Mimosas in the afternoon!

Hello friends!  I hope all of you are having as lovely of a Thanksgiving as I have had 🙂  A day filled with family fun and delicious food, life is GOOD.

So after a morning full o’ stuffing cooking fun I got all ready to head to my parents house with Miss Priss Lucy Dog! (sportin’ my new scarf from World Market!)

The afternoon started out a lil’ something like this 😉

 

Nothin’ like seeing your Senior Vice President in Food Lion while carrying a bottle of champagne at 2pm in the afternoon, right haha?!  😛  Luckily he’s a pretty cool dude, so it was all good 😉

It was an absolutely gorgeous day here in the ol’ RIC…. I’m talking short sleeve weather peeps… couldn’t have asked for better!  Spent some more time with this lil’ lady

And we took a family walk around the neighborhood with this Priss 😉

Luckily since Mom & I think alike, we had prepped basically all the food ahead of time and got to enjoy a leisurely afternoon watching girly movies with lil’ sis and just hangin out…. poor Dad is so outnumbered!  Love you Dad 🙂

Turkey was in the oven roastin’

All we had to do was make some homemade gravy with the juices

Hazelnut, Sage & Mushroom Stuffing was prepped and ready from earlier this morning 🙂 and just needed a reheat in the oven.

Cranberry Apple Relish had been prepared the day before with the lil’ sis too, easy peasy!

And don’t forget my Nanny’s Sweet Potato & Pineapple Casserole which Mom had made up the night before!  Remember when I made mini-versions of this a few weeks back?

Before

After!

Pineapple + fresh mashed sweet potato + big marshies = happiness!

Plus a festive salad featuring apples, cucumbers, onions and dried cranberries dressed with Raspberry Walnut vinaigrette.

Here was the table set up, complete with some Malbec for sipping of course 😛  (thanks Laura & Robbie, this vino was perfect!)

And my plate o’ Turkey day lurve of course! 

I really enjoyed the dark meat on the turkey this year (yea this girl will never be a vegetarian fo’ sure), Mom cooked it perfectlyyyy.  Everything else was also superbly deelish and nothing was too indulgent so I felt great after dinner!!  No turkey day bloat here friends 🙂

Of course there was pumpkin pie later too, however sorry but my mouth beat my camera to it!

The Man spent the day with his family and check out their Turkey Day feast!

Get this, they had pineapple stuffing in the mix, I have never even heard of such a thing but my curiousity hat is definitely on!

Alright friends, I am back at home with my man and my pup and ready to enjoy a movie in front of the fire and some more wine (bc that’s what I need haha)….

HAPPY THANKSGIVING! 🙂

9 responses to “Mimosas in the afternoon!

  1. Can we have a repeat tomorrow:)

  2. Kristie Lynn

    Nothing wrong with mimosas in the afternoon… but just so you know, you can’t order alcohol in airport restaurants until after 12pm. Not that I would know because I tried to order some earlier than that or anything… 😉

  3. You look adorable! I love the scarf. Glad you’re having such a nice day. All the food looks like perfection- especially the salad- love the cranberry add in! Happy turkey day

  4. Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving with your family : )

  5. Love the scarf! I got one from WM, too – purple…my fave. That store has anything and everything!!

    I want to try the SP and Pineapple casserole!! Anything with pineapple = winner winner chicken dinner, in my book!

    Hope you had a great Turkey Day!

  6. ive never had sweet potatoes and pineapple! that looks so great!

  7. I love your scarf … lookin’ good! 😉

    (The food sounds great too!)

  8. girrrrrl, I thought my aunties stuffing with raisins was fancy — but pineapple? that’s legit!

    that scarf is really feeding my addiction – I love! where’d you buy that gem?

  9. Looks like you had a fabulous Thanksgiving day meal! I raelly like your sweet potato casserole with the BIG marshmallows. I usually see it with little ones and the big ones just make such a statement in my opinion. You look gorgeous too!

Leave a Reply

