Cookin’ & dinin’ out all in 1 night!

Hey hey friends 🙂  Woah is it late, but we just wrapped up here with the birthday festivities and I must say it was a wonderful night!

And p.s., thanks for all the Birthday Wish shout outs to my manshizzle today! (yes, I call him that haha… don’t know why, it’s just how it is haha)

So after a long, itchy from allergic reaction to meds  meeting-filled day at work, I knew that right when I got home first up was making the sweet potato dish for the Turkey Day Buffet tomorrow…. let’s just say I had minimal time between getting off work, gathering birthday surprises and our 7:30 dinner plans to get this done so it had to be an easy one!

Hey, easy doesn’t mean not tasty, right?! 

I really threw this guy together fast, based loosely off this recipe:

Sweet Potato Casserole

….therefore these are approximations and not an exact science, sorry friends, I was in a hurry! 😦

Sweet taters

  • 1 can sweet potatoes (NOTE:  I normally would not go the canned sweet tater route bah, time constraints! – but I think ya’ll know me better than that 😉 )
  • 1 can pumpkin
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • slab of the new Icelandic buttah! (approx. 1/4 cup?), melted
  • pumpkin pie spice
  • cinnamon
  • salt

Topping

  • 1 small pack chopped pecans
  • few spoonfuls flour
  • few spoonfuls brown sugar (about twice flour)
  • another slab of the Icelandic dream, melted

This couldn’t have been easier – just mix the first set of ingredients together in a large bowl.  Transfer to a casserole dish.

Then mix together the topping, sprinkle on top (shocker)…

Throw in a 350F oven for 40 minutes, and voila!

Side dish for work is served 🙂

Yea, end product looks quite similar to start however trust me there are beautiful buttery bubbles around the edges and a lovely ‘crust’ has formed… plus the house smelled HEAVENLY.

After that was in the oven, I set up a lil’ birthday surprise for my hunk!  Chocolate torte and funny noise making secret mission birthday card (if you knew him you’d totally understand haha, trust me friends)

I also got him a few months of the “Beer of the Month Club” — so he’ll be receiving some cool new brews to try over the cold winter months…. yay!  And Modern Warfare 2 + night vision goggles, but that present came wayyyy early 🙂

Birthday dinner tonight was with The Man’s family and fittingly enough, we went to Maggiano’s for some Italian family style dining! 

Friends, sorry to disappoint, but this was one of those ‘picture taking woulda been tacky’ kinda situations in my book, so instead I scoured the internet and will report our meal back to you in no words 😉

  See full size image  See full size image

See full size image   

Dinner was deelish — and filling — very filling — which so appropriate leads me into this next lil’ section….

If you’ve noticed that my usual exercise routine is totally sucking  slacking this week, then you would be absolutely right.  Don’t worry, I’ve already apologized ot my body but I am still trying to get better from all this being sick / allergy confusion and am respecting my body in the meantime!

Expect to see the normal workout routine commence:  Tomorrow!!!  Is it sad that I am super excited for this? 🙂

Me + exercise = Happy me! 

For realz.

Alright friends, it’s really late and totally past my bedtime so I gotta run!  I hope everyone is having a great night and see you friends tomorrow 🙂

P.S. Don’t forget to enter the Blogger Secret Ingredient contest with your best recipe using bleu cheese — I know ya’ll have some fab ideas so don’t hold out on me!!! And you don’t have to have your own blog to enter (hint hint)…

12 responses to “Cookin’ & dinin’ out all in 1 night!

  1. GREAT job on the casserole- I know thats going to be loved by all today. Great gifts for the man. I was thinking about getting beer of the month for Josh for Christmas- what specific club did you purchase from- let me know!

  2. I agree with Erica. Let me know too which beer of the month club you went through 🙂

    Looks like a fabulous evening celebrating your man. And that chocolate torte… you are killing me girl.

    I hope you are feeling even more this morning!

  3. Kristie Lynn

    That beer of the month club is such a fab idea! My man would love that… but he’ll have to wait another year for me to get it for him, because I’ve already got this year’s gift all planned out 😛

  4. I wish I was one of your co-workers because that sweet potato pie looks delish! Glad you had fun with your man and his fam last night, Maggiano’s is a great choice! Good call with the Modern Warfare 2, my B.F. hasn’t been able to turn it off since he got it this week. They go nuts for that stuff, I looked at it myself and was actually pretty impressed, it looks like real life.

  5. Oh my word I love Maggiano’s!!! There’s one in Chicago and the food is insane…but you are right I usually need a forklift to get me outta there.

    Don’t worry about the workouts girl. You’ll be able to hit them even harder now that your body has had plenty of rest.

  6. Way to go getting your side dish ready so quickly. I’m totally impressed!

  7. I’ve never had Sweet Potato Casserole!! LOL I know….so deprived. It always scared me when I was little. 😉 But now I know I’d love it. I hope someone makes it on Thanksgiving for me! Yours looks SO GOOD!

    You are such a good GF! Hmmm I would love a Beer Club Membership, too. Maybe I’ll put that on my Christmas list?!

    LOVE Maggiano’s, too. Can’t go wrong!!

    • Oh you would definitely love the sweet potato casserole girl! It’s so funny you say that it scared you when you were little, bc my grandma used to make hers with pineapple and marshmallow and I refused to eat it for so long thinking it was so “icky” — then one time I decided to give it a whirl (someone prob made me haha) and I couldn’t get enough… it was crazy! Now it’s one of my fave nostalgic dishes to have, reminds me of holidays when everyone was still around 🙂

  8. savoringsarah

    Hi from your reader up in the arctic circle….NEVER have heard of maggiano’s?! I KNOW, SERIOUSLY! Do we have ANYTHING up here? Sheesh. But I spy some stuffed mushrooms that look ridiculously DELICIOUS! I love celebrating with a glorious dinner out!

    Uh, I too have totally let my gym routin go wayward…not really sure going to a public gym is a good idea with pinkeye?? Why I’m still at work everyday, I could not tell you. However I too am totally stoked to get back into it next week!

  9. Wow. Everything looks amazing.. so glad that everything worked out! 🙂 I agree me = exercise= happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

