Mexico here we come!

Hello again friends!! 🙂  How has everyone’s Sunday been so far? 

Mine definitely got better after my hour nap earlier…. after which I had to do some work and then studying (??? hello graduated college 5 years ago last I checked haha) for a quiz we have first thing in the morning at training tomorrow.  Nothin’ says Sunday relaxation like a few hours of Six Sigma and statistics (barffffffffffff)

Anywho, I have some exciting news for you guys!  Seems like things are lookin’ up around here because this weekend we finalized and booked our annual

CHRISTMAS CRUISE!!!!

Yes yes friends, this is a family tradition that started just a few years back and one that I just love.  Nothing says holiday fun like a week of Christmas festivites, New Year’s Eve blast out then a few days later departing for Mexico – OLE!!!!

This will be the first year that The Man goes with the fanatic fam and I couldn’t be more excited to have us all together.  Cruises really are the perfect vacation for our family and we just adore them 🙂  So the 5 of us are jet settin’ to Florida early January where we will “debark” on  5 night cruise to Mexico aboard one of my fave Royal Caribbean ships! 

Can I mention that I have the best mother & father ever — because without them this trip may not have happened thanks to the car fiasco.  You guys are the best and I can’t wait to spend some great QT with ya’ll (and you too sis, I know you are there 😉 ) on this vacation! 

It still hasn’t sunk in yet since it was so last minute, but 1 month from today I’ll be in Costa Maya, Mexico or somewhere close to that 😛 hooray!!!!

Now onto Sunday night dinner!  Before I get to the crockpot action, I gotta show you friends what we roasted up tonight bc it turned out fantastic 🙂

Using these guys

I roasted up some “fries”

and some carrots!!!!  at 425F for about 25 minutes, flipping half way through.

P.S. I had heard about this from a few of you lovelies & just had to try it – why have I not done this before btw, they turned out so amazing?!?!?!  Ya’ll friends are the best, obvi 🙂

Alright, onto the crockpot creation already right?!

After about 8.5 hours check out what I found

So freaking moist & juicy

After shredding it up, adding some of the juice back to the meat + some Frank’s hot sauce it was ready for some eatin’

Got all the fixin’s ready for serving 😉

Decided to “roll” open face style (worst joke ever award? haha) with some more Frank’s & a touch of bbq sauce

Add some coleslaw on top and serve up the “fries” and roasted carrots with some ketchup…. and voila!  You got yourself a pretty good Sunday night meal 🙂

If you’ve never roasted up some carrots this way (EVOO, seasoning – I used mesquite, salt and pepper) then you really should give it a whirl!  So goooooood 🙂

Well, this week is going to be very busy.  It’s my last week of that training and we have to do more presentation giving and exam taking this time around…. couple that with having to potentially buy a car and figure all that out you can tell that I may be a bit overwhelmed :/

Plus I really need to get back to an exercise routine to balance this all out, considering I haven’t done anything since before the accident on Wednesday.  Feelin’ a lil’ blah but my back just isn’t fully ready yet – I can just tell.  Maybe I’ll actually ease into it with some yoga tomorrow, my body needs something as does my mind!  (not to mention I have to be in a bathing suit in less than a month, uhhh motivation hello!)

Before I go though, check out this amazing giveaway over at my fave twin’s site – it’s a good one!!!   They make some amazing creations, and I would LOVE to win some of my very own to try 😉

Alright ya’ll – I gotta run and get to bed early tonight – I hope you had a wonderful weekend and see ya for another Monday tomorrow!

13 responses to “Mexico here we come!

  1. A cruise!! How fun!! 🙂 We went on a cruise for our honeymoon. It was a blast! 😉

    How do you shred the meat? Is there any specific method? Anyway, it looks GREAT!

    • Cruises are the best aren’t they?! We go on a couple each year and I swear they are the ultimate vacation and relaxation!

      I shred the meat using 2 forks, it comes apart perfectly! You can use this method with chicken too, I do it all the time 🙂

  2. I’ve never been on a cruise, but Mike and I always talk about going. I can live vicariously through you 🙂

    Yoga would be a good way to ease back into the workout routine. And make sure you aren’t beating yourself up about taking a few days off, you need it after what you went through!

    Sweet dreams, see you on the flip side.

    • they are soooo fun girl! i just took the man on his first one back in august and i think he’s hooked too 😉

      thanks so much for the words of encouragement about working out… i am definitely feeling a bit guilty but trying to put things in perspective 🙂

      have a wonderful night!!!

  3. Back again on the Grandeur of the Seas…6 times, but how lucky to be on such a wonderful ship for another vacation!!!!!

  4. Woohoo I love cruises. I tried to get my family to go on a cruise for the holidays, maybe one year we will start that tradition. So jealous, and do not worry about looking good in a bathing suit, you are gorgeous and won’t take you long to get back into your routine.

    • Sweetest comment ever 🙂 thanks so much girls. I hope you get to start a similar cruise tradition too, my parents were skeptical at first (esp since my dad has multiple sclerosis so we didn’t know how being on a boat would be for him) but they ended up being beyond impressed and now have gone on more than I have!!!

  5. Your dinner last night looks sooo delicious right now. I love anything in the crock pot and bbq sauce. Glad you tried the carrot fries with success! Also I am so excited for you and your family that you are going to be cruising to Mexico! Lucky!!!

  6. savoringsarah

    VIVaaa la Mexico!! SO exciting! Love that the man is goin with you & your fam 🙂 Will be so so fun!

  7. sneaking in your suitcase and coming with you. K? sounds great.

    😉

  8. omg….yay!!! That is AWESOME, girl! And what perfect timing, huh?? I’ve never been on a cruise…but they look like the PERFECT vacation. Do your parents want/need a third daughter? I’m pretty good….now!

    You will totally get back on track with your workouts, don’t beat yourself up!! And you will be in the WARM SUN on your vacay – lots of walks and outside time…jealous!!

Leave a Reply

