Best mashed potatoes EVER!!

Sunday sunday sunday night bluesssssss 😉 ??

Haha, jk folks, I had a fantastic day and am starting to feel better! Thnx for your sweet comments today too 🙂

So after I saw you last since I had started feeling a bit better (stubborn sick person) I decided to do some light yogaMaura Barclay YogaSculpt.  It actually really hit the spot though, I definitely didn’t feel as strong as normal but I felt good enough to complete the full session.

After yoga + shower, I figured I’d use my morning time wisely and prep some of the stuff for dinner since I knew by the time I got home from my afternoon events I wasn’t going to want to have to do a lotta work 🙂  Planning ahead is key!

I got started by making some mashed potatoes that I knew I wanted to put a twist on that would go nicely with dinner…. so here’s how it went down!

Peeled the potatoes

wholepotato

Boiled the potatoes until tender (about 15 minutes).

potatoboil

Then got ready for “mashing” the potatoes with an electric mixer, here were the add-ins.

potatoingred

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tblsp butter
  • 1/4 cup blue cheese dressing (surprise!)
  • salt & pepper

Here’s a great trick friends (thank my Mom, she is the master of mashed taters!), microwave your milk and butter until melted before adding into the potato mixture!  Blends so much better 🙂

milkbutter

Add the liquid in gradually as you mix on medium with the electric mixer, and after a few quick minutes you are dunzo!

potatomixer

I put this guy into a casserole dish & popped it into the fridge so it would be ready for tonight!!

My lunch today included my first experience with Oikos

oikos

The folks over @Stonyfield were kind enough to send over some fabulous coupons 🙂  This yogurt was really thick & yummy, I liked it alot!

After lunch I headed to The Jefferson to a makeup demo with my fave Fan homegirl Tammy.  It was superfun, I learned SO MUCH about makeup that I never knew and I am seeing a trip to MAC in my very near future 😉

Once I got home it was time for some dinner cookin’!  First off, if you’re wondering why I am making so much food it’s bc I am planning ahead for tomorrow’s dinner too. I’ll let you know why tomorrow!!

First I started by making some chicken wings, don’t ask but I was just really in the mood to make these even though I have never even tried to attempt them before haha… hey, I like to make my man happy, what can I say  😉

I got them ready for The Man to snack on while he was watchin’ the Packers game!

jordan

This was a cinch, $3 worth of good chicken from Tom Leonards (I got the quarters, so split into wing + leg parts), coated in 1 tblsp melted butter then dipped in a flour/salt/pepper/cayanne mixture.  Baked at 400F for about 30 minutes, flipping midway thru…

bakedwings

Don’t be scared of a bit of butter is what I have learned friends, seriously 2tblsp total in this recipe makes a world of difference!

Then got the sauce prepared with these guys (note that these are not exact measurements, I just dumped the stuff in a bowl so approximated)

wingsauce

  • 1/4 cup Frank’s
  • 1/8 cup chicken stock
  • 1/2 tblsp butter (melted)

Brushed the wings with the sauce and baked another 10 minutes at 375F-400F (I went back & forth btw temps)

wingbrush

And then they were ready for some bleu cheese dunkage!

wingsdone

Yes friends, not the healthiest but definitely healthier than eating them out!  The Man said “these smell like a restaurant, & taste even better!” 

Score! I think I won that football game of chicken wing lurve 😉  No?

Then I heatedup the taters, topping with breadcrumbs and baked up until warmed through (no lie, I microwaved first for 5 minutes before using a 350F oven to speed up the process)

taters

Ummm this is pretty crazy to say, but I think that these were some of the best mashed potatoes I’ve ever had!!!  I don’t know if it was the bleu cheese, or baking them for a bit to make kind of a crust w/ the bread crumbs or what but holy yum!!!!!!!!!!!

And thanks to my morning prep, they were a ready in no time….

I also made some barbecue chicken, remember this guy?

bbqsauce

I had let them marinate all day while I got my purty face on… put them in an oven safe dish, baked for about 25 minutes at 350F, covered/uncovered half/half

And voila!

chickdone

Dinner was rounded out with a salad, gotta get my veg on 😉

salad

  • Romaine
  • Cucumber
  • Tomato
  • Onion
  • Roasted red peppers
  • Black pepper/Oregano

One of our best Sunday dinners was served!! 🙂

saladbowl

plate

Happy happy girl 🙂

Alright friends, off to some googlereader to see what you lovelies were up to today, then sleep time 🙂  Tomorrow is going to be full of fun (aside from work haha) so stay tuned…..!

7 responses to “Best mashed potatoes EVER!!

  1. owwww! I love the idea of the breadcrumbs baked on top of the mashers- I bet that is awesome! I agree, planning ahead is so key. The makeup demo sounds like fun! I stink at makeup!

  2. blue cheese in the potatoes – sounds so good! i love rachel ray sadly haha

  3. The mashed potatoes look yummy! As well as the wings…and yes much healthier than eating out! And I am always thinking about food and planning ahead for the next meal ; )

  4. can’t wait to see the dinner tonight! those potatoes sound so good 🙂

  5. I hope you keep feeling better! And WOW those MPs look SO good!! I love the “crust” on top. I’ve never seen that but I’m sure I’d be a fan!

  6. Glad you’re feeling a bit better!

    Blue cheese mashed potatoes sound heavenly…holy yum. Although I do love some stinky cheese 🙂

  7. Those mashed potatoes sound incredible!

Leave a Reply

