Roastin’ machine

Ah why hello there friends, how has your Sunday been?! 

The fanatic household has been busy busy today (!)  including:

  • ExerciseTV Yoga Works BodySlim sesh (can you tell I like this one? 😉 )
  • Adventure with the newly received Xagave !
  • Roasted Veggie Pasta dinner 🙂

A few days back you may remember (amongst the holiday chaos :P) that I received a fun package from the kind folks at Xagave, I just couldn’t wait to give this stuff a whirl!

For those of you who haven’t yet experienced this wonderful natural sweetener, here are a few quick facts & some specifically about Xagave 🙂

  • sweeter than sugar so you need less to achieve the same level of sweetness (a blessing for low cal baking!)
  • low glycemic index food, meaning it does not raiste your blood sugar levels (vs. sugar)
  • Xagave is made from organically grown plants
  • Xagave is derived from Blue Agave and White Agave plants and the premium blend provides the best tasting, best cooking qualities, most versatile and healthy products on the market.

So I decided what better way to get things started than by making some Coconut Rice Pudding?!  So that’s what I did!

Key players:

  • 1  cup rice
  • 1 can light coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 box raisins
  • Approx. 1 tblsp XAgave
  • Cinnamon
  • Nutmeg

I prepared the rice using a half coconut / half water combo, adding the raisins while cooking too so they could get all nice n’ plump.  Once cooked I added the remainder of the coconut milk, XAgave, cinnamon and nutmeg to taste.

Voila!  Delicious served hot or cold 🙂

After taking Lucy Dog for a walk and lounging around trying to kick this random sore throat (??) it was time for some dinner.  Plans were for an easy baked pasta however I was really feeling an easy roasted veggie pasta dish by the time dinner rolled around, so that’s what happened!

First I roasted up some summer squash and an onion, tossing in a few teaspoons EVOO and salt/pepper before popping into a 425F oven for about 25 minutes (flip a few times) to roast up all purty-like 😉

Oh yes, and if you are wondering what the random foil ball is all about – it’s an almost full bulb of garlic that I also roasted up!  Why have I never done this before bc the results were incredible!  Channeled my inner Sandra Lee on this one, that’s who I remember seeing do this 🙂 

The garlic turns deliciously sweet and just squeezes right outta the skin!  Mmmmmmm

I also sauteed up some Trader Joe’s Italian Chicken Sausages while The Man boiled the pasta (he put some black olives up in the mix too, love it!)

Then we just dumped everything together with some TJ’s marinara sauce, black pepper & oregano and topped with crumbled feta…. oh YES, this was a keeper!

Alongside we continued the feta theme with a fresh and delicious Italian salad:  romaine, tomato, cucumber, black olives, crumbled feta, black pepper and oregano.

Great way to end the weekend 🙂  Add in a drive thru McDonald’s vanilla ice cream cone and make that “Superfantasticwonderful” way to end the weekend 😉  Gahhh weakness haha.

Alright friends, time to get some sleep and hope that I am feeling better come tomorrow morning.  I think I’m going to have to revisit the dentist too since ol’ Mr. Wisdom Tooth is not cooperating with me this time around grrrrr 😦 

Anywho, as long as it’s all straight before we leave for our cruise (1 week from today!!!) then it’s all good with me.

Hope ya’ll had a wonderful Sunday and see you for the start to the last week of 2009 tomorrow!

8 responses to “Roastin’ machine

  1. I got some Xagave sent to me too!! 🙂 I’m so excited to try it out!! Your coconut rice pudding sounds yummy!!

    I have a weekness for McD’s vanilla cones too!! One summer I ate one almost every other day!! 😉

  2. Lucky girl getting stuff sent to you! I never get stuff!

  3. Xagave is a new brand for me! Everything looks delicious 🙂 Love the roasted garlic… one of my favorites..a classic for us! Thanks for your sweet comment – it seriously made us laugh!!!

  4. I hope you feel better chicky! The rice pudding and your whole dinner look awesome. I think feta really makes a salad- so creamy and delicious 🙂 I cannot believe its almost 2010!!

  5. louisianagrown

    I am sooo obsessed with Feta cheese; it would make any dish amazing!

  6. I hope you are feeling better today!

    Sooo, I will be seeing you in one week for the cruise, no? haha

  7. I have seen this Xagave stuff all over blogworld.. I’m very curious what it’s all about! can’t wait to hear your thoughts, girlfriendddd.

    feta is the Brad Pitt of cheese world.. I love!

Leave a Reply

