Surprise week continues!!!

Well well well friends, how are we doin’ tonight?!  I finally feel like I’m getting back into the swing of things after this crazy out-of-wack week as I like to deem it…  And now tomorrow is Friday, perfect timing eh 😉

After work today I was so super-pumped to finally get in a serious sweat session — it’s felt like forever sheesh!  My main homegirl Jillian always knows how to make me feel the burn, shred shred shred (that’s 3 shreds for level 3!).  It felt amazing 🙂  Does anyone else have a reinforced excitement over working out after taking a few days off?  Refreshing isn’t it?

Then it was time to get back into the kitchen after what has felt like a sporadic cooking week… yet another thing that felt great! 

On the menu tonight was a dinner inspired by this week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient contest (remember friends, you have ’til Sunday night to get those entries in!! 🙂 )

Chicken breasts stuffed w/ Blue Cheese & Cranberries

  • 3 small chicken breasts, pounded flat
  • TJ’s blue cheese crumbles with cranberries
  • 1 egg
  • bread crumbs
  • salt & pepper
  • cooking spray
  • splash chicken stock (not pictured)

First I pounded out the chicken breasts til’ they were thin and flat, using saran wrap to guard the chicken from the mallet.

Then I layered some of the blue cheese w/ cranberry crumbles on one side of each piece of chicken.

Rolled up starting with the end with the cheese and secured with a toothpick.

Then dunked each roll up in the egg wash and coated in some bread crumb (each had been seasoned with salt & pepper).

Added them to a hot saucepan coated w/ cooking spray over medium heat and let them sit for a few minutes before flipping so that they got a nice “crust” on each side.

After a few minutes on each side, I added a splash of chicken stock to the pan and covered it until they were cooked through – lowering the temperature to medium-low and turning once or twice.  The extra liquid made sure they stayed moist & deelish 🙂

To go with I decided on some homemade oven fries using 3 sliced up russet potatoes, 2 tblsp olive oil, salt, pepper & 1/2 tsp cayenne.

After about 40 minutes in a 450F oven

And to bulk up the veggie factor I also went with some frozen corn 🙂

Dinner. Is. Served. 🙂

Check out the insides of this bad boy!

The dinner was awesome, I loved the chicken rollups whoop whoop!

Okay okay okay I can’t hold it in any longer!!! Around 4:30pm The Man informed me that he had a surprise for me and I proceeded to hassle him for the next 3 hours wanting to know soooo badly what it was…. of course he wouldn’t tell haha

CHECK THIS OUT!!!!!!!!!

Ummm yes, that would be the Wii Fit Plus along with not one, but two Jillian Michaels Exercise DVDs to go with it?!?!??!?!  Is this for real?!?!?!

OMG Best Boyfriend Ever Award 🙂 🙂 🙂 ?? Yes, nomination for this guy!

Prepare to see some of this friends in your near future friends!

Wait a minute, I totally almost forgot to share the Pineapple Pretzel Salad recipe amidst all this surprise madness! 😉

Now friends, this is no healthy treat, but absolutely fantastically tasty treat it most definitely is!!  And thanks to you-know-who for letting me share this wonderful recipe with everyone.

  • 3 cups crushed pretzels
  • 1 cup sugar (divided)
  • 1 stick butter (melted)
  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 8 oz Cool Whip
  • 1 can crushed pineapple
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch

Mix together pretzels, 1/2 cup sugar, and butter.  Press in bottom of 9×13 pan.  Beat together cream cheese, Cool Whip, and 1/2 cup of sugar.  Spread over pretzel layer.  Put pineapple and cornstarch in saucepan.  Boil for 1-2 minutes.  Pour over cream cheese layer.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

So there you have it friends!  It’s the holidays, splurge a lil’ 😛

Alright, time for Grey’s Anatomy and Real Housewives of the OC in front of our newly working gas log fireplace (thanks to The Man’s dad for that!)

See you friends for FRIDAY!!!!!

16 responses to “Surprise week continues!!!

  1. the combo of blue cheese and crans is redic — I adore!

  2. AHHH greys! im so obsessedddd still hahaha

    cant decide if i should leave tomorrow or saturday AM now…. my lack of motivation today deterred me from packing.whoops. anywho i will see you soon !

    • I would say drive home during the day when you are more rested…. so if that means Saturday then do it then! We are doing J’s bday dinner on Sunday too btw 🙂 When are we doing a sista veggie cookin smackdown?! Tuesday night maybe? Also, let’s hit up some exercise classes too!

      • ok totally replying superfast but i want to wait until saturday but i realized that i told jason eure that i woudl take him home! sooo we’ll see what happens with that. i definitely won’t be driving at night fo sho

        veggie cookin anytime next week! im always down for that you know it! and i will be hitting up the gym every day (hopefully) seeing as though i have worked out once in a month….by working out i mean speed walking an hour beside cows, sheep, horses, and other farm animals. ❤ blacksburg eh?

  3. Kristie Lynn

    K, I am drooling over those oven fries. I need to make myself some stat!

    Have you tried making carrot fries? They are aaaaaamazing 😀

    • My friend made those on her blog a few weeks back and I was so intrigued, but I haven’t tried them yet?!?! I need to do them one night for sure, maybe one where the man isn’t around bc carrots make teeth itch… how strange is that right??

  4. Okay, this recipe sounds amazing! Only, I would probably sub out the chicken for squash or tofu, but it has to be just as good!

    And the Pineapple Pretzel Salad?!? Wow, truly a treat. 🙂

    Hope you are well. Thanks for your sweet comments. 😉

  5. Cannot wait to see how you like the Wii Fit Plus. And yay for Greys!!

  6. Wow that Wii game looks awesome! Just your thing! Even though I don’t like blue cheese your chicken had me drooling, the “crust” and the creamy center? yummm! Happy Friday!

  7. what an awesome surprise! I’ve played on the Wii fit, but not with those DVDs- it’s fun!

  8. Just copied and pasted this recipe! Thank you! haha our family calls things like that “salads,” too – makes us feel a tad better I guess? 😉

  9. Cant wait to read about your experience with the Jillian Michaels DVDs – what a great surprise!!

  10. You got a present on the man’s birthday lol??? He’s a keeper! Even if he is packer fan 🙂

  11. Yum, your chicken looks so good! I think I have actually had a similar pretzel dessert except the one I had was with some sort of jello/strawberry mix…salty, sweet and creamy – I. die. 😉

  12. I love Jillian!!! Since it’s cyber monday there is a bunch of Jillian workouts and other things on sale at ExerciseTV.tv…check it out!

Leave a Reply

