I declare this National Baking Day!

Hello friends! 

So about being MIA all day, yea sorry about that… but with it being torrential downpour day numero 208 in this city I declared today National Baking Day!! 🙂

After I did one of my fave yoga sessions on ExerciseTV of course — YogaWorks Body Slim <3!!!

I started the adventure this morning with some Pumpkin Snickerdoodles.  I knew I wanted to use up this cake mix I had bought for 69 cents the other day and snickerdoodles sounded like a great idea… lightened up with pumpkin for a twist! 

 

Well I must say before I start, I was extremely disappointed when I went to read the ingredients on the box and partially hydrogenated crap was in the ingredient list 😦  Major fail, now I know why they were only 69 cents grrrrr. 

Oh well, such is life, it’s not like we eat this stuff everyday.  And after I smelled them baking I knew I couldn’t resist 😛

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tblsp sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Mix together the cake mix, pumpkin, oil and egg in a large bowl.  Form cookies into 1″ balls and place on a baking sheet (ungreased).  Combine cinnamon and sugar, sprinkle on top of cookies.

 

Bake at 350F for about 10 minutes until done!

After that adventure The Man and I went to the store to pick up some fun baking necessities 🙂  Check out this mess hahaha.

Then I got started on some sugar cookie dough, low fat style this year!  Here were the ingredients:

  • 4 tblsp butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar + 1/8 cup
  • 1/8 cup agave (wanted to use more, but ran out!!!!)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg

Followed the directions seen here to make this one happen.  This dough had to chill for 2 hours before cooking making/decorating could begin so more on that later 😉

I took a break from cookie making to focus on some bread, 100 cal carrot/raisin/pear bread  if you friends remember this from a while back!  This time I doubled the recipe to make two batches and also made some modifications based on what I had on hand (I even modify my own recipes, who does that haha?!)

Changes, remember that I doubled the recipe so based on that:

  • Instead of 2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk, I used 1 cup and 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • Instead of 2 packs of raisins, I used 1 pack
  • Instead of 1 1/2 cups syrup, only used 1 cup

So good, love love love this recipe!!!

Oh yeaaaa!!  At this point it was time for a serious break for some of this 🙂

Made into a lovely martini, 1 shot vodka + 4 oz. Pom wonderfulllll shaken, topped with a splash of Sprite served in a chilled glass of course 😉  SO. GOOD!

Last up were some Coconut Macaroons.  I have never eaten these, none the less made them but I thought why not?!  They were a cinch, and holy yum the house smelled like we were already on the cruise (get it, coconuts… mwuhahaha)!

  • 2 2/3 cups coconut, shredded
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • salt

Mix dry ingredients, then add egg and vanilla.  Drop in small spoonfuls onto a greased baking pan (made 28 macaroons)   Bake at 325F for 20-25 minutes and voila!

I really would recommend making these suckers, they were easy as pie (?) and so deelish!  You could even make a chocolate drizzle to go on top if you like, next time though 😉

Alright, gotta run…. another pumpkin based recipe is on the menu for dinner tonight (should be interesting after Pom-tini time this afternoon haha 😉 ) as well as finishing some sugar cookie baking and decorating!!! 

See ya’ll back pretty soon for some more fun and happy Sunday!

14 responses to “I declare this National Baking Day!

  1. I so couldn’t expect anything I made after drinking a martini to be edible. It all looks great. Had the Bruschetta Chicken last night and it was good. I wish I had more time for cooking, working 7 days a week just doesn’t leave a lot. Have you ever made Brownies using black beans in them?

    • I’m glad you liked the Brushetta Chicken! I used to have a schedule similar to yours, public accounting – 7 days a week, 80 hours a week – so I definitely can feel where you are coming from, all that hard work pays off in the end for sure though 🙂

      Ok you have thrown me for a loop with the brownies and black beans question, do tell more!!!!

      • You can replace all the liquids when using a box mix for brownies with black beans. You take a can of black beans and drain them. Place them back in the can and fill with water. Then puree this in a blender and replace your liquids (eggs, water, oil, etc) with it. Bake according to directions.

  2. Seriously, are we sure we aren’t somehow related? Hahaha. Pomtini’s, coconut cookies, and just being plain ridiculous. 🙂

    What a fabulous Sunday you are having. I need to remember to make your bread in the next few weeks. It looks fabulous girl.

  3. POMtinis are straight money — I swear, bars should definitely get on that.. they’d sell like hotcakes!

    speaking of hotcakes.. bake me some?! since you’re such a pro 😉 dang girl, everything looks phenom!

  4. By the way, did you check today’s paper? Very valuable Chobani coupon.

  5. its great that u took crappy weather and turned it into something positive and fun! and the results look great!

  6. I did some baking this weekend too! It’s quite fun when I have some extra time on my hands!! 🙂 All of your treats look great!!!

  7. Wow you have been busy!!! I love that chilled glass with the martini for “break time”. I love adding POM juice to a mixed drink, it makes me feel like I am doing something good for myself. 😉 Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  8. Gah you are a baking machine! I seriously have no self control in the kitchen and would have eaten all the dough before they went into the oven lol.

  9. im so confused on all this baking! since when did you turn into me? mwahahhaha

  10. Wow girl, you like as busy as we do in the kitchen. Everything looked great! Can I have a martini please ; )

Leave a Reply

