Steph vs. Crockpot Chicken

Well well friends…. here we are at the end of this rainy (in VA) day off work 🙂 still a day off work in my book, so I’ll take it!  I must start this off by saying that I think I am having one of “those weeks“….

Why you ask? 

Round 1:  Steph vs. Crockpot Chicken.

bird

Winner:  Chicken

Well, after about 3 lovely hours in the crockpot on low… I woke up from a quick snooze to a COLD CROCKPOT. Yes, that jerk had shut off and I have no idea how or why.  The power never flickered (according to the The Man who was also home) and the crockpot didn’t appear to be broken.  Needless to say I broke out into instant tears of disappointment since I had worked hard on prepping it and cleaning a chicken ain’t fun was extremely upset and felt like this was major fail #2 of the week 😦 considering me ruining the romantic surprise last night….

Round 2:  Steph vs. Crockpot Chicken

Winner:  Steph!!! 🙂

So what did The Man do?  He let me drown in my misery while he cleaned up the entire mess (didn’t know how long it had sat there not on so wasn’t going to risk food poisoning) AND THEN he took me to the store to buy a replacement chicken AND THEN he acted as sous chef and chopped up all the ingredients for round 2.

Really. Who is this guy?

This whole mishap made me think about how sometimes things happen that are really upsetting/frustrating & seem like a bigger deal than they are at the time (aka last night) but that sometimes those are the moments than can turn everything around.  What do I mean?  Basically I had the best time going to the store with The Man (Jordan @ grocery store = rarity) and we had such a fun time working on the meal together in the kitchen.  He made me feel better x1000 😛  To say that I LOVE HIMMMM is really an understatement friends (mushhhhyyyy)

If you’re curious about the chicken recipe, follow these lovely instructions (except I didn’t remove skin & I used dried rosemary) from a sensational blogsite recommended to me by a certain Iowa Lady 🙂

By this point it was already 3:30 so obvi the chicken couldn’t get done on low for 8 hours as planned unless we preferred to have din at midnight (no thanks).  So I cranked it up to high and planned for 4 hours.

After opening up the crockpot here’s what I found…

PB110622

It literally fell apart when I tried to remove it… OMG sooooo tender & falling off the bone!

donechick

Holy yum.  And the smell was heavenly as well 😉

I also had plans for some butternut squash, I’ve never used this veggie before *gasp* so I was excited to try it!

I found a Cooking Light recipe for Baked Rice with Butternut Squash & knew that would be the perfect accompaniment to the slow cooked chicken!  Here’s what ya need (plus the butternut duh! 😉 )

squashingred

Step 1:  Bake squash at 350F for 30 minutes while you watch Monday’s episode of How I Met Your Mother 🙂 

wholesquash

Once it’s done, remove from oven and crank oven up to 400F.  Let squash cool for a minute, then peel & chop into small cubes.

squashsliced

Step 2:  Saute chopped onion in EVOO for about 6 minutes over medium heat, add chopped garlic & saute another 2 minutes.

step1

While this is cooking, heat up chicken broth (I used stock) and water to a simmer (I omitted the sage bc I didn’t have any on hand)

Step 3:  Add rice and saute another minute or so. 

step2

Step 4:  Add warm chicken stock/water mixture, wine,salt, pepper, thyme (I used dried) and let cook over medium-high heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

step3

Step 5:  Put mixture into a baking dish coated with cooking spray.

step4

Bake at 400F for 30 minutes. 

casserole

Step 6:  Sprinkle with Parm cheese and bake another 5 minutes until cheese melts, and voila!

casserole2

Dinner served… perfect for this rainy day off if you ask me 🙂

plate

So what’d I learn from tonight’s meal?

  • Crockpot chicken is legit! … and for $4.73 we have enough chicken for a couple meals and the flavor is incredible (hello lemon + rosemary + garlic!)
  • Baked rice impromptu dish was seriously soooooooooo good – thank you Cooking Light for this fab idea, I think this will feed us for 3 meals (my wallet says thanks too 😉 )

Alright friends, off to go relax and do some more snugglin’ with The Man…. I just can’t seem to get enough of him this week!  Plus we have some cookies baking that are callin’ my name (Stephhhhhhhh eattttt meeeeee)…. 😛

I hope ya’ll enjoyed your Wednesdays and I’ll see everyone tomorrow!

6 responses to “Steph vs. Crockpot Chicken

  1. Oh, no!!! omg I totally would have been in tears! Especially after all that work. What a MAN! Seriously. 🙂

    That rice looks SO amazing!! I need to try butternut squash…

    Happy Thursday!!

  2. I really need to try that crockpot chicken! The whole chicken only cost $5?? That’s amazing! Was it hard to prep? It looks delicious!

    • It was deelish! I got a Tyson young chicken, so it was smaller than a whole (yes, I feel like a bad person for buying said “young chicken” poor lil’ baby, however he was tasty and I didn’t see the need for anything larger for the 2 of us :/)… the first time around was a learning experience so it took a bit longer to prep however the second time probably took 10 minutes. You have to remove a few nasties from the chicken cavity but it really is no biggie (and I am a really squeamish person with stuff like this so I am surprised this didn’t bother me?!) Then all you do is rub w/ salt & pepper, put some garlic cloves under the skin, plop in crockpot, top with more garlic, lemon slices & rosemary and voila! Set it, and forget it (and hopefully don’t have it turn off on you haha)

  3. I totally agree that at some moments the disaster seems bigger than it really it is. I always wake up the next morning and laugh at myself for getting so upset. But it is life, it happens. glad everything worked out ; )

  4. Yummy sounding chicken. I would have gotten so upset finding a totally ruined dinner in the crockpot! Good for you that your man was there to save the day. Your baked rice looks delectable too! I am scared to cook a squash that way but I guess I shouldn’t be seeing as it worked out well here!

  5. your dinner looks awesome will you come cook for me?? Oh wait there is a crazy flood going on and it is not safe to be on the roads!!!

Leave a Reply

