Coconut Pumpkin Soup!

Ahhh Sundays… you tease me so!  I get to enjoy all the joy you have to offer, yet always remember that I must go back to work for a full week *gasp!* tomorrow 😛

You win some you lose some as they say, right friends?

Well today was a definite win in my book!  We spent the day working around the house and the weather was amazing here, almost 70 degrees?!  The Christmas tree is lookin’ mighty fine too, however not yet ready for the “big reveal”… soon friends, soon 😉

Onto tonight’s dinner, featuring:

Coconut Pumpkin Soup!

This is a recipe that I got from one of my mom’s magazines however ya’ll know my style and I made some changes before even starting + as I went along (per usual 😉 )

Starting players:

  • 2 carrots, peeled & chopped
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tblsp olive oil
  • 1 15 oz. can pumpkin
  • 1 14 oz. can light coconut milk
  • 1 14 oz. can vegetable broth
  • 2 tblsp brown sugar
  • 1 fresh jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger, minced
  • parsley to garnish

First I finely chopped the onion, green pepper and carrot.

Then I sauteed these guys in olive oil over medium heat for a few minutes until tender.  I ended up adding 1 clove minced garlic towards the end (yea yea yea 😉 )

Meanwhile I combined the pumpkin, coconut milk, broth, brown sugar, jalapeno, ginger, salt & pepper in a large bowl.

Then added this to a saucepan along with the cooked veggie mixture, bringing to a boil.

Upon tasting I just really thought it needed a lil’ “kick if you will — so there I went adding in things that weren’t called for, story of my life (always outta line right 😛 )

About 1/4 tsp of curry powder and a few shakes of crushed red pepper flakes later, this bad johnny was kicked up to a whole ‘notha level!  I then let it simmer away for about 40 minutes uncovered….

… and voila!  Oh friends, I wish you could see how thick & delicious this soup was, and the flavor was so fabulous *le sigh* 🙂  Winner winner soup-time dinner?!

And to make it even better, the whole pot only had about 650 calories total… split that into 4 generous servings (approx. 165 per serving) and you are working with some pretty impressive stats in exchange for such a flavor punch! (KO?!)

We also had some peppercorn pork tenderloin to finish up (best $5.99 spent evah haha) with my new fave TJ’s find!

Oh yeaaaaaaaaaaa 😛

Eaten on our newly festive table of course!

And now I am stuffed and t-i-r-e-dddddd!!!  Time to cozy up in front of the fireplace & Xmas tree for some serious tv time…. it’s been a busy day and gotta rest up for a full week ahead!  I’m kind of ready to get back into the normal swing of things (i.e. regular workouts!) for a bit… call me crazy?! 

Hope you friends have a lovely Sunday evening and see you tomorrow (put your Monday happy hats on?) 🙂

4 responses to “Coconut Pumpkin Soup!

  1. owwwwww the soup looks so good. I add red pepper to almost all my soups- I love the extra kick. Isn’t pumpkin so great in soup? Its a nice subtle flavor. I’m not ready for monday!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Kristie Lynn

    Mmm… squash + coconut things are so good! I’ll have to bookmark this to make soon 🙂

  3. omg!!! that coconut pumpkin soup looks amazing!!! I am not a soap person though I do love pumpkin soup 🙂

  4. savoringsarah

    huminah huminah oohhh baby! Looks INCREDIBLE!!!!

    Seems like I always have a can of coconut milk hangin around my cupboards….now I must go get some pumpkin!

Leave a Reply

