Let the Christmas decorating begin!

Hey hey late night friends!?  Sorry for the late post however The Man and I have been busy bees all night gettin’ a start on this

That’s right friends, it’s our very first Christmas tree together and that makes me 🙂  We have a ways to go, however we got a great start tonight!

I also got in a great workout using The Man’s P90X Kenpo DVD… oh yea, kickboxing inspired moves, this sesh was crucial!

But let’s back-track it up to dinner 😛 shall we?

I must have been inspired by today’s Cooking with Herbs class and the tarragon infused vinegar we learned how to make…

… bc tonight I decided to leverage off a recipe from my girl over @SimplySavor for a side dish to go with our pork tenderolin using none other than lady tarragon herself! 😉

Tarragon Dijon Potatoes!

Here were the key players for this lower fat potato dish

  • 2 russet potatoes
  • Oikos greek yogurt, plain, 1 container
  • Dijon mustard, 2 tsp (used the Cinnamon, Apple & Ginger Napa Valley)
  • Dried Tarragon, 1 tsp
  • Salt/Pepper
  • EVOO, 1 tblsp
  • 1 clove garlic (unpictured)

First I washed, peeled and sliced up the potatoes into about 1/3″ slices.

Then I added 1 tblsp EVOO to a hot pan (medium) and added the potatoes in a layer… don’t touch ’em for a few, you want to hear the snap crackle pop, that’s what is going to give the outsides that “crunch”!  

After a few minutes I gave them a flip and also added 1 clove chopped garlic.

At this point I added some water to the pan and covered it so they could steam away and cook through.

In the meantime I whipped up the sauce using the Oikos, dijon mustard, tarragon, salt & pepper.

Once the potatoes were ready, I added in the creamy dijon sauce and let it warm through.  Voila!

Friends, I know it isn’t pretty — but trust me, the flavor was fantastic!  Next time I’m adding some wine or milk in the mix, would have benefitted from some more liquid ‘me thinks’ 😉

We also had a peppercorn pork tenderloin to go with, one of those pre-marinated guys (hey friends, it was a good deal and easy peasy, I’ve never tried one either so I was curious)

Ummm hello yum, nice to meet you.  I will never judge again….

Served buffet style (we love to do that in this house) along with some leftover cranberry apple relish and veggies of course 😛

All nice n’ purty on my plate

Yummy in my tummy (did I just say that for real?)

Anywho, I hope everyone has/had a great Saturday night!… I am tiredddddddd to say the least so time to cozy up in bed.  See ya’ll tomorrow for a fun soup cooking adventure (hint:  pumpkin and coconut are involved!)

Til then, later friends! 🙂

4 responses to “Let the Christmas decorating begin!

  1. Oooh pumpkin and coconut sounds like a cool combo! can’t w ait to see what you whip up. love the tree!!!

  2. Oooh, your potatoes look great to me!

  3. Ahhh I can’t wait to see what soup you’re cookin’ up!!! Me love anything pumpkin. 🙂

    Your tree is BEAUTIFUL. Christmas decorations put me in the BEST mood!

  4. yum yum what a great idea using the tarragon sauce with potatoes!! and your tree looks absolutely beautiful 🙂
    …all i want for christmas is p90x lol

Leave a Reply

