The snow has arrived!

Happy Friday night friends 🙂  Guess what?  The snow has arrived!! (yes, that’s an understatement…!)

Around 4pm small flurries began falling… which turned into large flurries… which basically turned into a rain storm of snow

Which has just kept on comin’….

I think we are going to have much more than this once this storm is over considering it’s supposed to keep going through midnight tomorrow sheesh!

So needless to say I had about 2 hours of being a nervous wreck bc The Man couldn’t leave work and worrying about him getting home in this stuff… he works across the river and a good 30 minutes away on a good day 😦 

To calm my nerves a bit I did my current fave yoga session on ExerciseTV, Yoga Works Body Slim – amazing per usual!  I love how it gets my heart rate up to, serious calorie burn and toning/relaxation, YES PLEASE 🙂

With the snowy situation (not to be confused with “The Situation” for all you Jersey Shore fans 😉 ) I knew that dinner tonight needed to be something super cozy!  This meal ended up actually being inspired by both: 

(1) my love of all things Jersey Shore (hello did we all see that episode last night?!) and

(2) my fave Whole Foods chef  (hint:  rhymes with patke?)

Okay on with the menu!

  • BBQ garlic chicken
  • Shortcut potato latkes
  • Cheesy broccoli

First up was the chicken, which I had marinated in my fave bbq sauce for a few hours before adding to the slow cooker with some black pepper & garlic (chunks).  45 minutes later….

So this is my “Jersey Shore” inspired part of the meal – which sounds totally random but please let me explain 🙂  The only time I ever ventured to the shore was about 4 years back (whole ‘notha life) and one of the girls in our house made this bbq chicken that turned out so good.  Her trick, add some garlic to regular ol’ bbq sauce and voila, totally ups that flavor to a whole ‘notha level!  So yes, amongst other less civilized happenings at the Shore 😉 I learned a random recipe that I have seriously used over and over haha… only me?

Onto the potato latkes, in which I totally cheated on tonight and used frozen shredded potatoes (you may also know these as hash browns :P)… I hope that I won’t disappoint my home-chef too much with these antics!

  • 3 cups shredded potatoes
  • 1/2 finely sliced onion
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 2 tblsp flour (unpictured)
  • salt/pepper
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil (unpictured)

Combine all the ingredients except for the oil.  Heat up oil for a shallow fry (hey, we gotta stay warm tonight haha!) and shape the lovelies into patties, add to the hot pan and resist the urge to flip until it gets a good crisp!

Once done serve ’em up with some applesauce to top – so classic.

Of course we needed some green action with our dinner too, in the form of some broccoli with some Italian cheese 🙂

All together now 😛

Well friends, by tomorrow when I see you again I have a feeling that we may be buried in many inches of snow… I can’t wait to play outside with Lucy Dog in it though!  She was pretty funny out there tonight when it first started 😉

Guess you can figure out that The Man made it home safe & sound — *sigh* of relief 🙂

Thankfully I got the ingredients to make some fun foods tomorrow, be on the lookout for homemade pierogies, butter cookies & piggies (in a blanket!) — we’re goin’ Polish style this week!

Now if you’ll excuse me, we have some of this to attend to 😉

Hey, it’s Friday night and we’re snowed in… ’nuff said!

Have a fabulous night you wonderful friends 🙂

10 responses to “The snow has arrived!

  1. The snow is so beautiful! It’s a winter wonderland. 🙂

    Take it from a pro. Being snowed in can be very peaceful if you have things to keep you entertained and busy. And a night filled with wine and a Saturday filled with cooking and baking sounds just about right.

    Btw, I may or may not have sent the snow your way… lol.

  2. You cooking all of these Polish foods makes me think you are more Polish than me!

    • I think holiday nostalgia sets in this time of year 🙂 I am proud to be Polish and love making recipes that I know Nanny and Pop would be proud of!!! BTW this snow is outta controlllllllllll

  3. word up from good ole’ richmond! we have six inches now ahhh!!! love it! can’tw ait to be snowed in tomorrow and sleep the day away 🙂 love you and little lucy dog!

    • I know I can’t freaking believe this… they only have about half down by Jordan’s mom’s house and don’t think they are going to get nearly as much! I am glad we are going to be snowed in bc that’s cozy and all – but I want to see you sister and want the snow to clear out ASAP so we can go for a drive in the new rideeeeee together 🙂 love you too and so glad you are home safe and sound!

      • ahhhhh this snow is ridic! like 9 inches right now! im watching jersey shore..first time ever! i like it! but gossip girl is my fav by far…. hopefully ill see you sooon ! i may trek through the snow tomoorrrow 😉

  4. Oh my! The snow is gorgeous! I live in the south so we don’t ever see snow. I haven’t had pierogies since I was little… YUM!

  5. The snow fell here, too!! I am LOVING it!! 🙂

  6. The snow is crazy. We got a lot more in the city than I expected and the weather says we’re suppose to get even more over the course of the day (it’s snowing more now!)

    I’m hoping to do a little baking and sledding! 🙂

    Have a great day making your polish treats.

  7. talesofatravelista

    Those potato latkes look awesome!! Im absolutely going to make those with my daughter for our cooking blog. Im soooo glad all the snow in DC is gone. 3 feet is too much x|

Leave a Reply

