Epic FAIL!!

So friends, here’s what I learned today:

  1. if I plan on coming home early I will make sure to ALWAYS call The Man if he is home as well to ensure he is aware of my pending arrival
  2. my boyfriend is the sweetest man in the entire world

Here’s what I was supposed to walk into today after getting home at my usual 5:30ish hour

diningroom

But alas, we wrapped up our meetings early and I was home before that time.  Needless to say, I was greeted with The Man saying “what are you doing home already?!” — me thinking he was freaking bc the house wasn’t fully cleaned yet just brushed it off until he proceeds to tell me that he had flowers and rose petals to be picked up at 5pm and he was going to surprise me by leaving them all throughout the house….  

Heart. Drops. To. Floor. 😦

Surprise ruined.  Epic fail of preposterous proportions in my book.  I have never had anyone leave a trail of rose petals for me, and let’s just say I was a bit selfishly bummed (note that the pic above was an after the fact setup :/).  And I found out that instead of playing “the game” (as we shall call it) all of today, he was out looking for a way to surprise me since he knew that I got no sleep last night and woke up to a mess thanks to video game extravaganza 2009…..

Yes friends, he is the sweetest guy ever and yes friends, I ruined that one big time.  Sux.

So immediately after this experience I needed some calming Yoga and I needed it fast…. plans were for arms tonight but plans changed.  I went right to ExerciseTV and found a quick Yoga sesh with focus on cardio to do the trick… also did some much needed pushups in the spirit of “arms night”

Then I proceeded to mope around the house for a while feeling terrible about ruining the surprise….. go fig.

So what else to do than make dinner right?  Maybe a good “cook off” with the handy wok would cheer me up (who are we kidding friends… :()

Dinner tonight was based around my fave “use up what you got” concept — stir fry style.

Made up some homemade sauce using these guys

sauceingred

  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tsp (approx) chopped ginger
  • 1/16 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup SF apricot jam
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • red pepper flakes to taste

sauce

Then I prepped the veggies (crucial for stir fry success!)

vegplate

  • fresh green beans
  • 1/2 onion
  • 2 banana peppers
  • unseen frozen corn

Then it was serious wok-time!  I heated up 1 tblsp veg oil and got started on the veggies (remember, stir frequently so they don’t burn & stick, this sucker is H-O-TTTTT!)

sf1

Waited to add the corn towards the end

sf2

Once the veggies were done I removed them from the wok & added 3 chicken tenderloins, chopped & seasoned w/ some pepper…. cooked that up and then added the veggies back into the party!

Don’t forget the sauce too 🙂

sf3

I also made some of my fave basmati rice to go alongside.

Soon enough, dinner was served!

bowl

Not to toot my own horn (okay who are we kidding, it needed some tooting after tonight’s romance surprise disaster…. 😦 ) this stir fry was excellent!  I loved the sauce, whoop whoop to this meal 🙂

Alright friends, well looks like me, LucyDog and Kristin Cavalleri are hanging out solo tonight…. “the game” has once again consumed all semblence of a normal life. 

However I am off work tomorrow yay! and plan on hitting up a sweet CardioInterval class @ the gym + more crockpot action to come!

Have a lovely evening friends 🙂

9 responses to “Epic FAIL!!

  1. Awww…that was nice of him! Roses are always the best way to fix things : ) Ya yoga is always are go to when we are stressed.

  2. Aw, I’m sorry 😦 That is so sweet of him though, I am sure he will do it again sometime soon.

  3. Oh my goodness….sweetest bfriend EVER! Totally redeemed himself! 😉

  4. aw, how sweet!

    I hope you enjoy your day off today – I wish I was off 🙂

  5. Awwww girl! Don’t sweat it too much. It’s the thought that counts right?

    Boys will be boys. What video game is it? I hope it’s not World of Warcraft. My husband doesn’t play it (he is partail to NCAA football and Madden) but I have two friends that are OBSESSED. Like they chat online with other players and freakin talk about their wizards and who knows what else in W.O.W. lingo (yes they have an acronym). It’s obsurd! Just know you aren’t alone. My husband works from home and one day I came home a bit early and he was playing his video games. I’m like “seriously?” Is this what you do all day lol!

    Vent over 🙂

  6. Awwww, that does suck! But I am sure that another great surprise will come in the very near future :). He obviously knows what he is doing- I am sure he will plan something romantic/ beautiful again and catch you off guard!
    P.S. Sauce sounds great. I may be stealing your recipe.

  7. What a sweet guy! 🙂

  8. The yoga cardio workouts on ExerciseTV is awesome…I did one last week and totally felt it in my thighs and abs the next day!

  9. Im searching for sites related to this. Glad I found you. Thanks

Leave a Reply

