Happy New Years! I’m backkkkk ;)

Well hello there NEW YEAR!!  

And hello there GOOD FRIENDS!

 

I’m backkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk 😉

Let’s just say that I hope each of you kicked off 2010 in the best way possible!!!  I have a feeling it’s gonna be a good year 😛

So while on my brief hiatus from all you lovely people I got to thinking about New Year’s resolutions and where I stood with them…  Sure enough, the thought of making a resolution to change something for the better sounds great and props to ya if it’s something that works for you…. but it really just isn’t my thing?  Call me a pessimist, but I bet if they did a study (they may already? challenge!) of the % of folks who stick to these plans for the long term the results would be disappointing 😦

So instead of “resolution-izing”, I like to think of the new year as a time to reflect on the year that has gone by, a time to gauge where I have gotten since the beginning of that year… and think of where I may want to be overall next year at this time. 

If you asked me on 1/1/09 if any of these things were going to happen during the year:

  • move out of the city
  • BUY A HOUSE
  • move in with the love of my life
  • total my car in the scariest experience ever
  • buy the car of my dreams
  • begin new training at work
  • practice yoga on a regular basis
  • START A BLOG?!?!?!

I can’t tell you that my answer would have been yes at that time…. But looking back I see that each and every one of them happened for a reason and they all added up to where I am as we venture into 2010!!  🙂

I really am trying to think about big picture these days – and yes, I know you’re thinking “but Steph, you ARE an accountant, don’t you like the details?!”  Answer when it comes to this is NO.  Simply put, overall if next year at this time rolls around and the overall perspective is good – then it’s been a year well done 🙂  It’s just life after all, no?

So for me, the upcoming year is going to be about taking care of our house, keepin’ the car in one piece, continuing to build my relationship with The Man and grow and learn together, maintain a healthy approach to eating and fitness, continue pushing myself with my career goals, grow the blog and meet more of you wonderful friends…. you catch my drift 😉

So with that being said, there won’t be any specific “resolutions” on this lady’s new year’s list however a goal to keep life balanced and successful is one that will be constantly strived for 🙂

Alright alright, enough with the talk – onto the pictures!!!!

Since I’ve been gone we’ve been havin’ a pretty good time here in the fanatic household!

There was some ice cream makin’

Check it out – ice cream made in a ball!

You think I’m kidding eh 😉 ?

Legit.  2 legit to quit?  hey heyyyyyyy 😛

❤ this thing!

Then there was New Year’s Eve celebrating of course!  We ended up heading down to The Fan to FW Sullivans, a new bar that some of my friends actually opened up recently.  The Man had bought tix and we wanted to see all our friends so I agreed to be sobor driver since I couldn’t really drink anyways (thanks medicine! 😉 ) 

It was a lovely setup and the food was soooooooooo gooooooooooood – the most amazing bruschetta, buffalo chicken dip, spinach artichoke dip, meatballs, chicken tenders – and the beer was included too (good for The Man!)

Check out this scariness haha

We stayed til about 11pm and then rushed home to pour some champagne and watch the ball drop together (doc said I could have a glass or two, don’t worry, I asked haha)  Looked a lil’ somethin’ like this 🙂

I must say that this was an ideal New Years, maybe I’m getting old but I loved it and it ranks up there in fave celebrations ever…. even sans alcohol (who knew? 😉 )  

I can’t believe everything that happened during 2009 and I just have this feeling that 2010 is going to bring much love, happiness and overall success…. it’s feeling like it’s going to be a good year for all!

I also think it’s the first New Year’s day that I haven’t spent feeling like death hangover central since I was ohhhh 18 21 😉 (pretend you didn’t read that mom, k?)  I am just feelin’ tiredddd bc we stayed up late but other than that good to go!  Way better way to start the new year than lying in bed dying from self induced alcohol head – love it!

Of course I also spent the morning with some legendary oats – whoop whoop to first meal of 2010!  I added shredded coconut, my new thang, and it was tropically delicious — Mexico here we comeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 😛

Alright friends, I seriously can’t wait to read all about your New Year’s adventures so better get to some google reader!  We also have to seriously get our acts together and get ready for this cruise departure in oh 2 days… so pumped… lots of packing/cleaning/shopping in order for today/tomorrow ya heard.

See ya back later and enjoy the 1st day of 2010! 🙂

6 responses to “Happy New Years! I’m backkkkk ;)

  1. aw yay yay welcome back, precious 🙂 I wish I could say I’m spending my New Year’s Day hangover-free.. but alas, the Malibu got the best of me again. Slightly jealous of your alcohol free NYE right about now 😉

    yay for resolutionizing and an amaze 2010!! xoxo

  2. Happy New Year! I’m glad you had a fun night!

  3. Happy New Year!! 🙂 So glad you were able to go out and enjoy the night!!

  4. Best wishes to you for the new year! Those are some good accomplishments for ’09! 🙂 Looks like you guys had a wonderful new years!!!

  5. Don’t worry I drank enough for the both of us last night. 🙂

  6. Welcome back, girl! That is a great way to look at resolutions….I always kind of tell myself when I see the New Year’s Resolutioners (word? ha!) at the gym. You know….it’s the people you don’t see ALL year and they’ll be in there for a good month, but then…I hate to sound like a negative nelly, but sometimes I think we have to make resolutions all year long and keep up with them!

    You have had a GREAT 2009!! 2010 is better to be even better….right? I know it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

