Blueberry Chicken?

Hello everyone!  How did your humpday go?  Well the sun came out here in central VA and things are lookin’ good 🙂

Also, someone from my training class was kind enough to let me hitch a ride across town home, so thankful for that!  Alls well that ends well, guess that’s how the story goes 😉

Dinner tonight was a bit of a different recipe that I decided to try out, it had been calling my name for a few months now (yea, I know, there’s just so many out there!)

I ended up making some changes to Mrs. Ray’s original Pan Fried Pork with Blueberries to come up with this one:

Blueberry Chicken!!

Yes, you read that correctly haha.  I told you it was a lil’ different!  But in such a good way 🙂

Here was the starting team:

  • chicken tenderloins
  • 1 tblsp + 1tsp EVOO (so Rachel 😉 )
  • onion, chopped
  • 1.5 cups chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1.5 cups frozen blueberries
  • 1 tblsp butter (Icelandic!)
  • salt/pepper

Got started by sauteing the onion for a few minutes in 1 tsp EVOO, adding some salt & pepper of course.

Then added the chicken broth and blueberries, bringing it up to a boil.

After that I turned the heat down to medium and let it simmer away until it reduced by about half…. guess what else snuck it’s way in there!

Plus a lil’ squirt of agave to sweeten things up 😛  After it had reduced, I added the butter

The color was just gorgeous, and check out the sheen that the hint of butter added to finish the sauce!

While this was going on I also prepped up the chicken, so easy and made the nicest “crust” on the outside — never tried this basic method before but I see so many ideas already a’brewin’!!

Dip chicken in the flour that has been seasoned with S&P

Coated it up and added to a hot pan with 1 tblsp EVOO, turning to flip as it cooked through.

Once this was dunzo it was time to serve! 

Oh folks, that Rachael Ray knows what she is talkin’ about 😉  This recipe was so different, so easy and so good…. !

But wait, that’s not all folks…. we’re missing some veggies here 😛 

Presto Change-O!

The pecans & apples were a fabulous combo – loved loved loved this salad!

Well friends, we have some serious car information to review tonight, but before I go I just gotta give a  shout out to 2 of my FAVORITE bloggie homegirls @foodieinthecity & @savoringsarah for being so incredibly awesome and for sharing in some positivity with me today! 😉 You girls rock my bloggie world!

Alright you wonderful peeps, I hope you enjoy your humpday evening whatever you may be doing and see you tomorrow!!! 🙂

9 responses to “Blueberry Chicken?

  1. Glad to hear you totally rocked the presentation and that you fabulous boyfriend came to your rescue this morning! Also this meal looks to die for! Blueberries are such an awesome fruit I am always looking for new ways to use them. This looks like a real winner! Enjoy your night now that the presentation is over. 🙂

  2. That blueberry chicken looks fabulous!

  3. Kristie Lynn

    Beautiful dinner! Blueberries are yummy on just about anything, I think 🙂

  4. Blueberry chicken…this looks savory and sweet. I need to buy some blueberries soon. I love seeing what you’ve cooked up.

  5. Blueberries and chicken… love the unique combo!!! I love coming up with interesting flavors 🙂

  6. oh my gosh…wow! I DO have some blueberries that are gettin’ lonely in my freezer….

  7. Glad you snuck in cinnamon 😀 I basically put cinnamon in everything. There is really nothing not improved by it.

  8. savoringsarah

    I was so confused at first, because I forget that I am not the ONLY Ms. Ray in the culinary world!! And yes, people ask me ALL THE TIME if Rachael and I are related. PSH, I wish.

    Blueberries & Chicken sounds fascinating!! And oh so easy…I loooove doing a simple flour dredge on my proteins for a crispy crust and some thickening power in the sauce 🙂 Looks like a fab dinner!

    Thanks for the shout out ❤

  9. wow – that looks awesome! I would never think to make that dish!

Leave a Reply

