One dish meal ya say?!

One dish meal ya say?  Yes please! 🙂

Ahhh friends, Monday night…. so after basically hydroplaning home in Richmond’s 900th rain storm of the season @ at swift 35mph 😉 it ended up being wee bit later than I had planned by the time I got back!!

I knew that there was one thing that couldn’t be skipped however, and that was a meetup with my homegirl Jillian… she wouldn’t bail on me either so who am I to ditch her?  A sleek 20 some minutes of Level 2 shred later and I was feelin’ like a new woman!  Add 15 minutes of ab ripper punishment X into the mix and life was good 🙂

Nothing like a great workout to get into the groove of things, right?!

After all that it was getting late and I knew I only had about 30 minutes between now and our shows coming on tv to get dinner set up and ready…

…. there enters the one dish 30 minute recipe!

Italian Sausage & White Beans inspired by Cooking Light 🙂

Of course, I used some different items than what was called for (broken record…?)

  • Johnsonville smoked turkey sausages, sliced
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can Italian tomatoes
  • 1 can northern beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 tblsp EVOO
  • dried basil
  • dried oregano
  • salt/pepper
  • stragglers included red wine + Frank’s hot sauce

Saute the onion, green pepper and garlic about 1 tblsp EVOO over medium heat for about 5 minutes until cooked through a bit, salt & pepper too friends!

Then add in the turkey sausages and saute until they brown up nicely and start to fill the house with the most delicious smell (unknown side effect 😉 ??) !!

At this point add the beans, basil and oregano

Then the tomatoes

Guess what else found its way into the dish tonight???  Mwuhahaha sneaky sneaky!

I also added a splash of Frank’s hot sauce …. Italian meets Mexican?  Ole!

All served up

So how was it?  Deelish! 

If you need proof friends:  The Man saw me making this combo and asked directly “ugh so what exactly are we having for dinner, I don’t really like beans like that and probably will just have to pick them out”….. did he pick them out friends?  I’m lookin’ a clean bowl right now, so I’m goin’ to take that as a total win whoop whoop 😛

This meal was really tasty, filling and so fast and easy for a weeknight that I couldn’t have been happier!

Alrighty, gotta jet!  TV time + my man Chuck Bass is waitin’ for me 😉  Have a lovely night friends!

11 responses to “One dish meal ya say?!

  1. Kristie Lynn

    What is it with guys not liking beans? I had no idea, but then one of my friends was telling me how her husband won’t eat beans in anything (even chili)! Then I was talking to one of my husband’s friends and he was telling me that he doesn’t eat beans at all. Don’t they know how amazing they are??? 😉

  2. oh my god I did one of cindy whitmarsh’s ab workouts this morning. My abs hate me.

    sounds like the mean was a great success!

  3. bah, meal* typos!

  4. I agree getting a great workout always helps me get re-focused. Glad the man loved the meal!! Love quick easy meals.

  5. One of my friends doesn’t like beans, either…which is about 1/2 of what I eat! 😉 I mean for real I would starve if I couldn’t eat them. haha glad it was a winner!

  6. I hear ya on the rain! It was pouring here all day yesterday, too. and we’re supposed to have more tomorrow 😦

    Great dinner!

  7. Gotta love Jillian–she never disappoints!

    Dinner looks delish mmmm I LOVE turkey sausage!

  8. Your dinner looks fantastic. Mike realllly doesn’t like beans that much either. Haha.

  9. savoringsarah

    Looks delish. I LOVE one dish meals. Wait, I take that back….TJ loves one dish meals…because when I cook, he cleans!! 🙂

  10. One pot or pan meals are an absolute dream! The only thing better is when you have a happy audience which it sounds like you did! Bravo 🙂

Leave a Reply

