What a morning! :)

What up friends!!  Is everyone having a fantastic morning so far?!

I sure am, woke up feeling refreshed and was ready for some serious cardio action… lil’ sis and I headed to the gym for an hour of Cardio3 class 🙂  Peeps, this was no joke today, we were beat by the time it was over WOW!!!  Bring on the pumpkin pie 😉

Afterwards we came home to put together the Cranberry Apple Relish, a recipe that I learned at our previous Whole Foods cooking demo!

  • dried cranberries (about 1.5 packages)
  • granny smith apples (about 1.5 chopped)
  • onion (about 1/4 cup chopped)
  • orange juice (about 2 cups)
  • butter (1 tblsp, I used Icelandic!)
  • cinnamon (few sprinkles)

Before we had left for exercise class I had prepped the dried cranberries by reconstituting them in some orange juice, just enough to cover.

 

By the time we got back they were nice & plump!  Upon a quick taste test ;), we decided that orange and cranberry is really a match made in heaven!

Next steps included these guys

We sauteed up the onion in some butter first, just until translucent (medium heat).

At this point we added the apples and cooked until they started to get soft.

Then it was time to seperate the cranberry / OJ mixture using a sieve (make sure to save the OJ!)

and added the cranberries to the pan.  We let this cook up for a few minutes, sprinkling in some cinnamon as well!

At this point we added the orange juice that had been set aside and turned the heat down to med-low, letting it simmer until it was thick and most of the liquid had evaporated.

THIS STUFF IS AMAZING!!!  Lil’ sis was hesitant at first at how the various flavors would combine (fruit + onion can seem kinda odd I agree) but holy crap we were both “taste testing” as this all went down bc we couldn’t stop eating it!!! 🙂

Turkey Day Dish 1:  Success!

Next we made up a quick lunch, we were starving!  Keeping with the cranberry & apple theme we had a salad with romaine, cucumbers, granny smith apples, craisins & onions

And leftover spicy pumpkin soup of course!

Perfect lunch after a perfect morning 🙂

Alright friends, gotta run, we are headed out for some World Market adventures and the such… be back later for some potential homemade stuffing cooking and surprise dinner!!

Have a fantastic day friends 🙂

6 responses to “What a morning! :)

  1. Surprise?!?!?!? But I wanna know whats for dinner 😦 And is that bread your eating for lunch the same bread you told me i could NOT eat cuz it was for turkey day!!!!!! awwww you fibber, im telling.

    • HELLO HONEY!!! I’m thinking bruschetta chicken pasta + salad for dinner if that sounds good to you? And no, this bread is actually the leftover frozen Cheesecake Factory bread that needed using – so booyah – take that! I love youuuuuu, hurry up and get home already sheesh! We jsut did some damage at World Market + Homegoods… I should be banned from those places I tell ya

  2. Can I come and hang out with you girls? It looks like you are having so much fun!

  3. That looks delicious! I didn’t know Whole Foods has cooking demos – I’m definitely going to have to check it out. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  4. Loving your chutney recipe. My Mom makes an apple chutney that is baked over brie and let’s just say I am sad that I am missing out on it this year! I never thought of “reconstituting” dried cranberries either, brilliant! Yum Yum Yum I can’t wait to see your whole feast tomorrow!

  5. What two lovely cooks you are!! 🙂 Chutney looks amazing. Love cranberries and apples!!

Leave a Reply

