Last minute dinner change it was!

Ahhh we are so close friends!  I can smell Christmas closer than I can smell the cinnamon candle burning in our living room right now 🙂

So after a long day at work today I was a bad girl and blew off exercise 😦 thanks to the massive headache I was experiencing and slight stomach ache (??) – not sure what was up with that but def jumping around NOT on the agenda.  Tomorrow morning I plan to have to be a rebound session, since it is the holidays and staying on track is important to this lady!

Instead of exercisin’ of course I headed to the kitchen for some stress relief! and got started on the dish for The Man’s holiday work party tomorrow, per his request it was going to be….

Hash Brown Casserole 🙂

Back it up for a hot second to his original request, which was actually in the form of a tater tot casserole (have you heard of this before ummmm seriously?) Oh men, you gotta love ’em 😉  However I found this recipe that struck our fancy using hash browns instead… check out the key players.

I pretty much followed it to a T (shocker, I know) except added salt and pepper to taste and also used colby jack cheese in lieu of cheddar.

Saute up green pepper & onion in some EVOO

Add the frozen hashbrowns and attempt to not have them fly everywhere bc your pan is too small haha let them cook up for a minute or two.  Keep up the S&P!

Add the cream of mushroom soup, milk (I used a lil’ over 1 cup), cheese and hot sauce and allow to melt together for a few minutes.

At this point you are ready to transfer to a baking dish (coat in some butter…. hey it’s for the boys at his work, they don’t mind!) and top with a few more pats of butter (yea yea yea) and some Parmesan cheese.

Pop into a 350F oven for 50 minutes until brown and bubbly

Voila!

I won’t lie in that I was so curious about this flavor combo that I may or may not have done a quick taste test before the transfer to the baking dish (hey, had to make sure it was edible!) and it tasted pretty darn good.  I hope everyone likes it 🙂

AFter this adventure it was time to cook up some dinner…. and I must tell you friends that all this breakfast cooking caused me to completely change our dinner plans?!  I had defrosted chicken for us to have Mexican tonight – but with that lurking tummy ache and the delicious thought of a comforting breakfast, plans ended up changing!

Last minute dinner change it was – welcome to Frittata land friends! 

On the menu here tonight:  broccoli, onion, potato and cheese frittata 🙂

  • 1/2 onion chopped
  • 1/3 cup frozen chopped broccoli
  • 1 tsp EVOO + 1 tsp butter to saute
  • 1 cup frozen hashbrowns
  • 2 eggs + 3 egg yolks
  • Parm cheese
  • Colby Jack cheese
  • Salt/pepper/red pepper flakes

Start by giving the onions and broccoli a good saute – don’t forget the salt, pepper and red pepper flakes!

Then added the frozen hash browns and cooked for a few minutes until they started to brown. 

Then added the eggs and topped with cheese, continuing to cook for a few minutes.  Once it was set and mostly cooked through, I put in the 350F oven for probably 4 minutes to finish up and here’s what you get!

All served up with some of my fave kinda toast (cream cheese + apple cranberry buttah!) and of course some ketchup & hot sauce on top (of the eggs :P)

And now my tummy is definitely happy… well not with the hot sauce decision but let’s not go there k? 😉  Twas deelish!

Now it’s time to relax, today was exhausting and I need all the energy I can get for the “rush to the finish line” as I call it… aka holiday fiestas!  Of course I love each and every moment of these fun get togethers, however I have a serious list of things to accomplish before then!

So tomorrow after work (I think I’m one of few peeps working tomorrow and def praying we get out early!) I am off to finish up some holiday related errands, clean the house for XMas Eve dinner festivities and do some more cooking 🙂 

See you friends back for more and hope you are toasty warm on this Tuesday evening!

8 responses to “Last minute dinner change it was!

  1. louisianagrown

    Can you believe I’ve never tried a frittata? I just can’t ever decide if I find them appealing or not.

    • I hadn’t had one til probably about 3 months ago either – same reason as you actually (random, I know!) however I was pleasantly surprised with the outcome and haven’t turned back since! Would love to know if you end up making one soon and how you like it 🙂

  2. That looks way better than any hash brown casserole I’ve ever seen!!

  3. I hope your belly is feeling better today!! I love making stuff for the man to bring into parties! Your dish looks fantastic! Who doesn’t love hash browns? I made Josh black bean crockpot chili to bring in. I think it turned out well! Enjoy your Wednesday

  4. Hi Lady! I needed to drop on by to say hello. I have been a total slacker on catching up on blogs, and I miss you!! Hope all is well 🙂

    • Hey girl!!! Ahh I know, it’s been weird not having you around these past few days!!! I am so happy that you are having a wonderful time though 🙂 Oh and p.s. check your email, I sent you the best link to this website called “jenny the pug” with videos of this adorable dog walking a stroller with a baby dog in it… she’s got a whole website and actually takes these walks often haha – I was instantly in love & thought of you immediately!

Leave a Reply

