Standby meal kinda night

I HAVE THE BEST BLOG FRIENDS EVER 🙂

I don’t think ya’ll know how much your supportive, positive words really lifted my spirits today.  Ya’ll are the best, and thank you so much for taking time out of your day to send me some positivity & help make my day better – it means the world to me and just goes to show how fabulous each one of you are!!!  So thanks again, from the bottom of this girl’s 🙂

After work today I gave exercise the ol’ boot once again… I need to feel fully better before I get back into the routine (I suck at waiting this out, but I keep telling myself I gotta do it).  I also made a stop at CVS for round 2 of meds, hopefully no crazy reaction this time :/

Dinner tonight was a planned pasta night, we had some chicken sausages that needed using! 

Nothing fancy friends, tonight had to be a “standby meal” kinda night after the past few days I have had…. it’s just what had to happen.

Starting lineup 😉

  • pasta
  • chicken sausages
  • frozen peppers and onions
  • 2 jalapenos
  • marinara sauce
  • wine
  • chicken stock
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt/pepper

Saute sliced chicken sausages in some cooking spray until browned, remove from pan.

Saute frozen pepper and onion mix in some cooking spray until done how you like.  I also added some garden fresh jalapenos that my homegirl at work hooked me up with 🙂 plus some red pepper flakes.

At this point, add some of your fave marinara sauce (we had a jar of TJ’s on hand to use up, but normally I would go with fire roasted tomatoes here) and a “splash” of your favorite wine.  I added some chicken stock too bc I had it on hand and wanted to make the sauce go farther!

Just let it simmer until the flavors blend! 

Upon a quick taste test I realized that it was mucho spicy… so know what I did?  Added a bit of sugar!  Works every time 😉

Boil up some whole wheat pasta and served with grated Italian cheese blend!

With my favorite salad on the side

Plus some yummy homemade vinagrette to go with

And voila, dinner is le served!!! 🙂

Perfect.

Alright friends, I need to spend some QT with The Man since we haven’t seen much of each other the past few days and since I’ve been a hot mess.  Plus, it’s HIS BIRTHDAY tomorrow!!!!  Stay tuned…. 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget to enter the Blogger Secret Ingredient contest with your best recipe using bleu cheese — I know ya’ll have some fab ideas so don’t hold out on me!!! And you don’t have to have your own blog to enter (hint hint)… 😉

6 responses to “Standby meal kinda night

  1. You still pull through with an amazing looking dinner even when you are under the weather. You are fabulous 🙂

    Happy early bday to your man! I love birthdays!

    I hope you feel better for his big day. I’m sure all of the positive energy and excitement about a special day will help. Get some rest dear!

  2. Happy early birthday to your Man!

  3. Way to make an awesome dinner despite feeling yucky. Get some rest- drink lots of fluids girl! And enjoy your time with your man- happy birthday to him!

  4. I hope you feel better very soon! Just relax and take it easy. Looks like you still managed to cook up a yummy meal!

  5. That’s an incredible looking meal for just being thrown together girl!

  6. savoringsarah

    MMMMMmmmmmmmm I ❤ peppers, onions & sausages. Perfecto!

Leave a Reply

