Tricks of the trade :)

Well good morning everyone!  Bet you didn’t expect to see this lady so early did ya?  😉

I wanted to catch up with you friends and give you the inside scoop on last night’s Whole Foods Cooking Demo – which was fantastic btw, right Brittany?!  Here are the dishes that ended up being this lady’s favorite over the course of the class!

  • Potato “cakes” aka latkes
  • Black eyed peas w/ tempeh, tomatoes and greens (can’t believe it!)
  • Egg nog bread pudding (made with Panettone!)

Well friends, since this event is a strict “no pictures allowed” type deal (ehhh hmmm Jessee how about we work on that 😉 ) I will just have to do my best to describe the delicious and maybe scrounge up an internet photo or 2 😛

First up were the potato latkes, which I fondly remember enjoying as a younger fanatic at our neighbor’s house during the holidays, always topped with applesauce yum 🙂  I mentioned these to The Man the other night, and he said that he had never (1) heard of them or (2) tasted them so how fitting that this was the start of the class!

I know what’s coming up on our dinner menu soon 🙂

To make these delicious bundles of joy, grate up 2 russet potatoes and 1/2 onion then combine with a beaten egg, 2 tblsp flour, salt and pepper.  Get some olive oil hot for a shallow fry and crisp these up in small patties on each side until done.

Toppings can range anywhere from applesauce to sour cream to caviar!  The options are endless (chocolate? 😉 )

Oh, and while we are on the topic of potatoes, I HAVE to pass along maybe one of the most fabulous potato peeling tricks I have ever seen (thanks Mom!)… have not tried first hand yet but you better believe that I will be soon (eh hmmm homemade pierogies for Christmas Eve dinner)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z4W0qIPJmoo

Also, our main home-chef made mention of a roasted potato idea that I am just dying to try soon – get this, roasted potatoes with dijon mustard & horseradish!!  Of course an accompanying cooking trick to go with for all you foodies 😉  Before placing potatoes on a pan for roasting (remember, red potatoes or those with higher sugar content work best for this as they caramelize) place the pan in the hot oven for 2 minutes to get it scorchin’ – then place the potatoes on the pan for about 40 minutes at 400F for sheer perfection!

Okay, enough with this potato talk, I have to move on to my first ever tempeh adventure!

The recipe was a Black eyed pea, tomato and greens recipe and included the following:

  • black eyed peas (canned)
  • stewed or roasted tomatoes (canned)
  • smoked tempeh
  • onion
  • garlic
  • greens
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper

First you saute up the onions, garlic and tempeh in olive oil until tempeh is crispy and onions are soft.  FYI – never had tempeh before tonight (fake meat products scare me normally, yea yea yea) but the smell of this lured me in immediately!  Gorgeous 🙂 

Then the greens were added and cooked until soft.  The chef used a Lacintato Kale that was just fabulously tender and gorgeous – best green I’ve ever had hands down. 

 At this point he dumped in the black eyed peas and tomatoes and brought to a simmer, salt and pepper to taste.  Let the flavors blend for a bit and serve.

The result?  PURE DEEEEEEEEEEEELISH!!

This was one of those recipes that totally surprised me, I really didn’t know what I was going to think about it at first but hello yum was the first thing my tastebuds screamed 🙂  This will be made in our house, what are the chances of talking The Man into trying it….??  Ah well

Ending off the night was a most lovely Eggnog Bread Pudding made with Panettone! 

A healthful 😉 2 cups eggnog, 1 cup sugar, 2 eggs, 8 slices panettone cut into 1″ cubes later…. oh yeaaaaaaaaa.  Just combine nog, sugar and eggs then fold in bread cubes – pour into a prepared dish (cooking spray) and bake at 350F for 40 minutes) and you are good to go.

If you want to kick it up like 10 more notches, locate some brown sugar whipped cream (yes friends, best discovery of the night!) and top it off with that… talk about party in the mouth? 😛

I also had a most fantastic night spending time with my wonderful mother and the lovely Brittany from EatingBirdFood (girl, you are the sweetest btw!) so all in all I would say total success!

Can’t wait for the next one 🙂

Alrighty, off to work with my “carpool” then hopefully a new car will be had tonight, enjoy your Tuesday friends!

10 responses to “Tricks of the trade :)

  1. Ive been dying to make a bread pudding with pannetone!! That sounds sooo amazing.

  2. Great details about the class lady- you took comprehensive notes! I hope to make the black eyed pea dish tomorrow for dinner- can’t wait!

    Isaac took my leftover bread pudding to work today for a snack.

    We should get together sometime for a double date, perhaps the men in our lives would get along too! 🙂

  3. The Whole Foods cooking demo sounds really fun but I too would have been so bummed that I couldn’t take pictures! That’s a crime to not be able to share those beautful sounding dishes! I really like the sound of the black eyed peas one, kale is one of my favorite veggies!

  4. Thanks for the class recap! Sounds like a great time (even though pictures weren’t allowed)!

  5. I just made a video with a recipe for potato latkes! I used zucchini in mine to make them healthier. Love latkes so much! Mmm!

    And that Eggnog Bread Pudding sounds fantastic!

  6. How fun! I’ve never had latkes, either – but they sound SO GOOD. And brown sugar whipped cream?!!! Dang!

    Good luck with the car!!

  7. Great picture substitutes. That bread pudding looks almost like the one Jessee made!

  8. That eggnog bread pudding looks incredible!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

