s been awhile. 🙂

  7. My mum sometimes does that – love coming back home and finding she’s left my favourite yoghurts in the fridge bless her!
    I love baked beans too and wanted to try making my own so I’ll give this a go 🙂

Leave a Reply

