Man-sagna in disguise!

Hello friends!  🙂

I hope everyone is having a wonderful night!  Work went by sooooo fast again today (this week is flyingggg?) and I was so excited to get home for tonight’s cooking adventure!

Why?  Because plans were to take a stab at a fun old school lasagna recipe that I found while thumbing through a magazine the other day….

Hey Santa, what are you doin’ here?! 😉

… I like to call it “Man-sagna” if you will (bc I’m dorky like that haha).  See friends, my Italian boyfriend loves him some hearty, thick lasagna but all I have ever made is lasagna with loads of veggies before…. so I thought I’d give this recipe a whirl but incorporate some of my own “touches” if you will 😉

Here were the key players as I put a twist on this Campbell’s classic (a few unpictured):

First step was to brown up the ground beef, which I decided right away would be much better with the addition of these guys!

With the help of about 1 tblsp EVOO I sauteed them up over medium heat for about 4 minutes… then added the ground beef to the mix cooking until browned (break it apart as it cooks)

At this point it was time to add the pasta sauce (set aside a teeny bit!), easy peasy 🙂

While I was doing the sauce cookin’ I also boiled up the lasagna noodles & sliced the eggplant and zucchini into thin slices.

After all these were ready it was assembly time!!!  Go ahead and preheat your oven to 400F too friends 🙂

1. Start with a thin layer of the set aside pasta sauce on the bottom of the casserole dish.

2. Add 3 cooked lasagna noodles (looks like the bottom one had a rough day eh? 😉 )

3.  A layer of sliced eggplant and zucchini

 

4.  A layer of the tomato sauce / ground meat mixture.

5.  A layer of the cream of mushroom soup, which had been mixed with the 1/4 cup milk.

7.  Top with a layer of mozzarella cheese!

8.  Hope you’re ready to repeat again!  Steps 2-7  topped with a last layer of noodles + cheese.  Into a 400F oven uncovered for about 20 minutes, then covered with foil for another 10 minutes and voila!

The kitchen fairy has arrived 😉

Time to serve it up (let it cool down for about 5 minutes friends so it’s manageable, if you can wait!)

Along with a simple side salad of romaine, marinated artichoke hearts, Italian cheese blend and balsamic

Oh mannnnnnnnn-(sagna) this dinner hit the spot!  Perfect for a cold night and really pretty healthy considering the ingredients 🙂

I’ll give you The Man quote of tonight:  “Babe, this is awesome… you gotta make this for my Dad!!!” and this was said within the first few bites (I didn’t even have to ask?!).  That may be the ultimate compliment in my book, bringin’ Italian Dad into the pic and all… woah outta my league?!

I was all smiles, ear-to-ear this girl!  Haha even Lucy wanted in on the action so badly that her ear started going outta control…

What the heck, that ear got stuck all sorts a crazy, cutest lil’ thing!

So there you have it, “man-sagna” with some sneaky hidden veggies was a success 🙂 

Alrighty friends, time to go watch some TV and catch up on your wonderful-ness with some google reader!  Can you believe that tomorrow is humpday already?  Fly by week whoop whoop! 

And tomorrow morning I think I am wakin’ up early with The Man to get my workout on becauseeeee we have a DATE after work!!! Hint hint:  a movie sounding the opposite of “Old Sun” may or may not be involved 😛

Have a lovely night friends! 🙂

12 responses to “Man-sagna in disguise!

  1. That recipe looks wonderful!! I could definitely handle making that – not too many ingredients! 😉 That is definitely the ultimate compliment – score! 🙂

    Have fun on your date!! 🙂

  2. I really need to make lasagna soon. I haven’t had it in FOREVER. Looks delish!

    So I am thinking about getting Mike a beer of the month subscription for Christmas. Who did you go through?

  3. Dinner looks delish once again, but Lucy’s ear thing has got to be trick photography!
    How did you do it:)?

    • Her ear was really doing that, I swear! It was twisted and stuck in the weirdest position somehow, totally serious I promise!!!! It stayed like that after a good plate lickin’ too haha, so freaking funny!

  4. Loved how you sneaked the veggies in there : ) Your Christmas tree looks beautiful. I hope to get my workout done in the morning too!

  5. I’ve never made lasagna! I’d like to try, but my husband isn’t a fan. I need to make it when he’s not around.

  6. What a great way to sneak in some veggies! Although I’m sure my hubbie would have preferred about triple that amount of cheese. Maybe I could make half and half?

    ❤ Lucy dog 🙂 She has so much grey on her!

  7. I’ve never had eggplant….but that looks amazing!! I’m SO nervous to cook for Italians. They are the ultimate judge, IMO!

    ooooh New Moon! Took me a minute. 😉 It is SO GOOD! I’m all for Edward but um, hello Jacob – abs??!

  8. I do the exact same thing with my lasagna! I love adding veggies in with the noodles to make it even more hearty and extra healthy.

Leave a Reply

