Glumpkies! Say what?

Hello hello to all you Sunday lovin’ friends!  Did everyone have a great weekend so far?  I sure hope so 🙂

Now before I get into the dinner recipe… I just HAVE to tell you peeps a few things first!

(1)  This afternoon was “experiment in the kitchen day”!!!  I had some carrots to use up so I decided to make some carrotcake bread, fanatic style 😉  Here’s how it turned out (ummm only 100 cals per slice & no eggs/dairy!) — recipe to come tomorrow 🙂

carrotcake

(2) These Dr. Kracker Pumpkin Seed Cheddar crackers I bought yesterday are really fantastically awesome, so I wanted to share with you friends too!

box  cracker

I suggest that if you can find Doctor Kracker (where’s Waldo?) then you should try these guys asap.  Crunchy & so freaking flavorful – I’m not a huge cracker fan normally (they usually just scream “plain”!) but these are sooooo goooooood.  I love the bites of whole pumpkin seeds 😛

Okay, now onto the eats! Stuffed Cabbage (crockpot style) was on the menu tonight 🙂

Friends, before we get started, I have to tell you that this recipe holds a very special place in my heart. 

It is a recipe that I fondly remember my Nanny (my grandma, who passed when I was in high school) making for us on so many occasions.  Making these tonight will be the first time that I have had them since she died, so there was a strange feeling associated… I don’t know if that sounds weird, but kind of like she was there looking down on me proudly for carrying on the tradition 🙂  And get this, my Nanny made these the very night my Mom brought me home from the hospital after I was born, how cool is that?

And for all you Polish peeps out there, they are actually called “glumpkies”! 😉

Here were the ingredients I used – but note that there are so many modifications of this recipe, it’s just a use-what-ya got kinda thing!

ingred

  • 1 package ground chicken
  • 3/4 cup cooked rice
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • salt & black pepper
  • 1 6oz. can tomato paste (I had about 4 oz)
  • 3/4 cup white wine (VA winery whoop whoop!)
  • splash chicken broth

Note that you would normally use ground beef, however after the recent ground beef scare in states including VA, I was a lil’ heeby-jeebied to use the stuff quite yet :/

(1) Seperate & wash the cabbage leaves.  Boil until they become pliable (just a minute or so each).

(2) Create filling mixture by combining ground chicken, cooked rice, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, pepper, thyme.

(3) Create sauce by combining tomato paste, white wine & chicken broth.

Now let’s roll!!  (Such a nerd…)

Spread just a lil’ of the sauce on the bottom of the crockpot (just a thin layer friends) before you begin.

Fill each cabbage leaf (I think I made about 10 total) with the chicken mixture

cabbage1

 Rolling up securely to close and placing in crockpot as you finish each one

cabbage2

At this point all you do is dump the rest of the tomato sauce mixture over top to cover

cabbage3

And then (you know it’s coming)…. SET IT. AND FORGET IT!

8 hours on low while you carry on with your day. Does it get much easier than this, no?

And here’s how they turned out!

Opening the crock pot after that 8 hours of lurve

done

Served up (+1 more as seconds, I couldn’t resist!)

plate

And a cut into this tender parcel of goodness

cutroll

They were soooo tender and good!  I loved the big bites of cabbage throughout, mmmm hmmm Polish at heart – this girl 😉  They were different than Nanny’s with the addition of the cinnamon & nutmeg, but I really liked the combo!  Next time I think I will decrease the liquid (i.e. to just 1/3 cup of wine) so that the sauce is just a bit thicker and more “tomato-ier” but besides that — WINNER!

These were amazing 🙂  Such a perfect way to end a perfect weekend!

Alright friends, well we all know what’s coming tomorrow…. Monday.  But you know what, let’s keep our optimism and start the week out on the right foot – I challenge all of you 🙂 (myself included haha)

And now if you’ll excuse me, I think some of that carrotcake bread w/ cream cheese on top is calling my name…. gotta jet!

Have a great night friends 😛

14 responses to “Glumpkies! Say what?

  1. I was just looking for some new slow cooker recipes! The stuffed cabbage looks yummy – I will have to try it!

  2. sacred family recipes are so special 🙂 grandmas must have had a knack for stuffed cabbage ’cause I’m pretty sure that’s where my mom’s recipe came from too.

  3. Ahhhhhhhhhhh…food for the soul. They will taste even better tomorrow! Nanny called them “piggies” because the American-ized name is Pigs in a Blanket. I will have to give you the Lazy Piggie recipe too.
    Perogies next? I do have the family recipe for them.

  4. foodieinthecity

    Awww, I love that this recipe has great meaning to you. Must kind of be like what my grandma’s sugar cookie recipe is to me 🙂

    Enjoy your slice (or two, three, or even four) of cake!

  5. Carrotcake bread?? Yum! : ) And stuffed cabbage? Love it.

  6. 100cal carrotcake bread. ummm AMAZING!!! can’t wait for the recipe

  7. OMG THOSE LOOK ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! we should totally try to make them vegetarian so i can eat them?!

    had the mediterranean veggie sandwich from panera today (sans feta) and it was AMAZING!!!!! can’t believe i never tried it before 🙂

    so much for ‘trying’ to go to bed early last night. ended up getting woken up at 4 AM by my crazy friends who thought it would be funny to wake me up. needless to say i didnt find it funny! gaahhhh can’t wait to have my own room again! anyways, im going to be a stress mess all week..why is it that tests always fall on the same week? marketing, bit, and intermediate accounting in the next 4 days……. all i keep saying is I THINK I CAN!?!?! thomas the tank engine anyone? haha

    i love you and can not wait to see you soo soo soo soon!

    • I wonder if we could make them vegetarian? Maybe with lentils? I’m up for the challenge!

      As for the staying in, I def remember my fair share of nights that I was woken up by a few certain people after staying in and studying… so I def feel ya, it’s NOT easy! I know you are going to do awesome on those tests though, I am so proud of you!

      Can’t wait to see you either sista – it’s gonna be so great to have you home! You have to stay with us at least once?

  8. omg I can’t WAIT for the carrot cake bread recipe!!! I LOVE carrot cake…it’s a way to get those veggies in, ya know. 😉

  9. OW! I cannot wait for the carrot bread recipe. Looks fantastic. I have been wanting to try those crackers. What a wonderful dinner dish and love that it holds a special place in your heart. I’ve never had cooked cabbage but it looks fantastic.

  10. Ok I NEED that carrot bread recipe now! I have some carrots in the fridge and that looks fantastic!

    Love the piggies…I think I would dig the recipe but not sure if I could get the hubbie to eat cabbage :/

  11. Wow I really like the looks of these Glumpkies. It’s extra special that it’s a family recipe and then the fact that they look amazingly healthy and low carb to boot just puts them over the edge. I am getting so many great ideas tonight! Love it!

  12. Pingback: Nostalgia « CookinFanatic

Leave a Reply

