2 Day Work Week!

Ahh Monday, today may be the first time in a long time that we are actually friends 😉  Why?  Because I only have a 2 day work week this week whoop whoop!

How you like ‘dem apples rainy, cold Monday morning?! 😛

So today started out with my new obsession:  Banana & Cream Cheese oats.  What can I say, when I find something I like I eat it over and over again stick with it haha.

I also decided to make The Man a batch of these vs. his regularly scheduled peanut butter & banana oats.  I didn’t clue him in on the change & had him take a guess the new ingredient

I just got an email saying “Was the new ingredient Oikos!!!” — music to my sweet ears eyes…. I can’t believe he just used the word “Oikos” — I felt like such a proud foodie right then and there!!  And by the excitement in his email “voice” I think the oats were a hit…. 🙂

Speaking of Oikos, look who ran into each other this morning…

Yea, that gets a major holy yum in my book!  And yea, Jenna, you pretty much rock for sending me this addicting delicious peanut butter from food heaven 🙂

Lunch today included some leftovers from last night’s birthday dinner, A-Okay with this girl 🙂

Mac n’ Cheese w/ Bacon + Onions

Caesar Salad topped with BBQ

If you’ve never put barbecue on top of Caesar salad, I highly suggest you try it.  I’ve done this many times before (used to buy bagged lite Caesar kits & premade shredded chicken BBQ and make a dinner out of it all the time in my younger years) and it never ceases to be fantastic!  Something about the hot bbq with sauce on the cold salad w/ dressing that just tickles my taste buds 😉

I was literally about to leave work and drive to my Mom’s house to hug her and thank her for the most delicious lunch ever!  Day 1 as dinner was amazing…. Day 2 as lunch was even more amazing… wow.

Now onto the BSI winner… featuring bleu cheese!  Thanks everyone for participating, but I must say that the responses were low so I don’t have much to post 😦  Guess it was either time of year (i.e. so much holiday cooking going on) or bad ingredient choice (yea, that’s to you all you bleu cheese haters! 😉 ) but ah well.  You win some you lose some…. 

…. speaking of winners, how about the definite winner of this show! 

Biz’s Pear Blue Cheese Soup with Pancetta and Pesto Bread Crostini

PB180032

Wow.  I am speechless over this one friends.  It sounds AMAZING! 🙂

Thanks for the fabulous entry Biz, send me your address (smlane1369@yahoo.com) so I can get your prize in the mail!

For next week’s Blogger Secret Ingredient head over to my homegirl’s website at The Balance Broad 🙂  Thanks girl for taking the torch for another week of great food!

Well this week should be a good one…. here’s how the agenda is shaping up!

  • Monday:          ExerciseTV workout
                                Relaxation & TV after a busy weekend!
  • Tuesday:         Thanksgiving dinner food shopping (with the rest of the world)
                                Cooking dinner & girl’s night with the lil’ sister 🙂
  • Wednesday:    Cardio3 class @ gym with small blonde lady (lil’ sis)
                                Holiday cooking day 1:  Apple Cranberry Relish (ala Whole
                                Foods demo recipe + teaching the sis!) 
  • Thursday:       Holiday cooking day 2:  Homemade Hazelnut, Sage &  
                                Mushroom Stuffing

                                Thanksgiving extravaganza with the fam! 
  • Friday:             Kickboxing class @ gym and shopping!

My kinda week friends 🙂

Now I want to hear about yours!  Specifically, is there a new recipe that any of you will be trying for the Thanksgiving holiday this year?  We are trying the apple & cranberry relish that was made during last week’s Whole Foods cooking demo and I am excited because it was deelish! 🙂

Alright friends, I am off to tackle the rest of this workday and you know I’ll see you back tonight for some Monday night fun 🙂  Have a wonderful day however you may be spending it!

18 responses to “2 Day Work Week!

  1. YAA 2 day work week myself! Every week should be like this. lol 🙂

  2. I am making these cookies:

    http://iowagirleats.com/2009/10/28/pumpkin-spice-whoopie-pies/

    Need I say more??!! Mmmm hmmmmm. That apple/cranberry relish sounds delish. Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  3. I thought you would love that peanut butter!!! So glad that you do 🙂

    • Ummm girl like is an understatement… I am currently rationing it out to The Man and I in small portions only so we don’t go through it too fast and can enjoy it for as long as possible hahaha 😛

  4. BBQ on top of a ceasar salad sounds sooo awesome! Hope you have a great night of R&R.

  5. Yeah! Thanks for the win. Seriously, I hope people try this unusual soup – I brought it to my co-worker, she called me up and said “I would eat that for breakfast, lunch and dinner for the rest of my life!”

    I’ll send you an email – thanks again for hosting this week! 😀

  6. Yeah for 2 day work week… as you know we took the whole week off .I guess that is the joy of being your own boss 😉 Though we plan on working everyday while home 😦 Got lots of projects we want to do soon. I am happy to hear that you are going to see New Moon… yeah!!! I plan to see it again with my mom. Obsessed… yeah 😉

  7. I actually only had a one day “work week” this week (work for me being escuela) but even that was too much for me so I’m opting to take the day off. Am I awful or what?! 😉 ah well, ’tis the holidays!

  8. yayyy last night was super fun. im obsessed with fondue- but at least i got to work off some of that extra desert at teh Y tonight! i would get the only tredmill with a broken tv too- just my luck! anywho, cant wait for tomorrow night 🙂 mom and i are going to mimi’s cafe and seeing new moon- boy do i love being home…can i just stay here for forever? i kinda want to move into those town home/condo things that are 4 stories with an elevator!! have you been inside one yet? they are insane !

    • Get ready for some awesome Cardio class wednesday at the Y too, yay! I can’t wait for you to come over tomorrow night… dinner will hopefully be super deelish 🙂 I can’t believe those condo things either… crazy?! Apparently mom is V.I.P. too haha…. I’ll call you tomorrow to see what time you are heading over, etc!

  9. Your left over Mac and Cheese looks scrumptious, there is something about real homemade mac and cheese that just gets me every time! Yey for having a short week! I gotta get going on my baking and shopping tomorrow so that I am ready to roll on Thursday morning. Ahhh so much to do!

  10. Pingback: Weigh-In Monday and BSI – Win! « Biggest Diabetic Loser

  11. I look forward to the P90X reveal. My hubby has been wanting to get it.

    • I would encourage him to do so, my man loves it so far and let’s just say I am pretty happy with it too!! 🙂 I was so bummed that I didn’t get to post the pics at 30 days, however seeing the full 90 will be that much better right?!

  12. Now that it’s cyber monday check out the awesome deals at ExerciseTV.tv!!!

Leave a Reply

